Down at the park

20 Jan

Getting out of the car.

BigHugs: It’s so bright, I can’t see my eyes!

Heh.  Hey, wait a minute—I can’t see my eyes either!

 

Bored.

DynaGirl: Things are always more fun when you’re little.  I wish things were still fun.

Sigh.  Me too.

 

Pre-teen insecurities.

Mr. T:  Does this swing make my butt look big?

It kind of did.

 

On the way home.

Me: So did you have fun at the park, Goose?

Goose:  Yeah.

Me:  What was your favorite part?

Goose:  I don’t know.  I think maybe the fat kid swing.*

My kids are so not PC, but they say these things guilelessly.

 

*While I do not encourage the use of such phrases, in Goose’s defense, it was a rather large bucket seat swing and we were at an elementary school playground, so in her mind 2+2=fat kid swing.  I’m thinking perhaps it was a special swing for children with disabilities as it had a seatbelt as well.

 

Happy Inauguration Day!

14 Responses to “Down at the park”

  1. Julie January 20, 2009 at 10:59 am #

    “Does this swing make my butt look big?” SO CLASSIC!

    I saw a onsie at Walmart the other day that said, “Does this diaper make my butt look big?” I thought that was funny till I heard Mr. T. He’s the coolest.

  2. madhousewife January 20, 2009 at 1:31 pm #

    Was it the fat-kid swing that made his butt look big?

    I had the same thought about things being more fun when you’re younger, when we were having all the snow. Seriously, all that snow and none of my kids wanted to play in it. I felt like I should go out there and set an example for them, but heck if I wanted to go out in it either. Le sigh.

  3. Mother of the Wild Boys January 20, 2009 at 2:57 pm #

    It’s all fun and games until someone can’t see their eyes. 😉

  4. bythelbs January 20, 2009 at 3:10 pm #

    Julie—Yeah, he’s pretty cool. In his own special way.

    Mad—No, actually, it wasn’t the fat-kid swing. It was one of those toddler swings. And I feel the same way about the snow. We did go out and play in it for an hour or so one day, and then we were done.

    Mother—You crack me up.

  5. Susan M January 20, 2009 at 4:13 pm #

    LOL. Any swing would make my butt look big. Swinging used to be my favorite thing in the world, though, next to carnivals.

  6. flip flop mama January 20, 2009 at 4:38 pm #

    Too funny! Swings make my butt look big too…

  7. Julie January 20, 2009 at 9:05 pm #

    Mr. T’s new favorite T-shirt…

    http://www.zazzle.com/cr/design/pt-shirt?dz=B275AB17-E773-4A81-85B2-61CBCBC3AE5F&tl=Untitled%20T-Shirtj

    I hope the link works…

  8. Alison Wonderland January 20, 2009 at 10:04 pm #

    Wow, things were more fun when I was a kid. le Sigh.

  9. thewoobdog January 21, 2009 at 12:13 pm #

    “DynaGirl: Things are always more fun when you’re little. I wish things were still fun.”

    So true…

  10. Boquinha January 21, 2009 at 12:29 pm #

    I love little these kind of posts. This is great stuff to document.

  11. Boquinha January 21, 2009 at 12:31 pm #

    Omigosh, Omigosh, Omigosh, I know love wordpress! It has an email notification feature for follow-up comments! OMIGOSH! YAY! I LOVE that feature.

    Not that I expect a follow-up comment to my comments all the time.

    Or even this time.

    Okay, maybe this time. Just so we can test it out.

  12. Boquinha January 21, 2009 at 12:32 pm #

    Hmph. I didn’t get one yet. Maybe I have to tick it every time?

    (I’m probably inundating all those who have already ticked it). Okay, I’ll stop.

  13. bythelbs January 21, 2009 at 12:36 pm #

    Boquinha, you’re here! I’ve missed you. I hope there have been some little rays of sunshine poking through the dark clouds.

    Also, this is a test of the e-mail follow up comment thingymajigger.

  14. Boquinha January 25, 2009 at 3:39 pm #

    Awww, thanks, lbs. It’s been up and down. I love to hear from you, though, even if the comment thingymajigger doesn’t notify me. Hmph.

Leave a Reply

