Ghosts of Christmas letters past

10 Dec

Still feeling like le crap (pardon my French), so I’m going to share with you a few family newsletters from past years in case you’re a procrastinator like me and haven’t sent out your Christmas cards yet and are still looking for an idea.

My only personal rule for writing family newsletters is to try not to make it sound like we’re more perfect than we actually are.  Now, trying to sound like we’re funnier or more clever than we actually are is totally OK in my book.

All We Really Need To Know We Learned From Our Family:

scan0001

Our Family’s Priceless (Mastercard) Moments:

scan0002

 

Kids Say the Darndest Things (notice this one was sent out in January—I still think New Year’s letters are the way to go):

scan0005

Our Family’s (insert year) by the Numbers (notice I totally blew off 2004—I was still in my first trimester with BigHugs):

scan0004

I’ll most likely be recycling the “Bythelbs Kids Say the Darndest Things” this year as I already have a decent stock to choose from right here on the blog.  Plus there are limits to my creativity.  Plus there’s that whole feeling like le crap thing.  Plus I’m just lazy like that. 

I typically print out the letter on some kind of decorative paper and then insert it with a family photo into a regular ol’ Christmas card.  I’m having trouble finding a regular ol’ Christmas card that isn’t a totally lame ol’ Christmas card.  Seriously, who comes up with this Christmas card art anyways?  Le crap.

Oh, and Madhousewife has a tried and true Christmas letter format that is very fun and original.  Maybe if you ask her real nice, she’ll share.

I’m off to wait for my head to explode or implode or whatever kind of pressure you imagine to be the most miserable.  Happy Wednesday!

11 Responses to “Ghosts of Christmas letters past”

  1. Julie December 10, 2008 at 11:52 am #

    This has been my dilemma with the Christmas letter this year — I already report every cute funny obnoxious thing my kids say on my blog — now what have I left to share with the world?
    Then I got over myself and realized that not everyone reads my blog. How dare they? But they don’t, so it’ll be new to them.

    PS, I really like your letters. Clever, cute, funny, all BTL

  2. cornnut32 December 10, 2008 at 12:57 pm #

    holy creativity! in my house, it’s just a brief summary of what’s going on. you have inspired me. i’ve already done this years, but for next years i am definitely stealing an idea or two. 😉

  3. madhousewife December 10, 2008 at 2:55 pm #

    Sorry you’re still feeling like le crap. You must need more good karma.

    I always enjoy your newsletters. I hope that 2008’s contains many hobo references.

    Technically, SD always writes our Christmas newsletters. He’s tried to solicit my help this year, because he just isn’t feeling it (probably because he feels like le crap, too), but if it turns out to suck, I want to be able to foist all the blame on him. Also, I’m no good under pressure. Deadlines–bah humbug!

  4. madhousewife December 10, 2008 at 3:08 pm #

    Here is an old one I posted a long time ago.

    2004 Madhousehold Holiday Quiz

    Even I couldn’t remember the correct answers to some of these.

  5. madhousewife December 10, 2008 at 3:09 pm #

    Okay, I was just kidding about that link. Here it is again:

    2004 Madhousehold Holiday Quiz

  6. flip flop mama December 10, 2008 at 10:29 pm #

    I found some old Christmas cards in my Christmas boxes that I bought oh I don’t know, a couple years ago cuz they were probably really cheap and stashed there. I’m sending those-despite the bad art-and throwing a crappy family picture in there and calling it good! LOL Hey I wasn’t going to do anything this year…

  7. Alison Wonderland December 10, 2008 at 11:52 pm #

    Now I feel all guilty that I have to put together some kind of letter. I don’t wanna!

  8. foofer December 11, 2008 at 8:39 am #

    I usually skip the Christmas card thing. I send a small package to everybody I REALLY like, a Christmas card to the ladies from church that I visit, and just say “Merry Christmas” to the rest of my acquaintances when I see them at church/work. Simplify, Simplify, Simplify. It keeps me from getting totally stressed out about the holidays. Usually. Newsletters are also out because I update everybody on a weekly basis with Foo’s News. I do enjoy my sisters’ newsletters, though. The kid quotes are my favorite bythelbs letters. I’ll bet I ace Sugar Daddy’s quiz this year.

  9. cheryl December 11, 2008 at 1:19 pm #

    I send over 150 cards/letters every year. This year, it’ll be emailed because 150 plus people equals money we don’t have.
    I love your letter ideas, though! Mine are boring because I have to tell everybody what we’ve done all year and there can’t be deviations from the truth. Perhaps I will get creative next year. Or not. I can’t decide right now because I’m working on 150 plus email addresses…

  10. Mother of the Wild Boys December 11, 2008 at 10:58 pm #

    Those are so awesome! I’m totally using one of your ideas next year when I write Christmas letters, since I didn’t write any this year (again), and our immediate family members are getting clearance-rack Xmas cards with a snapshot from last year. 😀

  11. kamillivanilli December 14, 2008 at 4:56 pm #

    I did not realize that I had a cameo in your 2005 Christmas letter! I am so honored. Words cannot convey…

    Always love your Christmas letters. Makes the rest of us look so lame… 🙂

Leave a Reply

