Weekend whatnot

22 Sep

On Friday, Mr. T went on a campout with his boy scout troop.  This was his second attempt.  The first campout did not go over so well as it was raining and cold and there were irritating boys whose sole purpose in Mr. T’s estimation was to make everyone else miserable.  Friday afternoon I reminded him it was time to get ready and he heaved a heavy sigh.  Chuck and I decided long ago that scouting would not be something we would force upon our son, but Mr. T is the type of kid who occasionally needs a little nudging to do anything besides sit at the computer so we’re still trying to gently encourage him.  He agreed to go and got everything ready.  We were to meet at our church at 4:50 pm so they could leave at 5 pm sharp.  The scoutmaster ended up being over an hour late.  Whatever.  It was also raining and cold.  And there were irritating boys whose sole purpose was to make Mr. T miserable.  I’m not sure we can talk him into going a third time.  I’m not sure we’ll even try.

Saturday night DynaGirl woke up sobbing.  She’d had a nightmare.  She said she dreamed that Mr. T, BigHugs and I had all died.  Yikes.  That’s a nightmare.  The kind I have frequently.  I have times where my subconscious is a little too preoccupied with death.  I can’t tell you how many times I’ve had nightmares about losing members of my family.  They’re awful.  And even the relief of waking up and realizing it was just a dream isn’t enough to take away the feeling of dread.  It just lingers and makes me want to cry. Sometimes I do, like DynaGirl.

My favorite death dreams are the ones where someone dead comes back to life, specifically my mom.  I used to dream about her all the time—that she was still alive and everything was back to normal.  Those were actually good dreams, and even though I would wake up only to realize she was still gone, that repeated grief and disappointment was totally worth having her back for a few imaginary moments.  Sometimes I would dream that she was still alive, but then she would die again in my dream.  Those sucked.  No fair to have to relive it.

On Sunday night, we were all sitting at the dinner table when I noticed this weird noise in the background. My kids were convinced it was the dryer.  I thought, “It damn well better not be the dryer because that is definitely not how the dryer is supposed to sound, which could only mean that something is terribly, terribly wrong with the dryer and didn’t we just do the whole dead washer routine?”  I decided to investigate and ended up poking my head out the front door to find an ambulance and fire engine outside my neighbor’s house.  The weird background noise was the fire engine idling.

We go to church with these neighbors (an older couple with mostly grown kids and one 16 year old son at home), and have lived across the street from them for over seven years.  My first thought was one of them must have had a heart attack.  They’re both large people.  Lovely, lovely people, but large.  I was afraid.  I sent Chuck over to investigate, and it turns out Mrs. Lovely large neighbor had her leg just collapse out from under her.  She heard a pop and then it just folded.  Ouch.  Her husband said it happened in their bedroom, which is downstairs, while he was away, so she called out to her teenage son, who was upstairs, but he couldn’t hear her so she called him on his cell phone.  This is a small house, but thank goodness for cell phones, I guess.  Her son called his dad and he came home.  Chuck said the son was still upstairs when he got there.  I was wondering if he was still upstairs or upstairs again.  Surely he didn’t just stay upstairs and leave his poor mother alone in her misery until dad arrived.  Surely.

I was just so relieved no one had a heart attack.  I’m going to check on her today.

Today Chuck left for a 10-day business trip.  Again with the business trips.  It would have been a full two weeks only DynaGirl’s birthday is next Thursday and Chuck missed her birthday two years ago while on business in Italy, and DynaGirl has never let him forget it.  She still brings it up at random non-birthday related times.  “Remember that time you missed my birthday?” 

He broke the news to the kids Friday night over dinner.

Chuck:  I’ve got good news and bad news.  Which do you want first?

DynaGirl:  Bad news.

Chuck:  I have to go on another trip.

DynaGirl and Goose:  What?  Again?

DynaGirl:  You’re going to miss my birthday!  Again!

Chuck:  Wait for the good news.

DynaGirl, sulking.

Chuck:  I’m coming back on your birthday.

DynaGirl:  Yay!  Wait, what time?

He’ll be home before she gets home from school, but I love how quick she was to make sure he wasn’t trying to pull a fast one on her.  Like not getting home until nighttime would have been totally cheating because he still would have basically missed her birthday.  Again.

So, to sum up:

stupid campouts = bad

death = bad

jacked-up leg = better than a heart attack

DynaGirl = forgive, but not forget

 

How was your weekend?

