Lucky Seven

29 Dec

They say every good story has to have a conflict.  I guess that would explain why out of all that I’ve written about my children on this blog, I’ve had the most to say about Goose.  I hardly know what more I can say. 

The last seven years have been a roller coaster ride with squeals of delight and screams of terror, arms raised high in joy and victory, and eyes covered waiting for it to be over.  I sometimes worry that I’m spending too much of this ride covering my eyes and waiting for the end.  The thing with rides is, the end always comes before you know it, sometimes before you’re ready for it, and ultimately almost always before you want it. 

Some days I feel like I should know this ride well enough by now to anticipate the twists and turns, to look forward to them or at least ready myself for them.  And some days I do.  But there are always those other days where I’m thrown for an extra loop or maybe I just ate one too many churros before hopping through the turnstile.  That’s not the ride’s fault.  I love this ride.  In my right mind, I know no matter what I never want to get off.

Goose is seven today, and I’m determined that seven is the year I’ll figure out how to be her mom.  Or maybe she’ll figure out how to be my daughter.  Yep, seven is the year.  Lucky seven.

dscn96560001

I promise that even when I push you away, I’ll always be standing right here, waiting.  Promise me you’ll always come back.

Happy Birthday, Goose!  I love you!

9 Responses to “Lucky Seven”

  1. kamillivanilli December 30, 2008 at 8:11 am #

    Very sweet. Happy Birthday, Goose!! She’s so cute. I hope it is a lucky 7 for both of you!

    These are my thoughts exactly about mothering Wonderella. You put it so well.

  2. Susan M December 30, 2008 at 8:54 am #

    What a great post. You’re a great mom.

  3. shazza December 30, 2008 at 9:08 am #

    Wonderful post; and happy birthday!

  4. Julie December 30, 2008 at 9:48 am #

    Really, it’s going to take seven or more to figure out my Chloe & Lily? Like you said, though, I wouldn’t ever NOT want to be on the ride.

    Happy Seventh, Goose. You’ve got one great mama.

  5. Alison Wonderland December 30, 2008 at 11:04 am #

    I feel the same way about the Princess. The boys are destructive but not nearly as emotionally draining.

    Happy birthday Goose! And good luck Bythelbs!

  6. Boquinha December 30, 2008 at 2:48 pm #

    Wow, lbs. Wow. What a great post. You’ve captured it well. Beautifully written.

  7. madhousewife December 30, 2008 at 7:40 pm #

    Happy birthday, Goose! Stay away from the churros. (Both of you. 🙂 )

  8. flip flop mama December 30, 2008 at 10:25 pm #

    Happy Birthday Goose! You’ve got a great Mama!

    I hope it doesn’t take 7 years to figure out Boogers….You’d think that girls would be a cinch since we are women, but nope! LOL

  9. thewoobdog January 6, 2009 at 3:44 pm #

    I can’t BELIEVE I didn’t comment on this one. I have been such a blog/comment-slacker. Yeesh. I read it, though, and I commented in my head.

    Awesome, awesome post – your ability to express yourself so well absolutely floors and astonishes and inspires me! Happy late late birthday, Goose!

Leave a Reply

