This morning

11 Dec

Getting dressed.

Me:  How ’bout you change your underwear today.

Goose:  But I like this underwear.

Me:  But here’s another pair of white ones right here.  See, now doesn’t it feel better to have fresh pannies?

Goose:  Stop saying fresh.  And pannies together.  It sounds so weird.

I’m sorry, but it’s hard to top a pair of fresh pannies.

 

At the breakfast table.

DynaGirl:  Can you cut all of my nails except this one?

Me:  Why?

DynaGirl:  Because I need it to hook stuff.

Me:  You mean to pick your nose.

DynaGirl:  Not just that.  The other day it came in handy at school and it wasn’t even for picking my nose.

Hook stuff.  Sigh.

9 Responses to “This morning”

  1. Julie December 11, 2008 at 11:27 am #

    I have to agree with DynaGirl, you need one good long one to hook stuff with…like the hard winter boogers that are so annoying.

    Speaking of boogers, Lily just came up and wiped her nose on the neck of my shirt. So what I’m sayin’ is just leave one long or else you might find yourself with snot on your shirt.

    And while I can’t argue with the delightful feeling that is a fresh pair of pannies, Goose is right – “fresh pannies” DOES sound weird. Like supple.

  2. flip flop mama December 11, 2008 at 1:55 pm #

    Okay the one long nail reminds me of this hispanic kid I knew in Junior High. He had one REALLY long pinky nail and we were always creeped out by it. Nice guy, not so nice long nail.

    I do like me a clean pair of undies. I’ve never heard anyone call them pannies–panties, yes. We call them undies or underwear.

  3. bythelbs December 11, 2008 at 2:26 pm #

    Julie—I have been a human snot rag for years. And yes, “fresh pannies” does sound weird. I’m usually an “undies” girl like flip, but occasionally pannies comes out. I blame my oldest sister, though, I’m not entirely sure she calls them “pannies”—I think it might actually be “pammies”. I just know that I cannot stand “panties”. Somehow taking out the “t” helps for me.

    Flip—One long nail IS creepy. DynaGirl relented and let me cut it. And like I told Julie, we most often call them undies or underwear. Maybe I just use pannies to bug my kids. 😉

  4. cheryl December 11, 2008 at 4:22 pm #

    I just love that she admitted she picked her nose…

  5. foofer December 12, 2008 at 9:13 am #

    One long nail can be a sign of drug use (to scoop up a bit of cocaine and snort it). Don’t ask me how I know that. I heard it from somebody — maybe my husband (amazing what you pick up while living in inner city Baltimore).

    The long nail can also be a sign of wisdom in some cultures. There was this guy at college from Malaysia that had one long pinkie nail. That’s what he said it meant. I’m pretty sure he didn’t do drugs. It certainly wouldn’t have been wise of him.

    Okay, I’m done being Cliff Claven now.

  6. madhousewife December 12, 2008 at 12:43 pm #

    “Not JUST that” = awesome

    I like how Goose is weirded out by “fresh pannies.” I’m a little weirded out myself, now that she mentions it.

  7. madhousewife December 12, 2008 at 12:48 pm #

    Why should a long pinkie nail indicate wisdom? Methinks that cat is a wise guy.

  8. Alison Wonderland December 12, 2008 at 4:59 pm #

    There is very little better than a pair of fresh pannies (or unders as we call them at my house) except for maybe fresh clean sheets. Fresh clean unders and fresh clean sheets, perfection

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. We’re all winners, just some of us maybe a little more than others « By the lbs - February 6, 2009

    […] of literary genius. And Mad, you really should thank Flip Flop Mama, as it was her comment made on this post that provided the “long pinky nail hispanic” search term in the first […]

Leave a Reply

