This is the world that we live in

10 Jan

Yesterday I got an automated call from the school district informing me that a student at one of the high schools was expelled and arrested for bringing a fake hand gun to school. (An email sent later in the day said the student had been taken into police custody, which is not the same as arrested, I think.)  Three other schools were placed on lockdown as a precaution.

My first thought was what kind of idiot brings a fake gun to school?  Of course I was grateful (so grateful!) it was a false alarm, but I still find the whole thing very unsettling.

Given our current social climate, I understand the idea of zero tolerance policies. It seems you can never be too careful these days, and any perceived threat must be taken very seriously.  But what if this kid really did just make a stupid mistake with no intended malice?

I don’t know the whole story or whether or not this is a troubled or potentially dangerous kid, but I can’t help but wonder what comes next for him.  And it makes me more than a little sad that my kids live in such a (necessarily?) unforgiving time when their youthful choices can have such devastating consequences.

8 Responses to “This is the world that we live in”

  1. tawnya January 10, 2013 at 2:44 pm #

    I…I…I…I still can’t talk about guns and schools. It makes me nuts.

  2. madhousewife January 10, 2013 at 3:15 pm #

    I actually think there is such a thing as being too careful. This might be one of those situations.

    • bythelbs January 10, 2013 at 8:00 pm #

      Yes, I was surprised that That was the most unsettling thing about this experience for me.

      • Flip flop mama January 11, 2013 at 4:37 am #

        I agree with Mad. There is such a thing as over reacting.

  3. Kathy January 11, 2013 at 11:30 am #

    A kid at my grandson’s school was suspended because he had a fake gun at school. It was 2″ long and part of a lego set.. c’mon.. really?

  4. Amanda D January 12, 2013 at 10:31 am #

    The HS kid should have known better. Especially with what happened in December. It is tragic though and I do wonder what will happen for him.

    The kid at Kathy’s grandson’s school? That is Ridiculous. Seriously.

  5. Patience January 12, 2013 at 12:45 pm #

    I can see why they would want to be very serious about a perceived gun in a school, but like you, I’m sad that it has to be this way. Also, this student showed poor judgement, certainly, but teenage boys aren’t known for having much common sense. So, now we have a kid who is sent down a path of potentially not finishing his education–his whole life could be ruined for a stupid mistake that couldn’t really have harmed anyone.

    Last year in our school system, a riot broke out at a basketball game. One of the high school’s star athletes had written a facebook post that could have been interpreted as inciting the riot, although he did not participate in it himself. He was expelled. When colleges extended athletic scholarships to him despite thee fact that he’d been expelled, the school administration made sure that the scholarship offers were withdrawn. Now this boy who had tons of potential is working as a cashier in a supermarket. We talk to him every week when he checks out our groceries. He’s a nice kid and he didn’t deserve such a harsh punishment.

    • bythelbs January 16, 2013 at 3:09 pm #

      That is so unbelievably tragic. And sickening. I have more to say on this topic, but have not completely gathered all of my thoughts yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

