These are the moments

25 Feb

More bedtime fun with DynaGirl 

bythelbs:  Oops.  These pajamas don’t match.  You don’t mind wearing different tops and bottoms, right?

DynaGirl:  No, it’s OK.  But if our house caught on fire and we were on the news, I’d want them to match.

bythelbs:  What’s more important, getting out of a burning house alive or having matching pajamas on the news?

DynaGirl:  Hmmmm.

Apparently, the jury’s still out.

The joys of living with a pre-adolescent boy

bythelbs:  Mr. T, could you please excuse yourself from the room when you need to do that? 

Mr. T:  I wonder why I’ve been having so much gas lately.  Maybe it’s puberty gas.

Heaven help us.

I am six going on seventeen

Goose:  I have a crush on Michael.  He’s the cutest boy I know, except for that one guy who smiled at me when he was getting into his car after swimming lessons.

bythelbs:  That’s nice.

Goose:  How do I make Michael fall in love with me?

That’s nice.

BigHugs cushions the blow

BigHugs:  I love you, Daddy.

Chuck:  Thanks, BigHugs, I love you, too.

BigHugs:  Daddy, I stinky.  I need a new diaper.

There are a few benefits to having a Daddy’s girl.

Grammar lessons with Mr. T

DynaGirl:  Ouch!  I hurt my left buttocks!

Mr. T:  Buttock.  A buttock is one cheek.  But-tocks is two cheeks or more.

Or more?

8 Responses to “These are the moments”

  1. cheryl February 25, 2008 at 4:11 pm #

    I love this! And I think that Mr. T is quite wise for his age. 🙂

    Sorry I didn’t leave you any recipes on your previous post. I have no food allergies in my little brood, so I don’t really have anything I could share with you. But maybe I’ll give you something, but now I’m too lazy to go to the other post, so you get it here!
    I’m into fresh stuff now (just cause of my weight loss stuff). Fresh veggies, etc. So quite often I will cook 100% whole wheat pasta (wait, is anyone allergic to wheat?); then I cook all kinds of fresh veggies (zucchinni, broccoli, peppers, etc.), garlic, Italian herbs, and shrimp or chicken in some olive oil. I mix them all together and add a couple splashes of white balsamic vinger. It’s a super healthy and simple meal that I love. Some of my kids will eat it, too.

  2. bythelbs February 25, 2008 at 5:12 pm #

    Thanks, Cheryl! Sounds good to me, and my kids are actually pretty good veggie eaters–they fight over who gets to finish off the broccoli. I’ll have to give it a try.

  3. madhousewife February 25, 2008 at 6:35 pm #

    “Two cheeks or more”–ROFLMBO (rolling on the floor laughing my buttock off)

  4. bythelbs February 25, 2008 at 6:45 pm #

    So not quite a two(or more)-cheek funny, huh?

    Buttocks is one of those words that gets my kids going. A couple years ago Goose asked what a buttocks was, and DynaGirl’s response (in all seriousness) was, “It’s a butt that talks.”

  5. hockamama March 3, 2008 at 5:20 pm #

    my 10 year old just recently discovered that word, and now he tries to fit it into conversation as often as possible i.e: ‘my buttocks get sore when I ride my bike too long’…’your buttocks are jiggly, mama’…’my buttocks are too big for these old underwear’

    recently, my husband’s work schedule has changed, so it’s just my young’un and I here for dinner through the week; and even though I love to cook, it’s kinda pointless for just the two of us. we have lots of ‘if you can find it, you can eat it’ nights. they sure are sanity savers.

  6. bythelbs March 3, 2008 at 5:25 pm #

    My 11 year old and your 10 year old would get along famously!

    “If you can find it, you can eat it.” Love it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Unrequited love, kindergarten style « By the lbs - March 17, 2008

    […] 17, 2008 in Uncategorized Goose has a secret crush.  Again.  A few weeks ago it was this guy, but he moved away and she was somehow able to pick up the pieces of her broken heart and move […]

  2. Friday funnies, anyone? « By the lbs - January 9, 2009

    […] be making every effort to incorporate “butti” into my daily conversations.  As will Mr. T, I’m sure, when he catches wind of […]

Leave a Reply

