Back to the beach

11 Aug

Every other year we take a family trip to Seaside.  This year’s an other year, so we’re off for the next little while.  If you’ve never been to the Oregon Coast, you’re really missing out.  We like to stay in Seaside for its family friendly atmosphere, but take day trips to various points along the coast.  I’m going to leave you with a few of my favorite pics from our trip two years ago.

Seaside beach.  This is how I feel right now—trying to hold onto my baby, while I watch my older ones venture out on their own.  Only my baby’s not really a baby anymore.

 

 

Cannon Beach.  The girls were off chasing birds.  I think I asked Mr. T to step into the shot, so I could get them all at once.

 

Cape Meares.  There’s a lighthouse here, the famous Octopus Tree, and some of the most beautiful views along the coast.

 

Rockaway Beach.  We stopped here on our way back from Cape Meares.  We had the beach pretty much to ourselves.  It was overcast, which is typical of Oregon beaches, but a few rays broke through now and then.

 

Have a lovely week!  I know we will.

12 Responses to “Back to the beach”

  1. cheryl August 11, 2008 at 6:03 am #

    Ah, man. I’m sure gonna miss you –more than you’ll ever know! And I’m a tad jealous of your destination; those are my kind of beaches! Maybe one day I’ll get to the OR coast. One day….one day…

    P.S. You know the solution for keeping a baby is to just keep having babies… *snort 😉

  2. Evitafjord August 11, 2008 at 6:35 am #

    Our Senior Trip was to Seaside! It was fantastic. I miss those beaches.

  3. Susan M August 11, 2008 at 6:49 am #

    Those pictures are fantastic. The Oregon coast is so amazing. We used to drive down to Seaside and Indian Beach and Cannon Beach a lot to go surfing.

    They’re filming Twilight there.

    Have a good time!

  4. Mother of the Wild Boys August 11, 2008 at 8:17 am #

    Wow, I love those pictures. And I love how you pointed out the holding on to your baby while you watch the others grow up. I feel the same way. Have a great trip, I’ll miss you.

  5. flip flop mama August 11, 2008 at 11:25 am #

    Have fun! What wonderful pictures!

  6. Ribeezie August 11, 2008 at 10:26 pm #

    Wow! Those views look fantastic (not quite what you see around here…). Anyway, have a great time! I know you will 😛

  7. Jody August 13, 2008 at 8:44 am #

    Beautiful pictures. Have fun. I feel like I might have been there once.

  8. madhousewife August 15, 2008 at 10:43 am #

    Okay, that’s enough vacation. I miss you! Come back already!

    Not that I don’t hope you’re having fun…

  9. cheryl August 16, 2008 at 10:50 am #

    I’m with mad. Come home! Come home!

  10. patience August 17, 2008 at 7:47 am #

    Have fun!

  11. Mother of the Wild Boys August 17, 2008 at 8:50 am #

    I agree with Mad and Cheryl…we need you! 🙂

  12. Boquinha September 5, 2008 at 12:50 pm #

    Awwww, sweet first picture. And awesome looking beaches. So you’ve gone, come back, and worked on spillings. I’m so behind (but clearly catching up)!

Leave a Reply

