What I did the day after my summer vacation

8 Jul

A to do list:

1.  Do three loads of laundry.  Check.

2.  Clear off kitchen bar.  Check.

3.  Clean kitchen counters.  Check.

4.  Clean out silverware drawer/tray.  Check.

5.  Clean out special utensils drawer/tray.  Check.

6.  Clean out potholder/kitchen towel drawer.  Check.

7.  Clean off top of fridge.  Check.

8.  Sort old shoes nobody wears out of shoe basket so there’s room for the bazillion pairs of flip flops and sandals.  Check.

9.  Find lost library book you didn’t know was lost until you got the e-mail from the library today.  Check.

10.  Organize “In” basket and recycle stuff you don’t need.  Check.

11.  Feed kids lunch by 3 pm.  Check.

12.  Shower.  Check.

13.  Unpack.  Um…

14.  Put away all the crud you cleaned out of the car.  Well…

15.  Put away any of the laundry you just did.  I was, uh…

16.  Bathe the children.  Yeah, so…

17.  Clean all the stuff out of the fridge that you left before because you didn’t want it stinkin’ up your trash just as you were leaving on vacation.  About that…

18.  Play Guitar Hero for 2 hours.  Check.

19.  Make dinner by 8:45 pm.  Check.

20.  Beat Guitar Hero (on easy, but hey) with 5 stars on nearly every song.  Check and check!

 

Productivity, thy name is bythelbs!

12 Responses to “What I did the day after my summer vacation”

  1. Alison Wonderland July 9, 2008 at 12:16 am #

    But you totally got the important stuff covered. I mean guitar hero, hello?! Can you say vital? And dinner before 9:00. I think you’re golden.

  2. Mother of the Wild Boys July 9, 2008 at 12:47 am #

    Yeah, what Alison said. 🙂

  3. Julie July 9, 2008 at 7:17 am #

    I just hope each of those tasks was neatly written and checked off. While I haven’t played guitar hero, I do believe it fully deserves its own line on the paper and its own check mark.

    What was for dinner?

  4. thewoobdog July 9, 2008 at 7:53 am #

    Oh, wow. I, for one, am totally impressed that you managed to clean out the ‘special utensils’ drawer AND the other drawers. I NEVER touch the special utensils drawer. Ever. And when I do (despite the fact that I never do), the kitchen towel/oven mitt drawer and/or the silverware drawer becomes the catchall. I have never succeeded in doing all three in one day. Or one week.

    You should frame that list. Then (if you’re like me) you can look at it any time you feel guilty for procrastinating and still feel a warm glow of accomplishment, despite the fact that you’ve done nothing on your current (procrastinated) list.

    How do you rate Guitar Hero vs. Rock Band? I’ve only ever played RB but I’ve been aflame with curiosity about GH.

    P.S. I’m loving the ‘related posts’ auto-gen links – “What’s that Stink?” “Where’s the hacksaw???”

  5. thewoobdog July 9, 2008 at 8:13 am #

    Oh, dear. Now you’ve done it. I’ve been over here reading your blog so much I finally broke down and got a WordPress account to make it easier to keep up with.

    Suddenly the pressure to blog is becoming more intense… AAAAHHHH!

  6. Jumbo Shrimp July 9, 2008 at 8:50 am #

    I agree with Alison…you got the important stuff done! Those other things can wait but cleaning off the top of the fridge is tres importante. 🙂

  7. madhousewife July 9, 2008 at 9:36 am #

    At first this list was like one of those insufferable Christmas letters you hear so much about–but then it turned awesome. (Thanks for not charging us, btw.)

  8. madhousewife July 9, 2008 at 9:37 am #

    P.S. Cleaning out the fridge is the worst. I always feel like someone owes me money after I do it.

  9. bythelbs July 9, 2008 at 10:25 am #

    You guys are such a bunch of cheerleading enablers. I love it!

    I didn’t write down my list anywhere but here—it’s actually more impressive “published”, don’t you think?

    We had tortilla pizzas for dinner because by 8:30 it’s really too late to make pizza dough. Except Goose had a hot dog (on a fork, not a bun) because she doesn’t care for tortilla pizzas. One might think it’s a total copout dinner, but hey, I sliced the olives and pineapple and opened my pre-shredded package of mozzarella all by myself.

    I think Rock Band is more fun because you can play four people at once. Mr. T got guitar hero for Christmas and we just have the one guitar, though yesterday he figured out how to use the wii remote by itself, so we played a little co-op. It was pretty awesome. We killed Beastie Boys Sabotage. Guitar Hero is coming out with their World Tour the end of the year which is similar to Rock Band with the drums and mic. We might look into that one. And then there’s Rock Band 2 coming out also. Too much awesome.

    Oh, and somehow cleaning out the fridge has always been Chuck’s task—he like volunteered for it or something, so I rarely have to do it. I did manage to throw out the leftover pizza from before we left (because it was just wrapped in disposable tin foil), but there’s still some other stuff in tupperware type containers and I just didn’t want to go there. Chuck, where art thou?

    Is it wrong to post a comment that’s actually longer than the original post?

  10. madhousewife July 9, 2008 at 11:49 am #

    See, your husband may not cook, but he cleans out the fridge. That’s pretty special. I can only sort of talk my husband into cleaning out the fridge when I’m pregnant and have morning sickness. And even then, not so much.

  11. thewoobdog July 9, 2008 at 12:37 pm #

    By the way, did the sock monkey (nice avatar pic!) ever get a name?

  12. Boquinha July 9, 2008 at 6:19 pm #

    What an awesome list. I am supremely impressed. And some of my “pleasure guilt” is assuaged, too. I have to try Rock Band sometime. So far we’ve tried GH at our friends’ house. Rock Band sounds fun.

Leave a Reply

