Speaking of…

26 May

Chuck left on another business trip this morning.  It’s a short one—he’ll be back Saturday.  When I got in the car to take the girls to school this morning, I found a new custom made CD: The Killers concert.  Chuck burned me a CD of all the songs from The Killers concert in the order that they played them.  It’s awesome.  I love it.

Speaking of Chuck and awesomeness, he’s taking me to Hawaii next month.  We’re spending four days on Maui and four on Oahu.  This is my first time to the islands, so I’m seeking a little advice.  If any of you have suggestions for can’t miss beaches, sights, activities and/or local restaurants, please share.  Dare I brave the ziplines?  Do I have to go snorkeling if I’m not exactly a strong swimmer and the thought of possible close encounters with marine wildlife gives me the free willies?  Can you see me surfing?  Is the Polynesian Cultural Center overrated or totally worth shelling out the duckets?  My inquiring mind wants to know.  And you want to tell me.

Speaking of Hawaii, I have spent the last few weeks in search of a new bathing suit.  Last week I picked up a new bathing suit for DynaGirl to try on at home.  She came up to me half-dressed with the suit somewhere around her thighs and said, “This isn’t working.”  That is my new go-to phrase for use in dressing rooms across our tri-county area.  You know, the bathing suit shopping is even more painful than the friend shopping because at least with the friend shopping you don’t have to look at your dimples in inappropriate places and your stretchmarks in inappropriate and appropriate places and all the other wrongness that is your body.

Speaking of inappropriate and wrongness, Chuck pointed out this article to me last week.  Apparently, she greets people and he DJs.  Nice.  And by nice, I mean holy hell what is the matter with this woman?!  I was originally going to devote an entire post to a discussion of this topic, but decided it wasn’t worth the effort.  Plus, it just kind of makes me want to vomit.

Speaking of wanting to vomit, we got together with my sister and her family for Memorial Day (no, this isn’t the vomit part) for a BBQ which featured foot-long polish sausages.  Yes, foot long.  And I ate one.  Or, at least, 11 1/2 inches of one (yeah, this is totally the vomit part).  I chased that down with some brocolli salad and seven layer dip and chips and strawberry/rhubarb cobbler and ice cream.  And yet I still hold out hope that somewhere there is a bathing suit out there just for me.  Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha.  Do you think Snuggie makes swimwear?

snuggie surfing

14 Responses to “Speaking of…”

  1. Kamilli Vanilli May 26, 2009 at 2:31 pm #

    Snuggie swimwear! Haha! Love it! I would buy one!

    I have to say that yes, you must go snorkeling while in Hawaii. I did not like the thoughts of doing it when I was in hawaii and was totally freaked out about it…but I did it just to satisfy my husband, and I ended up loving it. Seriously loving it. The water is so beautiful, and the fish are so beautiful. It’s just really cool. You have to at least give it a try!

    The PCC is great–you should go….and you should hit our Polynesian friends for some free/discounted tickets. They’ll totally hook you up.

    I know I’m not the person you would come to for shopping recommendations or advice, but I would recommend Eddie Bauer and Land’s End websites for swimsuit shopping. The good thing about both of them is that you can return their items to any Eddie Bauer or Sears store for easy returns…and they both have great selection. It does stink that you can’t try it on first…but I’ve had good luck with them and any returns I’ve done have been easy. And I’ve found some cute suits in their sale/clearance section too. Anyhow…just an idea….for whatever it is worth!

  2. bythelbs May 26, 2009 at 2:42 pm #

    Thank you, Kamilli. That’s very helpful information. Very worth.

  3. Julie May 26, 2009 at 3:36 pm #

    Yes to snorkeling. Yes to the PCC (it’s not something I’d do EVERY time I went to Hawaii, but you must go at least once. It is awesome). There’s a great restaurant on Waikiki called the Oceanarium. It’s inside a hotel…the Pacific Beach or something like that? Wait, here’s the website: http://www.pacificbeachhotel.com/Content.aspx?path=/Dining/OceanariumRestaurant
    On Monday and Thursday they have a king crab buffet. It’s amazing. Well, the crab is amazing…everything else is good.
    For a fun local breakfast, go to the Hukilau Cafe in Laie (same town as the PCC, so those would be a good same day thing). They only take cash and you must try their fried rice omelet. To. Die. For.
    Swimming in Laie at the beach behind the Hukilau house is great. The waves aren’t so huge that they’ll scare you, but you can body surf and ride them in. It’s great. Ask the Hukilau Cafe people for directions (it’s like a block away from there).
    I love the North Shore — Waimea, the Pipeline, Sunset Beach — they’re all amazing. The Pipeline is where the serious surfing goes on and it’s awesome. I think surf lessons are overrated, but I’ve never done them, so what do I know? I just know they don’t really take you out to actually “surf” the big waves, you more learn to balance and ride the tide in. Still cool, but I’m not sure for the cost.
    Oh, North Shore eateries: Pizza Bob’s salad is awesome. There’s a burger place across the street from them Kaina Burger or something like that? Their burgers are awesome.
    Shark’s Cove is a great snorkeling place — they have limited hours, so be sure to have a plan there. Also, it’s pretty crowded, but worth it. The scenery is amazing.
    The Haiku Gardens are beautiful. The Baiuduin Temple (totally misspelled, I’m certain) is very cool, too. Oh! And the flea market! It’s on Wednesdays and Saturdays at the Aloha Stadium. It is so so so fun!
    I don’t know Maui at all, so you’re on your own there.

