Happy, happy, joy, joy

10 Sep

So the appointment went fine.  She did ask about the eating, but said she wasn’t too concerned since BigHugs gained 5 lbs over the last year and grew 3 1/2 inches, so she’s doing great.  She only said to try and make sure she gets some protein.  Something about brain develo…blah, blah, blah.  Now with the potty-training, she had a big talk with BigHugs about being a big girl and using the potty and only wearing diapers at night and told me I could make her the bad guy, “The doctor said no more daytime diapers.”  She says BigHugs is ready, it’s just a control issue.  Well, duh.  But we’ll see.   I’m trying to psych myself up for tomorrow being the big day.  I gotta go get me some m&m’s, I guess.    With the sleeping, she said she totally knew where I was coming from (BigHugs ends up in bed with us at some point every night) as her youngest tried to sleep with them until she was 6.  She offered some suggestions that I think I might actually try (after we get the potty thing figured out—can’t do too many things at once).  And thank heavens she didn’t ask about the television!  Woo-hoo!

But more importantly, my washer part is here!  It’s here, it’s here, it’s here!!!  I might actually get to wear clean underwear tomorrow!  (Don’t worry, I’m wearing clean underwear now, but I’m on my last pair.)

9 Responses to “Happy, happy, joy, joy”

  1. madhousewife September 10, 2008 at 1:23 pm #

    Woo-hoo for washer parts!

    Yay for clean underwear!

  2. flip flop mama September 10, 2008 at 3:34 pm #

    yay for washer parts! Glad the appointment went well!

  3. cheryl September 10, 2008 at 3:50 pm #

    Hooray, hooray, hooray! Washing of the underwear can commence!

    And I’m glad your doctor was all sympathetic and understanding and not insane. I had a crazy Ped. once. She seriously told me I had to limit the TV to 30 minutes a day or less. For all my kids.
    Ha! Like that could ever happen…

  4. bythelbs September 10, 2008 at 3:56 pm #

    30 minutes a day?! Or less?!?! When you’re going to be home all day and no one else is coming over to play?!?!?!

    Whatever.

  5. anderton2008 September 10, 2008 at 4:18 pm #

    Did you notice your slip-up there? At least I’m assuming you didn’t mean to call BigHugs by her name…

    And oh, how happy I am that you can now launder you panties.

  6. bythelbs September 10, 2008 at 4:23 pm #

    Thanks, Julie! All better now!

  7. cheryl September 10, 2008 at 6:10 pm #

    Seriously. 30 minutes or less is only when we’ve been GONE all day.

    “launder your panties” is sure to show up on Wacky search term Wed. now, bythelbs. Julie comes up with all the good phrases!

  8. Alison Wonderland September 10, 2008 at 10:08 pm #

    Please tell me her suggestions for getting BigHugs out of your bed weren’t “make her sleep on the floor.” I hate that one! Sure, you can tell them to sleep on the floor but as soon as you fall asleep they’re right back in your bed. What are you supposed to do, stay up all night so you can stop her from crawling into bed with you?
    Not that I’ve tried it or anything. I’m so not bitter.

  9. Jody September 11, 2008 at 5:41 am #

    Good luck on the potty and sleeping fronts! It’s been a long time since my kids slept in my bed. Sigh. I sorta miss it.

Leave a Reply

