Dude, Friday Funnies!

27 Jun

 

I love this, and not just because it so aptly describes the many subtle nuances of the word “dude” (which happens to be a personal favorite of mine), but also because it brings up the point of how different a word’s meaning can be based solely on the way it is said.

One of the biggest problems with blogging is that it is often hard to know what a person is really saying just from her words.  We’re missing the intonations, the facial expressions, the body language.  Sure we try to make ourselves understood with visual cues like italics or bold type or “quotes” or even the occasional (and sometimes obnoxious) em 🙂 ticon, but even then we can still be misunderstood at times.

All of which leads me to wonder how many wars might have been prevented by a properly interpreted “dude”?

Dude.

10 Responses to “Dude, Friday Funnies!”

  1. Julie June 27, 2008 at 7:36 am #

    Dude, you are so right. Like if George had just said “DUUuud, these WMDs are really starting to freak people out.” And Saddam had said, “Duuude, we SO don’t have any, but I like to keep everyone on their toes.” And then they’d both looked at Condie and said “Dude Dude Dude.” I mean, we wouldn’t be in this wreck right now if it’d gone down like that. DUUuud.

  2. bythelbs June 27, 2008 at 7:38 am #

    Julie, you crack me up! But is Condie really “Dude Dude Dude” worthy?

  3. Julie June 27, 2008 at 8:20 am #

    No.

  4. Boquinha June 27, 2008 at 8:50 am #

    So who IS “Dude Dude Dude” worthy?

  5. Jumbo Shrimp June 27, 2008 at 9:12 am #

    Dude, so true.

    Julie, you are hilarious!

    I am SO Dude, Dude, Dude worthy…hehe

  6. Julie June 27, 2008 at 9:27 am #

    Um, Syesha from American Idol. I had a girl crush on her all season long. That’s pretty sick when I actually think about it. Dude.

  7. Susan M June 27, 2008 at 10:00 am #

    Dude. It’s Friday already? How did that happen? Seriously. Where did my week go?

  8. madhousewife June 27, 2008 at 11:57 am #

    Susan, don’t you mean, “Dude, where’s my week?”

  9. qsysue June 27, 2008 at 4:12 pm #

    Sa-weet.

  10. Alison Wonderland June 28, 2008 at 8:28 pm #

    I love dude and I say it all the time but i have yet to use it in my blog because I always think it looks so lame in typeface, any typeface. But I think I may have changed my mind. This post was sweet, and so unlame that I’m totally gonna do it. Duuuude!

Leave a Reply

