I have an idea

18 Jan

Over the holiday break my nieces were home from college, and one day I overheard them watching The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants.  The idea of having an item that connects a group of friends and allows them opportunities to share experiences appeals to me.  Obviously, a pair of jeans that fits and flatters everyone is crazy ridiculous, especially when you move beyond the realm of young Hollywood starlets.  (And don’t even get me started about the kinds of things that went on in those pants! And they weren’t even allowed to wash them!)

I think I’ve mentioned briefly before that a group of girlfriends and I have a birthday club.  Each year we have a different gift theme where we take turns being the gifter for the birthday girl.  We go out to dinner and stuff our faces, talk, laugh, talk and laugh some more–sometimes into the wee hours.  At our age, and with 19 kids between us, the wee hours is 11:30pm, but still it’s a good time!  One element I don’t think I’ve mentioned is the birthday club quote book, in which highlights from the evening are recorded in a small journal.  Quotes are generally out of context and always unattributed (to protect the guilty and the innocent).  It never ceases to amaze me how many hilarious and/or witty, profound, thoughtful, eyebrow-raising things come out of our mouths on these nights out, and if my house should ever catch fire, that birthday club journal would be one of the first things I grab!

So getting to my idea–I thought it might be fun to have a Sisterhood of the Traveling Notebook where the citizens of Bythelbsia take turns recording their thoughts, special (or not so special) events of the day/week, witticisms, helpful hints, hopes, dreams, disappointments or whatever.  I’m imagining a list of willing participants who will each keep the journal for about a week before mailing it on to the next gal and so on and so forth until it ends back with me again.  I would then make a copy for each contributor to keep and treasure forever or until your next big clutter purge, depending on your sentimentality level.  Along the way you could make comments on other people’s entries, add a “decoration” of sorts to the cover, and other things that I haven’t thought of yet.

I know many of us have contact through the blogosphere, but I thought this might be an interesting experiment.  This isn’t a fully conceived idea yet (can you half conceive something? or partially conceive something?).  We will need to come up with a list of rules to govern the use of the traveling notebook, and I’m thinking I could send out friendly reminder e-mails to you lovely busy women so the notebook doesn’t spend too much time in one place (i.e. you flake out on us!).

So what do you think?  Anyone interested?  And don’t worry if you feel like you don’t know anyone–I think that would be part of the fun of the experience!

13 Responses to “I have an idea”

  1. Susan M January 18, 2013 at 1:04 pm #

    I think that’s a fantastic idea. When I was a teenager I had penpals and we’d do something similar, except it wasn’t a journal–it was just a little booklet made out of scrap paper we’d decorate and send on to another penpal.

    Count me in!

  2. tawnya January 18, 2013 at 1:04 pm #

    I’m in! You had me at notebook…

  3. madhousewife January 18, 2013 at 2:21 pm #

    I’m hip to that action.

  4. Cheryl January 18, 2013 at 3:34 pm #

    Me, me, me!!

  5. Janelle January 18, 2013 at 3:51 pm #

    That sounds fun.

  6. justtryingtoremember January 18, 2013 at 9:22 pm #

    I like it. I’m certain I’ll be the friend you have to remind seven hundred times to put the dang thing in the mail already, but I like it.

    Also, I seriously need a girlfriends birthday club. So fun.

  7. Flip flop mama January 18, 2013 at 11:25 pm #

    Yep I’m in too!

  8. Mother of the Wild Boys January 19, 2013 at 11:14 am #

    I am all about this…yes!

  9. Lora January 19, 2013 at 1:19 pm #

    I’m in! Sounds like fun!

  10. thewoobdog January 21, 2013 at 6:43 am #

    Oooh, fun!

  11. thewoobdog January 21, 2013 at 6:44 am #

    (and much less disturbing [and unrealistic] than shared, unwashed pants)

  12. Patience January 21, 2013 at 12:21 pm #

    Great idea! I would do it.

  13. foo4luv January 21, 2013 at 2:48 pm #

    That sounds really fun. Can I join in, too?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

