What I did the day after my summer vacation, part II

19 Aug

So apparently, when BigHugs comes to me and says, “I spilled chocolate milk on the floor, Mom” what she really means is “I threw up chocolate milk all over the floor, Mom.”  Only I didn’t figure that out until I was in the middle of cleaning up the other throw up that occurred just moments after the whole “spilling” confession.  Nothing like heading down to the laundry room with an armful of wash only to discover a second crime scene.  It just. keeps. getting. better.

BigHugs had a runny nose and cough most of our vacation, and it seems as though yesterday her tummy had finally had enough of all that gunk she was coughing up, but not out.  At least it didn’t happen on vacation.  See, I can count my blessings, look on the bright side, see the half-full cup and all that schlock.

I had such big plans for yesterday.  I was going to think about unpacking and perhaps go to the grocery store and maybe even take the girls school shopping.  But instead, I used the whole sick toddler thing as an excuse for total slacktitude.  Of course.  Of course, I did.  Did you expect anything less?  Or is it more?

But today I’m making up for it.  I’ve already showered and fed two of the four kids lunch and taken Mr. T to the orthodontist and it’s only 12:35 pm.  Is there no end to my productivity?  I was going to start unpacking, but I’m thinking I should pace myself.  This thing called motherhood is a long distance race, after all, and I don’t want to be using up all my juice in the first couple legs.  Right?

Yesterday afternoon, while laying leisurely on the couch in front of Thomas & Jerry (BigHugs always calls Tom Thomas), BigHugs coughed and said in her most pitiful voice, “I’m sick, Mom.  I have the fruit.”  Yeah, I’ve been there, kid.  I’ve so been there.

And not to worry, it looks like it was just a 24 fruit.  She’s back to her happy-go-lucky, non-spewing (or as she puts it, spilling) self.

8 Responses to “What I did the day after my summer vacation, part II”

  1. Susan M August 19, 2008 at 1:11 pm #

    Poor thing. I hate it when kids start spilling.

  2. Julie August 19, 2008 at 1:37 pm #

    The puke is not at all my favorite. Except for the excuse to sit around and watch cartoons all day. That part I enjoy.

    Pace yourself, alright. You’ve got school ahead, so you’ve plenty of time to unpack!

  3. cheryl August 19, 2008 at 2:32 pm #

    I’d say pace yourself for at least 20 more years. I mean, the kids are going to leave for college, but that doesn’t mean they won’t be back begging for money or asking you to do their laundry on weekends and what-not. And there will always be time to unpack –like when you need something to wear. Yeah!

    Sorry about the pukiness. Glad it’s over! For now. Because with the inevitableness of motherness, you’ll be cleaning up more puke in the future. Sorry! But it’s *true*.

  4. kamillivanilli August 19, 2008 at 3:13 pm #

    Slow and steady wins the race, that’s what I always say. Haste Makes Waste.

  5. flip flop mama August 19, 2008 at 3:14 pm #

    Boogers says, “I need to spit, Mom.” That’s code for I need to puke up my guts all over you.

    Pacing is okay…Glad the spilling-ness is done for now…

  6. Janelle August 19, 2008 at 6:06 pm #

    I read the last post too and I enjoyed the swing part. To combine these two posts – I now cannot get on or off a swing without “spilling.” That is the one blasted thing I hate about getting older – my motion sickness is getting worse every year. Even a swim in ocean can cause spilling if I keep my snorkel mask on too long and the swells get big. And I cannot recommend spilling in a snorkel mask.

  7. Alison Wonderland August 19, 2008 at 11:08 pm #

    You showered and fed two of the four kids?! I say take the rest of the day off, you’re certainly done enough.

  8. thewoobdog August 20, 2008 at 12:14 pm #

    Ok, that line about motherhood being a long distance race cracked me up – AND reminded me of one of my favorite posters…

    http://despair.com/laziness.html

    (ahem… I must also confess that that is one of my absolute FAVORITE websites – it never fails to make me laugh… one of my favorite pastimes is just reading down through the demotivational posters and chuckling slightly hysterically to myself)

Leave a Reply

