At last

22 Feb

We the sisterhood hereby instate the following rules to govern the use of the traveling notebook:

1. The Notebook should be kept for a period of about one week.   The Notebook should be circulated in a timely manner.   (No one should have a chance to forget its existence before they’ve had a chance to see it.)  See the list at the back of the book for the next sister to send it to.

2. There is no minimum/maximum entries requirement, but keep in mind the Notebook is for everyone, not just you. (Don’t be a page hog.)

3. Don’t use the Notebook for your blog. Don’t blog/tweet/fb about anyone else’s entries. Don’t duplicate your own entries for your blog unless you’re using the Notebook to tell the “real” story you would be too embarrassed to post on your blog (which would actually be encouraged).

4. You must identify any foreign substance that makes its way into/onto the Notebook for the peace of mind of everyone else who will be using the Notebook. (You may lie if necessary.)

5. The Notebook must never enter a bathroom. In case of emergency (ie: being in a public place and having to use a restroom and there’s no one to hold the Notebook while you’re in the bathroom, the Notebook must be safely tucked inside your jacket or purse or something so that it never touches the facilities.)

6. Don’t share anything too private. We are all interested in the intimate details of your life, but not the intimate details.  It may also be wise to leave out anything that could be used against you in a court of law.

7. You must never tear pages out of the Notebook. There will never be a time when this will not be tacky. This isn’t a time to be perfect, but a time to be real.  (Exceptions would be in cases of violations of some of the above rules–use your best judgement.)

8. You may comment on other entries, but be respectful.  And witty.

9. For the last page you write on before mailing it to the next participant: On the left side of the page, write the most exciting place you have been while in possession of the Notebook. On the right side of the page, write the most important thing that has happened to you while in possession of the Notebook. Also, affix some kind of memento of your week to the cover, taking care not to interfere with what others have already contributed to the cover decorations.

10. Remember: The Notebook=Love.  Love your sisters.  Love yourself.

Sorry it took so long, but I decided I would wait until I had finished my week with the Notebook so I could make them up as I went along.  I think I managed to include everyone else’s contributions as well.

The plan is to send it on its merry way tomorrow.  You’re up next, Tawnya, so keep an eye out for it.

Have a great weekend, ladies!

19 Responses to “At last”

  1. Amanda D February 22, 2013 at 9:13 pm #

    I love your rules. Makes me wish I was involved… :)

    • bythelbs February 23, 2013 at 10:23 am #

      It’s not too late to add you to the list if you’re interested! Let me know!

  2. Mother of the Wild Boys February 23, 2013 at 8:41 am #

    Sounds awesome! So excited. :)

  3. tawnya February 23, 2013 at 2:53 pm #

    Yay! I’m nervous…I mean excited to be first!

  4. Boquinha February 23, 2013 at 4:08 pm #

    Yeah, that looks fun. Great idea. Sorry to not jump in – I’m so overwhelmed right now by so many things that I can barely keep up, so part of my new year is scaling back and not taking on many new things. :/ But it’s so good to see you online anyway!

    • bythelbs February 27, 2013 at 12:03 pm #

      Hey, maybe we can count you in for volume 2! ;)

  5. Julie February 24, 2013 at 7:49 pm #

    I say Aye to these bylaws.

  6. thewoobdog February 25, 2013 at 9:09 am #

    Is it odd that the first thing that popped into my head when I saw the title of this post was the Etta James song? I think it will now be indelibly linked to the Traveling Notebook in my mind…

    • Boquinha February 25, 2013 at 5:01 pm #

      If it’s odd, then I’m odd, too. Because I had the SAME reaction. :P

      • Boquinha February 25, 2013 at 5:02 pm #

        And it’s totally in my head, too . . .

      • thewoobdog February 26, 2013 at 6:06 am #

        Earworm alert…! (Which, in turn, always makes me think of the Pearls Before Swine strip on earworms, brought to us by our own ByTheLbs):
        http://bythelbs.wordpress.com/2008/10/03/friday-funnies-special-music-edition/

      • Boquinha February 26, 2013 at 5:32 pm #

        Heheheh. Good one!

      • bythelbs February 27, 2013 at 12:04 pm #

        Woobdog-love that you remember such an old post!

        It’s not a bad song to have in your head, right??

      • thewoobdog February 28, 2013 at 7:32 am #

        HAHA That was one of the first PBS comics I ever saw – I’ve never forgotten it, LOL, and it’s one of my favorite strips now (I get a PBS desktop calendar every year for Christmas now). What can I say – you’re a cultural trendsetter… ;-)

    • Cheryl February 27, 2013 at 10:33 am #

      I started singing it, too!

  7. Flip flop mama February 25, 2013 at 4:48 pm #

    Yay!

  8. Patience February 26, 2013 at 4:06 am #

    Great set of rules! This should be fun. :)

  9. Cheryl February 27, 2013 at 10:32 am #

    Huzzah! And I can’t wait. Seriously.

  10. bythelbs February 27, 2013 at 12:06 pm #

    I’m so pleased with all of the enthusiasm. You gals are awesome.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

