Love notes

16 Sep

I got this from Goose Sunday.

 

Dear MoM

I Love you

as a MoM

Ethen no

we are in fits some-

Times  Love Goose

 

I love the qualifiers—

“as a MoM”

“Ethen no we are in fits someTimes”

I’m grateful for the we instead of a you.  Maybe she really doesn’t think it’s all my fault when she storms up the stairs screaming I hate you at the top of her lungs.  She’s taking some responsibility for her part in it, just as I need to do.  What is it about an angry 6 year old that brings out the angrier 6 year old in me?

Oh, and the best part is just moments before receiving this card, I had discovered Goose with my ribbon and scissors and gave her a stern lecture about not getting into my things without asking.  She said, “I’m sorry, Mom.  I wanted to make you a card.”  I cut off a length of ribbon for her and walked away wondering why I had to make everything a lesson, a reminder of my rules.  She brought me the card a few minutes later with the ribbon tied in a jumbled mess, and asked if I would help with the bow.  I tied the bow then untied the bow then read the letter and allowed myself to just feel grateful for a forgiving daughter.

13 Responses to “Love notes”

  1. thewoobdog September 16, 2008 at 8:03 am #

    Awwww… that’s so sweet!

    Wow. Kids just have this capacity to make us melt at times…

    Aside – Interesting and slightly perturbing that the “Possibly related posts” include “When you get a love note with the words ‘Darth Vader'”

    Um…

  2. cheryl September 16, 2008 at 8:15 am #

    I, too, always feel the need to turn everything into a lesson or reminder of the rules. I think my kids are already sick of my “life lessons,” and they have years and years to go…

    That is the sweetest note! And a good reminder; kids always forgive easier than adults, don’t they?

  3. kamillivanilli September 16, 2008 at 10:13 am #

    Too cute.

  4. Julie September 16, 2008 at 10:31 am #

    I will be taking a life lesson from this one — I’m part of the lecture club, too, and this is reminding me to sometimes just let things roll.

    I love that she said “in fits.” That’s so grown up!

  5. Susan M September 16, 2008 at 11:23 am #

    Oh my. I love that she wrapped it in a ribbon. Her mother’s daughter?

  6. Mother of the Wild Boys September 16, 2008 at 12:37 pm #

    How sweet. It’s the adorable moments like that one which get us through the bratty times, right? Is it just me?

  7. Alison Wonderland September 16, 2008 at 1:22 pm #

    I was going to comment on the bow. That’s exactly what the princess would do and if I found her with my scissors and ribbon (that’s assuming I had any ribbon) I would have done just what you did. It is good that they’re forgiving.

  8. madhousewife September 16, 2008 at 4:50 pm #

    It’s funny to think about being in “fits.” I know she means “fights,” but sometimes our fights are fits.

    That’s a sweet card.

  9. madhousewife September 16, 2008 at 4:50 pm #

    And I was going to say the ribbon adds just the right touch, of course.

  10. bythelbs September 16, 2008 at 4:58 pm #

    That’s funny, Mad. I had read it as “fits”, but I’m sure you’re right and she meant “fights”. I think in our case, the words are pretty much interchangeable.

  11. Ricardo Bueno September 16, 2008 at 5:15 pm #

    That is just too cute!

    (Ok, I felt a little bad when I read this part: “just moments before receiving this card, I had discovered Goose with my ribbon and scissors and gave her a stern lecture about not getting into my things without asking.” But I went back to read the beginning again. Too cute.)

  12. Boquinha September 20, 2008 at 12:25 pm #

    So sweet, bythelbs. I think you’re not alone in thinking what you do. Good thing we can all learn from these things!

  13. flip flop mama September 20, 2008 at 5:13 pm #

    Goose is so sweet!

Leave a Reply