    Snuggie swimwear *snort!

  4. bythelbs May 26, 2009 at 3:45 pm #

    More great tips! Thanks, Julie!

  5. cheryl May 26, 2009 at 3:54 pm #

    Just buy this: http://www.wizardpub.com/maui/maui.html.
    And this: http://www.wizardpub.com/oahu/oahu.html

    And then you will thrive! (And I’m serious, too –I haven’t been to Oahu, but the Maui and Kaui ones were our blue bibles. Seriously, they ROCK!)

    I want Snuggie swimwear!

    And teachers who marry their former students after going to jail for seducing said students are insane. Insane in the membrane!

  6. tawnya May 26, 2009 at 4:15 pm #

    I’m no Hawaii help – never been, don’t know if I’ll ever go or want to. Sorry.

    However, a) I will second your HOLY HELL. She’s just not right in the head and 2) Love the pic. I think you should totally rock the snugii.

  7. bythelbs May 26, 2009 at 5:08 pm #

    Got ’em and reading ’em, Cheryl (on your recommendation). Thanks!

    That’s OK, Tawnya. There are plenty of hot vacation spots that I have no desire to visit. HH, indeed. Indeed!

  8. madhousewife May 26, 2009 at 6:16 pm #

    LOL@ the Snuggie surfing.

    As you know, I’ve never been to Hawaii, so I have nothing to add there.

    Good luck with the swimsuits. I know there’s one out there for you! I just know it!

  9. Amanda D May 26, 2009 at 10:26 pm #

    I’m so jealous that you’re going to Hawaii. Never been there so no tips from me.

    How sweet that your husband made a cd. Ahh, romance.

    That news story is seriously disturbing. I’m surprised it wasn’t in People.

  10. Alison Wonderland May 27, 2009 at 3:35 am #

    I’ve heard of Mary Latoureno (I’m too lazy to look up the spelling) had you not? I just can’t ever decide if it’s better or worse that she married him.

    Super jealous of your Hawaii trip.

  11. bythelbs May 27, 2009 at 7:53 am #

    Mad—I want to believe!

    Amanda & Alison—Yeah, Letourneau is mostly old news (the story was done to death years ago around here since she’s from our area), but it was this whole “hot for teacher” night that I found disturbing. No shame. No shame!

  12. tawnya May 27, 2009 at 8:08 am #

    Um…I’m back. I found this in my email and thought of you! I think it’s so, so cute. But the whole swimsuit via internet = sketchy, I realize…

    https://www.downeastbasics.com/index.asp?PageAction=VIEWPROD&ProdID=536

  13. Susan M May 27, 2009 at 9:22 am #

    When I lived in Hawaii we never did any of the touristy things—I’ve never been snorkeling or to the PCC. So no help there.

    We also never ate out much, too poor…But Pizza Bob’s in the North Shore was somewhere my husband went a lot when he was a college student there. If we went anywhere, it was to Dairy Queen.

    My favorite beaches in Oahu:

    Laniloa Beach — in Laie. Also known as Bikini Beach, because it’s very secluded and the the BYU students could wear bikinis there without getting caught.
    Ewa Beach — Nice mellow, quiet beach with a view of Pearl Harbor/Waikiki.
    Kailua Beach — around the bend, where the houses are right on the beach. It feels like you’re in someone’s backyard. Just pretend it’s your backyard. 🙂

    I like the quiet, secluded beaches. I’m sure your husband will have his faves that he’ll want to go to.

  14. Janelle May 30, 2009 at 8:23 am #

    If you go to the PCC, make sure you go to the night show and luau. There is no reason to go to the PCC and not see fire dancers!

    A great place to snorkel for people who are not strong swimmers in Oahu is Hanauma Bay. It is on the Waikiki side of the island.

    I also love, love, love the gardens of Waimea Valley. It costs a lot but I really enjoyed them.

    We also went to Pearl Harbor. My husband loved it, but ummm would it be unpatriotic if I skipped it next time?

Leave a Reply

