Resolutions Shmesolutions

5 Jan

I’ve already addressed this topic.  In fact, it was my first ever blog post.  But seeing how it was my first ever blog post and I had exactly one reader back then (one super fantabuloso reader), I’m going to republish it because a) I told myself I had to start blogging again today and 2) I’m not really ready to start blogging again today. 

You would think that taking almost three weeks off would leave me with a wealth of unblogged bloggable material, and it probably has, but my mind is mushy and still trying to recover from waking at the ungodly hour of 6 am this morning.  Well, it was really more like 6:55 am, but you can’t really throw in minutes when you’re talking about hour and I still wanted credit for the waking up before 7 am thing.

Resolution Resolved

published January 29, 2008

I gave up making New Year’s Resolutions ages ago when it became apparent I wasn’t likely to ever actually successfully accomplish one.  Why continue to set myself up for failure?  I had decided that instead of making the traditional New Year’s resolutions,  I’d just wait until the end of the year and write down all of the things that I did accomplish. This is a strategy I employ with my to do lists. I’m always sure to write down the things I’ve already done, so I can check them off. Then, when I don’t get a bunch of the other things done, at least I have a few check-marks and can say, “See, I did do something! It’s right here on my list with a check-mark and everything!”

Actually, I did make one resolution.  I didn’t write it down or utter it aloud or express it in any other way where there might be potential witnesses or evidence to present should I not successfully complete said resolution.  I thought it to myself–very briefly and quietly, so as to leave room for the possibility that I never actually had the thought at all, but had merely dreamt it just in case it, like so many other well-intentioned self-promises made before, was never accomplished.  (I’m always looking for an escape hatch, plausible deniability and the like.)  “And what, pray tell,” you say, “was this secret resolution?”  To start a blog, of course.  And here it is in all of its glory.  Resolution resolved!

So a blog is born, and I am allowing myself to feel a small sense of accomplishment.  Fortunately, I only resolved to start the blog, not post on it with any set amount of frequency.  This way if I never post another post, I will still have successfully reached my goal, and if I do post another one or dozen or fifty or two hundred and fifty, I’ll have that many more little check-marks to add to my end of the year list.  It’s a win-win.

 

I am happy to report that since writing this post, I have published 229 posts, received 2,338 comments (of which I’m fairly certain not more than half originated from me), and 24,543 page views (only 7,000 of which are sock monkey related).  Success!  In fact, I’m afraid that last year’s resolution was so successful that I’ve nowhere to go from here but down.  What new goal could I possibly set that I could ever so fully and completely accomplish as last year’s?

I’ve been thinking about and struggling with this for awhile now.  What to do, what to do?  Then I had an encounter with BigHugs and Doink!–inspiration hit.

BigHugs, walking in on me coming out of the shower:  Ew, Mom.  That’s gross.  That’s gross, Mom.  I think that you should get dressed now.

Bythelbs’ Resolution for 2009

1.  Always keep the bedroom door locked until fully clothed.

 

Do you make resolutions?  Did you accomplish any last year?  Any new ones for this year?

8 Responses to “Resolutions Shmesolutions”

  1. Julie January 5, 2009 at 11:12 am #

    I made 3: do a triathlon, send birthday cards, and live in the moment with my kids. The birthday card is a redo from last year. I’ve already botched it, but maybe I’ll get better.

    Thanks for posting this again — I’d missed it. And I would have been missing some cleverness that has made my life just that much happier. Thanks.

    How many chuck norris related page views have you garnered? Garnered…that’s a big word, Julie. Thank you. I like to throw those out every now and again.

  2. Alison Wonderland January 5, 2009 at 11:34 am #

    I don’t make resolutions, we have a family tradition that we give birthday presents to Jesus on Christmas Eve every year so those are kind of like resolutions but churchy. I always keep mine. (What kind of a crappy gift giver would I be if I “gave” something and then never actually did it?) I used to forget them or make promises like, “be kinder” which are hard to quantify but last year I promised to read my scrips everyday and I did. This year I’ll be hitting the temple once a month.

    That being said, I do have goals for the year. Finishing the stupid kitchen, going on some kind of family vacation, sprinklers? (probably it will be vacation or sprinklers, not both) and some other stuff.

  3. madhousewife January 5, 2009 at 12:07 pm #

    I’m just not feeling the resolutions this year. Probably because I didn’t keep a single one of last year’s. At least I’m assuming I didn’t, because I can’t even remember what they were now, and I’m too afraid to look back and remind myself, for fear I will become depressed. Yeah, I can’t go there right now. I have a resolution to do the dishes today, and that’s about as far as I’m getting.

  4. Susan M January 5, 2009 at 12:19 pm #

    I don’t do resolutions. I’m into goal setting, but not just because it’s a new year.

    My goal last year was to get a DSLR. But first I had to get a new couch. I met both goals! It was a miracle.

  5. shazza January 5, 2009 at 1:42 pm #

    Why change something just because it’s New Years? Too random for me. Never make resolutions, absolutely know I wouldn’t keep them if I did.

    I am, however, a big proponent of putting things on my to-do list I’ve already done. I just did that, right before I came to read your blog. Yay me! I’ve done so much today, and I have the checkmarks to prove it.

  6. flip flop mama January 5, 2009 at 9:02 pm #

    I don’t make resolutions either. Although this year my goal is just to stay pregnant! I also want to go to the temple more. I just need to figure out the logistics.

  7. cheryl January 6, 2009 at 8:07 am #

    I have so many goals for this year that I decided I couldn’t write them down (for the same reasons as you?). Actually, I’m totally going with the Murphy’s Law thing. If I state them out loud, then Murphy will screw me over. If I keep them to myself, then I’ll conquer! Yes!
    At least that’s how my twisted mind works. For now. And now I must stop or I will reveal a goal, and that just wouldn’t be right…

    Btw, I’m just sad you didn’t say your biggest accomplishment for the year was getting to meet me. *sniff or Harumph. Whichever you would like to choose in this moment.
    😉

  8. thewoobdog January 6, 2009 at 3:42 pm #

    HA HA HA HA HA!!!!! (about the bedroom door thing)

    I remember that post! I remember reading it!!!! (and maybe commenting!) (way back when I began stalking you via your blog and had to go back and read ALL your posts from the very beginning… MUAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!)

    Kudos on such rollicking success!

    (and wow, that’s a lot of exclamation points for one comment)

Leave a Reply

