Strange pulse and awesomeness

24 Feb

No, this is not about Susan M, but it so easily could have been with this post title.

On my way home from dropping the girls off at school, I noticed my right outer thigh had this strange pulsing/throbbing thing going on.  It didn’t really feel like a muscle spasm, more like a pulsing thing, you know, like a heartbeat.  Only not like a heartbeat because it wasn’t steady, it was like all over the place with a pulse then a throb then like nothing then like multiple pulses in a row.  I stared at my thigh (as much as I could while still trying to keep one eye on the road because I was driving) and it stopped.  Then I looked up (because of the driving thing) and it started again.  I got to a stoplight and tried to look down without moving my head, real subtle like as to not tip my thigh off that I was trying to steal a glance, but it stopped.  Then I looked over to my left like I was checking out the cross traffic and quick whipped my head back to my right thigh (the classic fake out!) and my thigh totally fell for it because I saw it moving!  Like moving!  Like with a weird throbbing/pulsing/and I guess also kind of spasming movement!

That was almost an hour and a half ago, and it’s still doing it!  What is that?  I was talking to Cheryl about it on the phone and after a little confusion over whether I was talking about my eye or thigh, she told me it was fine and also NOT to google it because then I would just end up thinking I had cancer and was dying or something.  So of course I googled it and got some semi-interesting, but not at all helpful results.

I googled “pulsing thigh”, and here is what I got, in order:

Strange pulsing/throbbing in my thigh just just above knee
I have an unusual heavy pulse in my left inner thigh just above my knee for the last couple of days. It isn’t painful, but it is a little …

OK, well, it’s not my inner thigh, it’s my outer thigh, and it’s more halfway up than just above the knee.

Pulsing sensation in the v****** area and the thigh area, is this…
I have had sex 3 times in one day. Later on that n…

Um, yeah, that is not my problem.

Pulsing feeling on bum and back part of upper thighs
I am pretty small up top but heavier on bottom- after I work out I feel a strong like twitching pulsing feeling on my bum and back part of …

Again, wrong area, plus I’m 100% positive this has nothing to do with working out.

Pulsing squat thigh exercise ideal for skiers
The pulsing squat thigh is a good skiing exercise ideal for skiers due to the simulated movement.

This exercise is becoming less and less helpful.

Pulsing hematoma of the thigh as a result of a wound to an
[Pulsing hematoma of the thigh as a result of a wound to an anomalously deep femoral artery]. [Article in Russian].

Hematoma?! Dammit, I don’t read Russian!

What is a pulsating pain in the leg or thigh
what is a pulsating pain in the leg or thigh – posted in Bones, joints and muscles.

It’s not exactly painful, though it is starting to get a little achy.

ABC Homeopathy-Online Homeopathic Remedy Finder Software Tool
extremities, limbs; pain; stitching, sudden, sharp; thigh; with every pulsation. extremities, limbs; pain; stitching, sudden, sharp; foot; sole; pulsating …

Sorry, I totally don’t go for that voodoo stuff. Plus I’m pretty sure they’re just trying to sell me something.

Roasted Stuffed Chicken Thighs with Capers Recipe – Bob Chambers
Pulsing an extra chicken thigh with onion, garlic, parsley and breadcrumbs makes a supereasy stuffing.

Mmmmmm…chicken.

 

Google fails me again.  But seriously, what is that?  Should I be concerned?


And now for some awesomeness. ShazBraz’s post for today is titled Haircut 100, referencing an oft-forgotten group of 80s awesomeness. I looked them up on youtube to get my Favourite Shirts (Boy Meets Girl) and Love Plus One fix. Good, good stuff.

In the related videos column I noticed this:

There’s nothing like an 80s music video. They just don’t make them like that anymore. After seeing that little gem, I looked up this:

Not quite as fun, but still chock full o’ 80s awesomeness.  I had this album on vinyl and I remember Madhousewife and I singing along with gusto. 

Who broke my heart?
You did, you did
Bow to the target,
Blame cupid, cupid
You think you’re smart
Stupid, stupid

Shoot that poison arrow through to my heart
Shoot that poison arrow

Sigh.  Those were the days.

28 Responses to “Strange pulse and awesomeness”

  1. cheryl February 24, 2009 at 12:13 pm #

    Hey, at least it’s not cancer! And I love that you got a great chicken recipe out of it. 😉

    80’s videos definitely rock. It’s like the movies –they just don’t make ’em like they used to!

  2. shazza February 24, 2009 at 12:30 pm #

    Comment #2, in which bythelbs almost helps me with my diet:

    “mmmm…chicken…”

    I laughed so hard out loud that I blew a little snot into the last remaining bites of my butternut squash soup and had to stop eating it. Why can’t that ever happen when I’m eating a brownie?

    Love ABC. Love.

  3. tawnya February 24, 2009 at 1:02 pm #

    Oh, gosh. Don’t ask me! I AM dying of cancer / heart attack / stroke / weird random freak accident at least 20 times a day (or, you know, I have heartburn…whatever!).

  4. Evitafjord February 24, 2009 at 1:29 pm #

    Maybe it’s a thigh tic. I get a tic under my right eye when I’m tired or strung out on caffeine. It’s totally like that – if I try to look at it in the mirror, it will stop.

  5. Julie February 24, 2009 at 2:28 pm #

    I think it’s cancer.

    Not really.

    I would never think you had cancer.

    That would be really rude.

    But still….what could it be?

    And I thought Susan was guest posting when I saw your title.

  6. madhousewife February 24, 2009 at 3:11 pm #

    It’s so obvious, I can’t believe no one else has brought it up yet. Your thigh is pulsating in sympathy with your chirping smoke detector.

