My Chuck

13 Feb

I saw this husband meme over at Susan’s and Tawnya’s blogs and figured it would give me something to post today.  Plus there’s that whole Love Day thing going on tomorrow and I kind of love my husband, so I guess it fits.

How long have you been together?
Our 15th anniversary is this May, but we’ve been together for 16 1/2 years.

How long did you know each other before you started dating?
4 or 5 days

Who asked who out?
He asked me.  We had met at a dance, but he didn’t ask for my phone number, but managed to track it down through mutual friends (it’s a long story with a lot of coincidences—some might call it fate!  Snort.)

How old are each of you?
I am 35.  He turns 40 in two weeks.

Whose siblings do/ did you see the most?
We see one of my sisters most because she lives in the same town.  When we go to visit people, it’s almost always his family, who we see about once a year.

Do you have any children together?
Boy do we have children!  Four, actually, but you know all about them.

What about pets?
We’ve had: a fish and a hamster.  If I have my way we will never have another pet.

Which situation is the hardest on you as a couple?
The first year after having a new baby has always been the hardest. 

Did you go to the same school?
High school, no.  College, yes.

Are you from the same home town?
Nope.  I’m from Oregon/California.  He’s from all over, but most recently Hawaii, Texas and Utah.

Who is the smartest?
I think he would say me because I was always a better student, but we’re both smart in different areas. I’m a writer.  He’s an engineer.

Who is the most sensitive?
Sometimes me, sometimes him.  I would say mostly him, but it’s probably really mostly me.

Where do you eat out most as a couple?
We like to go to Red Robin and split onion rings and a shake.  We also like a local Thai place and a local Italian place.

Where is the furthest you two have traveled together as a couple?
Wisconsin.  We flew there for a job interiew.  He didn’t take the job.

Who has the craziest ex’s?
I can only think of one crazy ex and it was his.

Who has the worst temper?
Me. 

Who hogs the bed?
He does.  He’s always stealing the covers too.

Who is more stubborn?
Definitely him.

Who is more jealous?
Neither one of us, although Chuck seemed kind of annoyed about my hot JW comment.

Who does the cooking?
Always me.  Unless I’m out of town by myself, which has happened exactly twice in the past 15 years.  Although, he is good about picking up take-out when things are busy or I don’t feel like cooking.

Who is more social?
I think me, though he has more Facebook friends.

Who is the neat Freak?
Unfortunately, neither one of us.  I probably care more than he does.

Who wakes up earlier?
Chuck.  He leaves for work before anyone else is up.

Where was your first date?
We went bowling.  He was hopped up on Benadryl because he had a severe, inexplicable case of hives that week.  It must have been because he was nervous about our date.

Who has the bigger family?
He does.  Chuck’s 3rd of 11.  I’m 3rd of 5.

Do you get flowers often?
That’s Chuck’s go-to gift.  I always get them for Valentine’s Day, our anniversary, Mother’s Day and my birthday, and almost always when he’s been out of town, and then sometimes just ’cause.  I think it’s sweet, but I would be OK not to get them too.

How do you spend the holidays?
With family.  Always low-key.  Just hanging out.

How long did it take to get serious?
We stopped seeing other people completely about 3 months after we started dating.  Well, I stopped seeing other people about 3 months into it, I think it was sooner for him.  He was older than me and ready to get married.  I was still 18 when we met and not looking to get married yet.

Who does the laundry?
I mostly do.  He does his own sometimes.  He would do more laundry except that I’m very particular about my laundry sorting, washing/drying temperatures, etc, and I’m worried he’ll do it wrong.

Who drives when you are together?
Almost always him. 

Is your family still growing?
In numbers?  No—that ship has sailed, sunk to the bottom of the ocean, and is now growing barnacles and stuff. 

 

Well, that’s me ‘n’ Chuck.  I more than kind of love him.  He’s a great guy, and I’m very lucky.

Happy Valentine’s Day everyone!

11 Responses to “My Chuck”

  1. Susan M February 13, 2009 at 1:36 pm #

    Cute! For some reason I really like this meme. Maybe because we all mostly talk about our kids and not so much our spouses.

  2. cheryl February 13, 2009 at 2:15 pm #

    Hooray for Chuck! He’s a fab guy and you’re both lucky to have each other. And a friend like me.
    Wait, where did that last part come from!?

  3. flip flop mama February 13, 2009 at 4:28 pm #

    So fun! I’m going to jump on the bandwagon and do this one too. 🙂

  4. amanda d February 13, 2009 at 4:44 pm #

    Unfortunately for us, neither of us is a neat freak either. Too bad. Great post. I’m with Susan M, I like it because it’s more about spouse than kids. Happy love day!

  5. madhousewife February 13, 2009 at 8:12 pm #

    I’m totally stealing this.

    I can’t believe you’ve been married 15 years. That’s crazy. That’s crazy old. 🙂

  6. kamillivanilli February 13, 2009 at 9:53 pm #

    Very nice. Chuck is a good man, indeed. And you, a good woman. How lovely.

    And I totally stole this too. Isn’t that what blogging is all about? Stealing other people’s ideas?

  7. Alison Wonderland February 14, 2009 at 12:39 pm #

    Apparently I’m not the only one who wants to steal this. But that’s not going to stop me from doing it.

  8. Boquinha February 14, 2009 at 1:48 pm #

    Um, I stole it, too. I enjoyed reading yours!! Happy love day! 🙂

  9. Mother of the Wild Boys February 15, 2009 at 12:12 am #

    Aaww! So cute!

  10. thewoobdog February 18, 2009 at 6:14 am #

    “that ship has sailed, sunk to the bottom of the ocean, and is now growing barnacles and stuff”

    BUAHAHAHAHA!!!!!! You do have a way with words!

    Think I’ll steal this and do it as an anniversary post… 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. So Happy Together « TheWoobDog’s Weblog - February 18, 2009

    […] saw this on bythelbs’ site and decided to snag it and post it since today is our anniversary and it’s all about […]

Leave a Reply

