Tired and unpostworthy

19 Feb

So last night BigHugs retired early, and after catching up on a couple of shows on the DVR I decided I would just go to bed.  It wasn’t even 11 pm yet.  As I was walking upstairs I thought, “Good honk! (Good honk is a perfectly legitimate expression.  My grandmother used to use it all the time.  She could still be using it for all I know.  Not in heaven or anything.  I mean, she’s still with us, it’s just been a couple of years since I’ve last seen her.) I might actually get like a full 8 hours of sleep tonight!”  And then the universe laughed and laughed until it peed a little.

So I went to bed at say 10:45 pm.  I tossed and turned for a good 30 minutes or so, waking Chuck who decided that would be the perfect time for a chat.  And why not?  I was already awake.  He told me tales of his Facebook adventures that night—girls that had tracked him down.  He was quick to assure me they had not aged well, and even offered to show me their profile pictures as proof.  Like I have anything to worry about.  I’m obviously all the woman Chuck will ever need.  Snort.

Then Chuck says:  I caught up on your blog tonight.

Me:  Oh yeah?

Chuck:  Did you really scrape your armpit with that thing?

Me:  Yeah, it hurt!

Chuck:  I’m sorry.  Do you want me to kiss your armpit?

Me:  Um, no thanks.  And it’s OK—it gave me something to blog about.  I’m trying to figure out how I can hurt myself tomorrow so I’ll have another post.

Chuck:  Why does your deoderant cap have those sharp things?  Mine just has a smooth disk.

Me:  I think it’s because you’re supposed to be able to grab onto it to take it off, but it’s dumb because it never works.  You always have to twist up the stick to get the thing off.

Chuck:  That’s lame.  I think I have a reserve stick in my drawer too.  Actually, I think I have three sticks: the one I’m using, a new stick, and that other one I’m allergic to.

Me:  Why did you keep the one you’re allergic to?  Doesn’t it give you a rash?

Chuck:  It’s my reserve, I guess.  I’d rather be rashy than stinky.

Me:  Can I blog about this?

Chuck:  You want to blog about this?

Me:  I don’t know.

Then I got all sleepy and turned over.  It was around midnight, I think.  Then for the next few hours I’d wake up off and on to BigHugs’ coughing.  Then around 3 am BigHugs came in and crashed out on our floor.  Only every half hour or so she’d wake me up to fix her blankets.  And then from 4-5 am she coughed and coughed.  And then at 5:20 am she woke up and asked for a drink of water because her hiccups were making her cough and a drink of wadder would make her feel bedduh.  So I went to get her a drink of water and Chuck got in the shower and then BigHugs asked if she could climb in bed with me since Daddy was gone and I said why not.  Then BigHugs got in bed with me and kept rubbing the inside of my elbow pit.  Or the outside of my elbow pit.  She wasn’t under my skin, though she may as well have been for how much it was creeping me out and driving me completely nuts.  I told her to stop touching me and then turned over.  My clock said 5:45 am.  I had one more hour until the alarm would go off.

And the rest of the morning is all a blur.  Somehow I ended up here.  And now I’m really starting to wish I had injured myself in some potentially amusing way so I’d have something actually postworthy.  But there it is.

10 Responses to “Tired and unpostworthy”

  1. madhousewife February 19, 2009 at 1:21 pm #

    I went to bed late, like after 12. And I was exhausted. Exhausted. But I didn’t sleep. I didn’t toss or turn. I was perfectly relaxed. But I didn’t sleep. I just lay there, exhausted. Until the morning. I’m still exhausted.

  2. cheryl February 19, 2009 at 1:44 pm #

    I’ve been getting more sleep this week then I have in years. At least it feels that way. And except for one trip in the middle of the night to pee (blast the pregnant bladder!), it’s been an amazing phenomenon. However, I still don’t feel rested. I still feel tired. What gives?

  3. Alison Wonderland February 19, 2009 at 2:56 pm #

    I HATE it when my kids touch me when they sleep with me. So basically I hate it when my kids sleep with me.

  4. flip flop mama February 19, 2009 at 5:45 pm #

    Blast those sleepless nights! I usually spend the last few hours of my night tossing and turning waiting for the sun to come up or that little face whisper, “mom”. Couple that with normal pregnancy exhaustion and I’m cooked for the day.

  5. Susan M February 19, 2009 at 7:54 pm #

    “And then the universe laughed and laughed until it peed a little.” Haha!

  6. Mother of the Wild Boys February 19, 2009 at 9:59 pm #

    I loved every word of this…not that I’m happy about you suffering. 😉 I just love how you make even suffering sound funny.

  7. Julie February 19, 2009 at 10:13 pm #

    A few things:
    *I don’t keep a reserve deodorant but I LOVE that you and Chuck are so in love that you have the same underarm habits.
    *I HATE when my kids touch me when I’m in bed. Hate it. They like to tickle my face or back (Stanton loves when they do this to him) and I just want to scream.
    *Loved this post.
    *Cheryl, you only get up ONCE in the night to potty? Seriously? I got up 6-8 times a night when I was pregnant and now (nearly 7 months later) still get up at least…AT LEAST once a night to do my bidness. So there.

  8. madhousewife February 20, 2009 at 11:27 am #

    Cheryl – You’re pregnant, woman! You should only be confused if you’re not tired.

    Susan – That was my favorite line, too! I forgot to quote it because I was so tired. 😛

  9. thewoobdog February 20, 2009 at 11:49 am #

    “And then the universe laughed and laughed until it peed a little.”

    BUAHAHAHAHA!!!!!

  10. cheryl February 20, 2009 at 12:06 pm #

    Julie, Julie, Julie…it’s because you had four children in four years. Of COURSE you will have some bladder problems… 😉

    mad- Good point!

Leave a Reply

