Second notice

21 Apr

Oh Jorge, Jorge.  Is there no end to your social ineptitude?

My husband received (via Facebook) a second “invitation” to contribute to the groom’s gift for the bride:

Subject: Help for my Wedding Surprise

Dear Friend,
As you may know I am getting married soon. Elektra is a wonderful young woman who is everything I’ve ever wanted. Because of my current circumstances I am unable to buy her a nice wedding gift. I am writing this to see, if possible, if a few of you can donate just $10 to us so that I can buy her something nice.

If you can, please go to (some website) and donate just $10 so that I can have something nice for her to enjoy. On the site just put in (some number) as our registry number and then using a Credit card you can donate.

I want to thank you all in advance for your generous help. You have all been great friends to Elektra and I.
Thanks,
Jorge

Sound familiar?  Yeah, basically it’s just a condensed, cut-to-the-chase version of the first e-mail.  I’m going to go out on a limb here and say he probably hasn’t had the response he’d hoped for.  He’s coming off a little desperate.  I’m halfway tempted to go to the stupid website and add $0.01 to his account, but there’s probably a minimum amount you can charge to a credit card, and there are limits to the lengths I will go to thumb my nose at someone—even someone as deserving as our friend Jorge.

I predict the next e-mail will say, “I want my ten dollars!”  We’ll never know if I’m right, though, as Chuck has had enough and unfriended him today.  I only wish he’d thought to send him a parting piece of flair:

shun-flair

14 Responses to “Second notice”

  1. shazza April 21, 2009 at 7:24 am #

    un.be.lievable. Good for Chuck for unfriending. I hope it sends a message, but I fear Jorge is beyond getting it.

    LOVE that flair.

  2. boquinha April 21, 2009 at 7:30 am #

    While I think Chuck is so smart for unfriending, I’m thinking, “Nooooooooo, don’t do that!” It’s highly entertaining stuff. I love that we can critique Jorge’s writing.

    See, this time he didn’t mention the KitchenAid or her frustration in the kitchen sans proper tools or the Honeymoon. Someone clued him in on ways to appear a bit more desperate.

  3. Kamilli Vanilli April 21, 2009 at 9:21 am #

    Good hell, Jorge!

    What a loser! I am hoping he didn’t appear quite as desperate whilst serving as a missionary.

    Like boquinha, I am somewhat saddened that Chuck defriended him. It was just starting to get good. Who knows what other requests he may have come up with? There are all sorts of Christmases, Mother’s Days, anniversaries, new babies, etc. that he surely will solicit help for.

  4. Janelle April 21, 2009 at 9:31 am #

    Like everyone said on the previous post I had no idea that engaged couples exchanged wedding gifts. I think we should put the kabosh on that right now. Weddings are so expensive, why would you want to spend more?

  5. madhousewife April 21, 2009 at 10:17 am #

    Oh, that parting flair would have been AWESOME.

    I’m not sorry to see Jorge go. There’s always another crazy farther down the line.

  6. madhousewife April 21, 2009 at 10:18 am #

    I want to tell Elektra to run far, far away.

  7. tawnya April 21, 2009 at 11:29 am #

    I’m so in love with the flair that all thoughts of douche Jorge have left my mind…

  8. tawnya April 21, 2009 at 11:30 am #

    Oh! My hubby unfriended someone the other day and had a new friend request from her in less than 12 hours. That is some something…

  9. flip flop mama April 21, 2009 at 11:35 am #

    Wow. I can’t believe he asked twice. At least he toned it down this time, but seriously, how tacky can you be??

    Like mad, I want to warn Elektra about this guy!

  10. cheryl April 22, 2009 at 7:39 am #

    Holy Hannah, Jorge! Get a clue!
    And I’m with Janelle. I didn’t get Brandon anything when we got married –Dude –he had ME. What else could he possibly need? (and vice versa, of course)
    🙂

  11. Chuck May 1, 2009 at 12:00 pm #

    If only Facebook had an option to “Publish” when you remove someone as a Friend… I would have used it! Jorge is clearly out of control here.
    I agree…Run Elektra.. Run!!!!
    .
    Sorry…there will be no more updates on Jorge from me…

  12. boquinha May 1, 2009 at 4:46 pm #

    Chuck, I’m a little bit sad about that . . .

  13. Chuck May 5, 2009 at 12:02 pm #

    Don’t worry boquinha… I have a Plethora of “Crazy” cousins that can make up for the loss of Jorge.

  14. boquinha May 19, 2009 at 8:32 pm #

    LOL! Good. Bring it on!

Leave a Reply

