Unleash the power!

21 Aug

So in the aftermath of BigHugs’ little “spilling” incident on Monday, I forgot to toss her clothes into the wash.  I had rinsed them out so as to dispose of the bulk of the spill, but then put them on the washer while I was running the ginormous load that included a comforter and several towels I had used to clean up the mess.  The washer was full, so I thought her outfit (one of my favorites) had a better chance of making a full recovery if it wasn’t crammed in with all the other stuff.  That was Monday.

On Wednesday, I walked into the laundry room and realized I had never finished Monday’s wash.  I quickly inspected the contents of my washing machine to make sure no unpleasantness had occurred while it sat neglected for two days.  After a few thorough sniffs, I determined it was safe to put them in the dryer.  What are those ocean breeze dryer sheets for anyway, if not to freshen my load?

I gathered up some other items to throw in with the outfit, but when I finally got around to BigHugs’ thoroughly rinsed (read wet and dirty) outfit, I noticed the ultimate in laundry horrors.  Little pink speckles, my friends.  Mildew!  And did I mention it was my favorite outfit?

My first line of attack was my usual stain-remover spray and an old toothbrush I keep in my laundry room.  Nothing.  Nuh-theen-guh.  Sigh.  I thought to myself, “It’s mildew, you idiot.  It’s too late.  This outfit has given up the ghost.  Move on.”  And then, I saw it.  My bucket of OxiClean I had originally purchased to brighten up my kitchen rug.  It had not been the miracle cure I’d seen in the infomercials, but it had worked decently well.  After a few hours of soaking, my rug had looked considerably less dingy.  So I tossed the clothes in a large bowl with a half gallon or so of warm water and a scoop of OxiClean and walked away.

I’m pretty sure by now that those of you who know me know how I am about lost items.  Of course, I knew where this outfit physically was, but once rendered unwearable it was as good as lost to me, so the grieving process had begun.  I tried to comfort myself with the idea that BigHugs is a growing child and would not have been able to wear the outfit much longer anyway and it was really more of a summer outfit and summer was almost over and surely there were equally cute if not cuter ensembles in her future.  I almost had myself fooled into thinking that I it would be OK.

Two hours later, I was able to bring myself to check on the progress of the OxiClean.  I prepared myself for the worst.  But when I pulled up the clothes and brushed away the combined power of water and oxygen suds, there was narry a pink spot in sight!  Halle-frickin-lujah!  It had worked!  It had actually worked!  The damn spots were out!  It was nothing short of a laundry miracle.

I floated over to my washing machine and threw the outfit in with full confidence it had been restored to its former glory.  True story.  Thank you OxiClean!

But that’s not all!  Not 15 minutes after discovering the magical powers of this blessed versatile household stain remover, I spattered microwave popcorn “butter” all over my favorite t-shirt whilst tearing open the steaming bag of naturally and artificially flavored buttered goodness.  I was sure it was too much to ask or hope for a second laundry miracle.  What had I done to expect or deserve such a fount of laundry blessings?  But sweet heavenly hosts, with the help of OxiClean, the greasy butter spots came out, too!

Undoubtedly, some other catastrophe lurks around the corner in the bythelbs household.  The universe has a way of evening things up, after all.  But for now, my laundry is safe and all is right with the world.

 

Thanks, Julie, for your correct spelling of OxiClean!  With all it’s done to contribute to my wellbeingness, the least I can do is spell it right!

6 Responses to “Unleash the power!”

  1. Julie August 21, 2008 at 12:27 pm #

    I can not begin to articulate my love for OxiClean. And it has already been passed on to my children. They love it as dearly as Sam’s Club. Any time they spill something they just smile and say, it’s okay, we have OxiClean. And they’re right. There isn’t much that wonderful combination of water and oxygen bubbles can’t remove.

    I’m so happy you’ve rediscovered its power. I am seriously in love with the stuff.

  2. Julie August 21, 2008 at 12:50 pm #

    I finally broke down and bought OxiClean at costco with the last coupon. I now have a firm testimony of OxiClean. 😉

  3. thewoobdog August 21, 2008 at 1:52 pm #

    I big puffy heart OxiClean. And I do not use that phrase lightly.

    It. Rocks.

  4. Susan M August 21, 2008 at 3:23 pm #

    Do you think I could soak my entire couch in OxyClean?

  5. madhousewife August 23, 2008 at 2:38 am #

    See, I have yet to experience the saving power of OxiClean. Maybe I’m not worthy.

  6. flip flop mama August 26, 2008 at 10:36 pm #

    I too have a testimony of the power of OxiClean. Glad you found the truth!

Leave a Reply

