You mean this poem, Betty?

23 Sep

Remember this?  I’ve been pretty disappointed not to have received any further updates on Chantella and Cristoph.  Oh Daydream Believer, where are you?  Have your dreams come true?  I did, however, recently receive (OK, I just had to look up “receive”.  You know how you type a word, but it looks wrong, so you type it the other way and it looks wrong, too?  Even though it’s right?  And it’s a word you’ve known how to spel [Holy ironic mispelling {Holy frick!  I just misspelled mispelling.  Double the irony!  Double the fun!}, Batman!  I left it in for your amusement.] correctly for at least 25 years, and you’ve been doing so with absolutely no problem until right this second?)  (Is there a limit to how many parentheticals you can have within a parenthetical?  Did I just misspell parenthetical?  Now I have to look that one up, too.  Phew!  I got that one right.)

Where was I?  Oh yeah, I recently received this:

Sister Bythelbs,

Just a note to ask if you still have a copy of the poem I wrote??? I forgot to keep one for my file. I don’t know what I was thinking. If you do, please e-mail it to me. Also thanks for the squash. It was soooooo GOOD! The reunion was so great and the Temple was just perfect. Love Betty

 

Betty, Betty, Betty.  What were you thinking?  You always keep one for the file.  I sure hope that other Sis. Bythelbs kept the poem.  That would be kind of awkward to have to admit to Betty that the poem was not treasured enough to have been kept in a safe place where it could be properly cherished for all eternity.  I hate to admit it, but I was halfway tempted to write a reply, thanking her for her praise of my gardening and gathering skills and including my own made up version of her poem.  But I thought better of it.  It’s just not neighborly to be screwing with people like that.  And I’m good folk.  Deep down.

But if I weren’t such good folk, and you were me, what kind of poem might I/you write? 

I could really go for some of that squash right about now.

 

 

 

 

 

6 Responses to “You mean this poem, Betty?”

  1. cheryl September 23, 2008 at 7:33 am #

    Well, is Betty an adult, or a YW? It seems this other Sister Bythelbs is a YW leader or something, right? So if Betty was young, here would be my poem:

    Life is kind of yucky,
    Pale and super sucky,
    Boys are major stinky
    And I can’t find my slinky.

    Okay, maybe a Beehive would have written that one. Ha! If it was a Laurel, she would have written this:

    True love has died within my heart
    And I was just starting to learn my part.
    Does he know? Does he care?
    That all my dreams with him I did share?

    Now, if it was an older woman (say just a fellow Relief Society Sister), then it would be something like this:

    Every day I wonder if God will grant me patience
    And I notice I am being tested on all fronts
    Never knowing if what I’m learning will
    Prepare me for the onslaught of adversarious pain.

    Yeah. Go Betty!

  2. Julie September 23, 2008 at 10:55 am #

    Well, Cheryl’s just gone and said exactly what I was going to….darn you, Cheryl.

    This was my second choice:

    If I was a dog
    And you were a flower
    I’d lift up my leg
    And give you a shower.

  3. cheryl September 23, 2008 at 11:03 am #

    Ha! Julie, I’d say yours beats mine, hands down. Although I’m pretty sure Betty wouldn’t be happy with it.

  4. Julie September 23, 2008 at 12:09 pm #

    What? Betty has no sense of 7th grade humor? I expected more of her.

  5. cheryl September 23, 2008 at 12:50 pm #

    Well, you know Betty!

  6. Alison Wonderland September 23, 2008 at 2:52 pm #

    Oh Betty, how silly you be.
    I looked but your po’m I don’t see.
    You’ll look for it now,
    But you’ll never know how
    It got to the top of that tree.

Leave a Reply