9 Responses to “Weekend whatnot”

  1. Susan M September 22, 2008 at 7:04 am #

    My weekend was good. Saturday was better than Sunday, though.

    I wish I had dreams about dead people. I’d love to see my brother or sister in a dream.

  2. Boquinha September 22, 2008 at 7:38 am #

    Wow, that’s quite a weekend. Love the recap. I don’t like camping, so I don’t blame Mr. T. Good description on the dreams (and poor Dynagirl!).

    Let’s see. Our business hosted a blood drive on Saturday morning. I volunteered at a voter registration table again on Saturday afternoon. Hubby and I watched “Made of Honor” at night. While eating good food.

    I taught RS on Sunday–I love having a mini platform to introduce slightly radical thinking, like loosening up and thinking for yourself. We attended a brass band concert on Sunday afternoon (hubby is on the board of the concert association).

    Did you catch my Generation X post? Yeah, this all sounds familiar, right?

    Hubby and I watched “The Wedding Singer” for the first time EVER yesterday–how in the world we haven’t seen that movie until now is a mystery to me, but it’s SO SO funny–I laughed so hard that I cried during his song that he wrote (half when he was *with* Linda and half when he was not).

  3. madhousewife September 22, 2008 at 9:23 am #

    Dude, I want to be in Susan’s RS class.

    My husband took our boys to a football game Friday night, and the girls and I watched “Freaky Friday” (Lindsay Lohan version). I hadn’t seen it before. I think Jamie Lee Curtis’s performance is worth the price of admission. On Saturday we took the kids to IKEA. That was…a mistake. The meatballs were good, though. Sunday is just a blur now.

    I hate dreams where loved ones die. I’ve had dreams where Mom was still alive, but often in the dreams I realize at some point that she can’t be alive, and I’m all confused as to why she is. Actually, what often happens is that she’s alive, but Dad is still married to Stepmom, and that is extremely disconcerting. The weirdest dream I ever had was when she was dead but a ghost. That actually sounds funny now that I type it, but at the time it was pretty messed up and disturbing.

    Campouts. Bah!

    DynaGirl’s funny.

  4. Alison Wonderland September 22, 2008 at 9:49 am #

    I’m so glad to hear I’m not the only one who has disturbing death dreams. I have them mostly when pregnant but I’ve been having them lately. NOT PREGNANT. Anyway, I had a dream the the other day (night) that Sean was having an affair and was leaving me. And then a couple of days later that was so disturbing I can’t even talk about it.

    Oh yeah, and camping sucks!

  5. kamillivanilli September 22, 2008 at 10:48 am #

    Poor DynaGirl…that is a horrible dream to have!

    Glad that your large neighbor is OK. She’s a super nice lady. Even if she does park her car on her lawn.

  6. Mother of the Wild Boys September 22, 2008 at 11:17 am #

    Saturday I spent 3 hours deep-cleaning my bathroom. But it was invigorating because my bum leg usually doesn’t give me that much time to clean without screaming in pain. So I had a cooperating leg, and a very clean bathroom. Bonus!

    I also took my youngest to the USU vs Idaho game, which the Aggies actually won! Go Aggies!!

    Oh, and Sunday, I slept in until 9:30 am. Can I tell you how much I love having kids who are old enough to entertain themselves before church? It was so nice to sleep in because I had gone to bed at 4:30 am after watching a Kevin Costner film called Open Range. It was good.

  7. thewoobdog September 22, 2008 at 1:57 pm #

    Poor Mr. T. 😦 Mean kids suck. So do late scoutmasters and bad weather. And camping with mean kids and late scoutmasters and bad weather.

  8. Boquinha September 22, 2008 at 3:57 pm #

    I’m so glad I’m not the only one who dislikes camping . . .

  9. cheryl September 22, 2008 at 8:47 pm #

    If Brandon was Mr. T’s camp leader, he’d go every time. Because my hubby makes camp-outs fun and there’s been what? 7 years (or more) worth of Scouts that now adore camping because of him? Yep. I guarantee you.

    We should just move there. That would work.

    My weekend was blissful. And yucky. Both of those things. Which is my life. Go figure.

    Oh, and my worst dreams are the ones where my kids drown. Drowning dreams are the WORST. I wish I could make your dreams better; the ones with your mom, anyway. #1 came into our room the last 3 nights with nightmares about fires. She’s very afraid of fire (and fireworks).

    How’s your neighbor?

    DynaGirl rocks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

