Fifteen going on forever

14 May

Today is my 15th wedding anniversary. Fifteen years ago today, I made Chuck the happiest man on earth. I won’t say that I love him even more today than I did 15 years ago. I don’t even know what that means. But I will say I’ve never stopped.

Here are 15 things I love about Chuck.

1.   Early on in our marriage he volunteered to be the designated fridge-cleaner-outer, and he’s still doing it.

2.  I can always count on him to make a corny joke.  And he loves it when I roll my eyes.

3.  He often can’t remember things I’ve told him 5 minutes before, but he recalls our courtship in vivid details even I had forgotten.

4.  He takes care of all the maintenance on my car and sometimes even makes a special trip to make sure the tank is full, not because he thinks I’m incapable or that it’s his manly/husbandly duty, but just so I won’t have to bother with it.

5.  I always know when I’ve “caught” him doing something because he has a guilty smile/chuckle that gives him away every time.  He knows that I know, and he still smiles.

6.  He always compliments me and tells me I’m beautiful, even when I feel (and, let’s be honest,  look) worked over.

7.  He’s very loyal.  When I’m upset, he always takes my side—sometimes even when I’m upset with him.

8.  He still writes me love notes and makes me mix CDs, often pointing out the lyrics of special significance.

9.  He is careful with money (our finances are great), but he is not a tightwad, and if he’s ever been worried about my spending habits, he’s never let on to me.  We have never had an argument over money.

10.  Whenever he needs to go out of town, our kids are very upset and make a BIG deal over his homecoming.  That says a lot about him as a father.

11.  He always asks my opinion.love tree

12.  He sends me links and things that he thinks will make good blogging material.

13.  He would rather spend time with me than hang out with the guys, but doesn’t mind giving me a girl’s night out.  (Or at least he’s very good at pretending.)

14.  He is quick to reassure me when I doubt myself, quick to recognize my accomplishments (even if it’s just that I’ve managed to get the dishes done that day), and always without my feeling patronized or doubting his sincerity.

15.  He has a special appreciation for my particular flavor of crazy.  He must, after all, he’s still here!

Happy anniversary, Chuck!  I still love you!

22 Responses to “Fifteen going on forever”

  1. tawnya May 14, 2009 at 9:45 am #

    Aw, congrats! It does, however, sound as though our hubbies would get along famously!

  2. Kamilli Vanilli May 14, 2009 at 9:55 am #

    Happy Anniversary!!

  3. Mother of the Wild Boys May 14, 2009 at 9:59 am #

    Sweet! Happy Anniversary you nuts. 🙂

  4. Janelle May 14, 2009 at 11:24 am #

    I loved this post.

  5. Julie May 14, 2009 at 11:50 am #

    Great post. Chucks seems pretty great.

    But, um, what’s the S in Chuck’s initials on the tree?

    • bythelbs May 14, 2009 at 12:18 pm #

      Well, my initials are LBS, so naturally Chuck’s last initial would be S.

  6. shazza May 14, 2009 at 12:09 pm #

    Cool! Congrats! Hope you have a great day!

  7. Amanda D May 14, 2009 at 12:30 pm #

    Congrats! 15 years is quite an accomplishment. I hope you get to go out and celebrate!

  8. Julie May 14, 2009 at 12:32 pm #

    But then there’s the whole Chuck thing? I mean your “real” initials are LBS, right? But his aren’t CS? I’m over thinking this. Yes, yes I am.

    • bythelbs May 14, 2009 at 12:43 pm #

      Yes, but LBS is also part of my online “bythelbs” alias. Chuck’s real initial is not C. I was trying to stay consistent. Or something.

  9. madhousewife May 14, 2009 at 12:48 pm #

    Happy anniversary! I like your Chuck list very much. What a great guy you married. 🙂

  10. Susan M May 14, 2009 at 12:59 pm #

    I never caught on that your initials were LBS. Duh.

    Chuck’s a wonderful guy!

    • bythelbs May 14, 2009 at 2:47 pm #

      And here I thought I was being so clever!

  11. flip flop mama May 14, 2009 at 7:09 pm #

    Haha, I never realized your real initials were LBS either! duh…

    What a great post. Happy Anniversary!!! Wouldn’t it be fun to do a couples weekend one of these times to meet every one’s husbands?

  12. Julie May 14, 2009 at 7:29 pm #

    Well, my neurosis served at least one good purpose then.

  13. bythelbs May 14, 2009 at 7:36 pm #

    People, that is the entire reason why I am bythelbs. By the poundssssss. It’s a play on words/my initials. Written by the LBS . Why else would it be pounds instead of pound?! Sweet Frances!

  14. bythelbs May 14, 2009 at 7:37 pm #

    Oh, and thank you, Julie, for helping me clear that up. I had no idea I was so entirely misunderstood.

  15. Susan M May 14, 2009 at 7:44 pm #

    I never understood why it was plural pounds. Now I do.

  16. cheryl May 15, 2009 at 8:25 am #

    LBS isn’t your initials perfectly, you know. You’re leading them on!!

    But what I really mean to say:
    Happy Anniversary, you crazy kids!!

    ❤ you

  17. bythelbs May 15, 2009 at 8:38 am #

    How is it not my initials perfectly? I have no other initials. That I’m aware of.

  18. Julie May 15, 2009 at 9:07 pm #

    Well, besides B and T, right?

  19. boquinha May 16, 2009 at 9:00 pm #

    So misunderstood. I didn’t get it either. But now I love your blogger name even more! Very clever!!

    Oh, and lest I get totally distracted from the matter at hand . . . happy anniversary to you both!

Leave a Reply