    Duh!

  7. madhousewife February 24, 2009 at 3:12 pm #

    P.S. ABC rocks! (In that disco-rocking sense, I mean.)

  8. foofer February 24, 2009 at 4:29 pm #

    shazza — not even snot can ruin the chocolaty goodness of a brownie. Chocolate is like love: it conquers all. Unless it isn’t your snot. Ew.

    bythelbs — I used to get that pulsating thing in my thigh after walking a lot (ie: walking home from school, shopping all day, etc.), so I’m sure it’s nothing. You’re perfectly aaaaaaaaaaaaaaagh…

    Sorry, I couldn’t resist a Monty Python reference there. It’s fine. Don’t freak.

  9. bythelbs February 24, 2009 at 4:43 pm #

    Cheryl—So true.

    Shazza—Sorry! I think if I’d gotten snot on a brownie, I’d probably just pick off the snot part and eat the rest. I know, I know.

    Tawnya—You’re a hypochondriac freak! Awesome!

    Evita—A thing tic, eh? Not very exciting. Or sexy. But better than cancer and certain death, I suppose.

    Julie—It would be rude to suggest someone might have cancer. I’m doing a little note to self on that one.

    Mad—Oh, but the chirping is gone! Chuck read the blog yesterday, and when I got back from gymnastics with Goose, all had been righted! But maybe it’s PSTD from yesterday’s chirping.

    Foofer—I’m always up for the MP reference. And I promise not to freak.

  10. flip flop mama February 24, 2009 at 8:10 pm #

    I love the the things Google came up with! Those kinds of things drive me nuts though! When you look they stop. It’s like when you have something wrong with you for like 2 weeks and you finally decide to go to the dr and by the time you get in, it’s gone.

  11. Alison Wonderland February 24, 2009 at 10:11 pm #

    I give it as my professional opinion at you’re not going to die.

    Disclaimer: If Bythelbs does die, the previous statement is in no way legally binding.

  12. bythelbs February 25, 2009 at 10:04 am #

    Flip—I know! That Dr. thing mostly happens to me with the kids.

    Alison—That is so very comforting. Thank you.

  13. Susan M February 25, 2009 at 11:25 am #

    You are so awesome. Faking out your thigh! Brilliant!

  14. Susan M February 25, 2009 at 11:28 am #

    Oh and I love those songs. I almost picked up an ABC record the other day but didn’t because it was kind of beat up.

  15. bythelbs February 25, 2009 at 11:38 am #

    Susan—I had Lexicon of Love and How to be a Zillionaire on vinyl. I got rid of all my records in a move a few years ago when I no longer had a turntable. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve regretted that since!

  16. tawnya February 25, 2009 at 3:20 pm #

    Oh, please tell my husband you think it’s awesome. I think the term he uses is “frustrating” and “annoying”!

  17. madhousewife February 25, 2009 at 3:26 pm #

    Lexicon of Love is one of the Best. Albums. Ever. Don’t tell me you haven’t replaced your vinyl with a digital copy!

  18. Melissa January 13, 2010 at 9:45 pm #

    She has asked a question she did not ask for ur rudeness and to be made fun of don’t post if ur going to be rude I have the same issue I went to the er and found I had a clot wouldn’t hurt to get it checked out good luck ignore these ignorant people

  19. Shelly January 24, 2010 at 8:50 am #

    Did you ever figure out what was going on with you leg? I have the EXACT same symptoms as you and have googled as well. Mine is in my right leg outer thigh but it has been going on for about a week…off and on. It’s this pulsing/throbbing pain and I haven’t been injured or done any form of exercise to bring this on! If you ever figured out what this was please enlighten me…I could use the help!
    Thank you!

    • bythelbs January 25, 2010 at 9:37 am #

      Sorry, Shelly, my pulsing/throbbing left as quickly and mysteriously as it appeared. I hope yours does, too. Good luck!

    • Debbie Dunn November 8, 2010 at 12:38 pm #

      did you ever figure out what was wrong with your leg? I have been having the exact same symptoms for a few days, and have been worried it’s a deep vein embolism or something. however I do have herniated and bulging disks all down my neck and spine, so is probably related to that. did yours go away and/or was it diagnosed?

      • bythelbs November 8, 2010 at 1:07 pm #

        Sorry, Debbie. Mine went away very quickly, so I never went to see a doctor about it. I hope yours mysteriously disappears too!

  20. Joe March 2, 2010 at 9:20 am #

    Funny, I found this blog when I googled for an explanation to my mysteriously throbbing thigh. I’m glad to hear the symptoms left as quickly as they came, but unfortunately reading the other results turned up by google has convinced me I’m going to fall over dead from a blood clot.

    • bythelbs March 2, 2010 at 9:25 am #

      Oh, Joe, I sure hope not!

      • 101in1001forcass June 22, 2011 at 10:07 am #

        I, too, found this via the way of the pulsing in my thigh, but mines to the right of my knee. WebMD for the win–Hoooray blood clot!

  21. Scott October 21, 2011 at 10:59 am #

    sounds like it could just be a benign fasciculation.syndrome.

  22. Helen January 15, 2013 at 8:33 pm #

    I am 14 and I am experiencing the same symptoms in my upper inner left thigh. This happens often but I don’t know why. I highly doubt it is blood clots because, well, I am 14. When I change sitting, standing, or positions lying down it seems to go away.

    • bythelbs January 16, 2013 at 2:19 pm #

      I never did figure it out, but I’m still alive so I’m chalking it up to some quirky non-threatening medical mystery! I’m sure you’re fine too, but don’t ignore any strong nagging feelings in the future should it persist. Go with your gut and be well!

Leave a Reply

