Friday Funnies and warm fuzzies

12 Sep

 

Who’s on your list?


A few months ago my brother recommended a documentary to me. I generally enjoy documentaries, but rarely get out to the theater or even rental places. I decided I needed to keep my eye out for this one, though.  It’s called Young @ Heart and it’s about a group of senior citizens who perform cover songs of more contemporary artists.  It looks like it comes out on DVD next week.

Here’s a clip from the movie that really got to me.

 

I can’t wait to see this movie.

12 Responses to “Friday Funnies and warm fuzzies”

  1. Debbie September 12, 2008 at 6:03 am #

    Now that little comic strip is kinda like rubbing the Genie bottle and getting your wish, isn’t it? That is great. Let’s see. On my list would be people who talk loudly on their cell phones in restaurants. I’ll start there, see if anyone is left, and then add more to my list.

  2. cheryl September 12, 2008 at 7:40 am #

    The coolest part is that you can tell that guy is a great singer –was and still is. Same with the rest of the choir. Now I want to see this documentary, too!

    Who would be on my list? Flaky parents of piano students who have no concept that I’m running a BUSINESS, not a charity.
    Oh, and whoever invented celery.

  3. madhousewife September 12, 2008 at 9:29 am #

    Thanks for sharing that clip. I’m definitely going to watch for that movie!

    I don’t know who would be on my list. Probably people who don’t clean up after their dogs. Especially those who let their dogs crap in my front yard. Just because my front yard looks like crap doesn’t mean I want actual crap there!

  4. Mother of the Wild Boys September 12, 2008 at 10:49 am #

    On my list I would have those people who block my handicap parking spot. That spot is the one perk to my daily suffering and pain…get the heck outta my way!

    And thanks for the video, that documentary looks awesome. I even wrote it on my calendar in pen. I am so watching that.

  5. Susan M September 12, 2008 at 11:58 am #

    Yay! I’m glad this is finally out. I’m heading to Best Buy today, on my bike if it doesn’t rain, I’ll look for it.

  6. bythelbs September 12, 2008 at 12:07 pm #

    Debbie—Yes, loud talkers bug. Loud cell phone talkers are worse because you can only hear their end of the conversation. How inconsiderate!

    Cheryl—You don’t like celery? Not even as a peanut butter boat?

    Mad—Crap in the yard is the worst. We used to get cat crap in our backyard all the time, which is very distressing since we don’t have a pet. If I wanted to clean up crap in my lawn, I’d buy an animal to crap in my lawn. The kids started scaring away any cats they saw in our backyard with loud, angry yelling and flailing arms. I think the scared off cats have spread the word to stay away because it’s been awhile since we’ve had a problem.

    Mother—Yeah, get out of Mother’s way! For rude!

    Susan—I think it comes out next week like on Tuesday or something. I’m excited as I’ve been wanting to see it for months now.

  7. cheryl September 12, 2008 at 3:15 pm #

    I have hated celery since I was a tiny little tot. Not sure why, either. I mean, it’s okay in say…soups. But crunchy and raw? YUCK! And the smell? Nasty! I even dislike cream of celery and celery seed. Weird, eh? Everyone tells me over and over and over and over that celery has no smell or taste.

    What. Ever.

    I hate the stuff. Blech. Although, I will admit that I’m a psycho and if I absolutely have to eat celery to save the peace, I will tolerate it as long as it’s covered with other stuff. But to eat celery (even the PB boats) as a choice? Fuggedaboutit!

  8. cheryl September 12, 2008 at 3:15 pm #

    Oops. Meant “admit that I’m NOT a psycho.”

    Really. I’m not.

  9. Amanda D September 12, 2008 at 3:30 pm #

    I’m with the mouse – pink shirts are NOT manly. Men shouldn’t wear pink. Ever. Also on my list are celery-haters.

    Just kidding. I’m with Cheryl – they taste gross. I can tolerate them with some spray cheese but only a couple bites!

  10. patience September 12, 2008 at 7:56 pm #

    Aw, that was a great video clip.

  11. Alison Wonderland September 13, 2008 at 9:50 am #

    People who read blogs but don’t comment.

  12. Boquinha September 20, 2008 at 12:30 pm #

    People who don’t register to vote because they say they don’t care. And I’m not saying that just because I’m getting back from volunteering at a voter registration table and hearing people say that. Really.

Leave a Reply

