Update: oh woe is me

15 May

So I had been debating whether or not to call the restaurant.  Maybe this was a prime opportunity to break this vicious cycle of obsessiveness over insignificant lost items and just get a life already?  I could just accept the fact that I had lost a child’s jacket, right?  And anyway, was it worth the risk of getting my hopes up only to have them dashed to pieces on the jagged rocks of reality?

But I took a friend’s advice and called the restaurant.  A lovely woman answered the phone.

Me:  Um, yeah, I was in there the other night with my family and I wondered if maybe I, uh, left behind my daughter’s jacket.  Do you have like a lost and found or something?

Lovely restaurant woman:  I’ll check.  Just a minute.

Four minutes la-tare…

Seriously, I was sitting on the phone forever.  Had we been disconnected?  Were there really that many items in the lost and found?  This is one of our favorite little hole-in-the-wall family type restaurants that rarely has another soul in site when we go to dine—everyone who had ever been there in the last year would had to have left multiple items behind in order to explain the length of time it was taking LRW to check.  My girls were watching TV.  I heard an advertisement for the Indiana Jones sound FX whip in the backgroud with the Da-da-da-da, Da-da-daaaaaaa, Da-da-da-da, Da-da-da-da-daaaaaa and images of warehouses with eternal rows of shelves a la Raiders of the Lost Ark were conjured up in my mind and I began to feel myself slipping into a snake-pit of despair.  Even if we had left the jacket at the restaurant, it would never be seen by human eyes again!!!

Restaurant Man, maybe Jorge—I like Jorge:  Hello?

Me:  Uh, yes, I was calling about a lost jacket?

RM:  OK, I’ll have somebody check.  pause.  What color was it?

Me:  Pink.

RM:  Is it Old Navy?

Me, trying to compose myself long enough to answer without coming off like a total spaz:  Yes!  Uh, yes, I think that’s it.  Um, what are your hours today?

RM:  We’re open until 9:30 pm.

Me:  OK, thanks.

I immediately hung up and then dialed Chuck’s cell.

Me:  Guess what?  It was at the restaurant!

Chuck:  All right!  Good.  See?  Are you feeling better now?

Me:  Yes, except I’m embarrassed about being such a spaz.

Chuck:  So she was wearing a pink jacket with a purple outfit.

Me:  Yes.  That must be why—the color coordination gods must have been sending me some kind of warning.  I won’t make that mistake again.

Chuck:  So did you pick it up?

Me:  No, they’re open until 9:30 tonight.  I can get it anytime.

Chuck:  Maybe you should just take the girls now and go get it.

Me:  There’s no rush.  I know where it is.  Crisis averted.  I think we can move back down to defcon 2.

Chuck:  So I can come home now?

Me:  Yeah, yeah…whatever.  I’ll see you later.  pause.  Thanks, sweetie.

Chuck:  Yep.

I managed to wait 1 hour and 9 minutes before throwing the kids in the car and heading down to the restaurant.  I had a nagging little thought in the back of my mind that there was still a possibility that it wasn’t actually BigHugs’s pink jacket.  I mean obviously from the conversation I had with the Kohl’s lady I should assume that there’s some kind of little girls losing pink jackets epidemic in our area—I should be careful not to count my jackets before they hatch.  But then I walked into the restaurant and Holy hot dog on a stick sweet mother moses, there it was!  I had it in my hot little hands!!!

And *sniiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiifff* mmmmm….it smells like fajitas.

7 Responses to “Update: oh woe is me”

  1. cheryl May 15, 2008 at 3:15 pm #

    Hooray! Crisis averted. 🙂

  2. madhousewife May 15, 2008 at 4:58 pm #

    It smells like fajitas! Could there be a happier ending?

  3. Julie May 15, 2008 at 5:07 pm #

    Mmmmm….fajitas…my only weakness……

    I have to admit, I would have already purchased a new jacket by that point.

  4. Jamie J May 15, 2008 at 7:27 pm #

    Yay I’m glad they found it! And fajitas….yum!

  5. Alison Wonderland May 15, 2008 at 8:46 pm #

    I’m so happy for you! Don’t get me wrong, I think you’re crazy, but I’m happy for you just the same.

  6. qsysue May 16, 2008 at 7:25 am #

    Yay! This post was hilarious, btw.

    – Susan M

  7. Boquinha May 20, 2008 at 7:15 pm #

    Awesome. I’m so happy for you. Genuinely.

Leave a Reply

