How did I get here?

2 Jun

I was at Freddy’s last weekend, picking up this and that when I noticed they had their summer clothes on sale for 50% off.  All of my darn kids have grown since last summer (can’t this shooting up a size or two be like a bi-annual thing or something?), so I looked around for shorts for everyone. 

I picked out a few things for the girls, and then moved on to the boys section.  I looked around, and all I saw was plaid.  Plaid shorts everywhere.  Now I’m thinking these plaid shorts are pretty cute cool, but Mr. T tends to be on the more conservative side, so I wasn’t sure how he’d feel about them.  I called him up.

Me: So I’m at the store looking for shorts for you, and everything’s plaid.

Mr. T:  OK.

Me:  Are you OK with plaid?  Is that what the kids are wearing at school these days?  (Is that what the kids are wearing at school these days?!)

Mr. T:  Yeah, plaid’s fine.

And then I proceeded to describe to him the different color/stripe thickness combinations to try to get a feel for whether there was a difference between cool plaid and dork plaid because, you know, I’d like to think I’m the kind of mother who wouldn’t buy the dork plaid.  Actually, I’d like to think I’m the kind of mother who wouldn’t buy the dork plaid without any special instruction from anyone else, but frankly, I have no such confidence in myself.  I have no idea what’s cool anymore.  And did I mention I said, “Is that what the kids are wearing at school these days?”?!  No wonder my children have taken to rolling their eyes at me.

I used to roll my eyes at my mother when she whistled along to Personal Jesus on the radio (you don’t whistle to DM!), when she said words like “annual” (it’s a yearbook, Mom!), when she came home from a shopping trip with the dork plaid.  I swore to myself I would never be oldThat Mom old.  Oh, how the mighty have fallen.

Yesterday, driving in the car, I looked over at Mr. T and the slight scowl he had on his face and realized he’s doing his best to settle into that prepubescent angst I’ve been dreading since the day he was born.  I worry sometimes that he’s going to start seeing me as That Mom—the woman who has no clue, the one who doesn’t understand him (or anything else, for that matter) at all.  The next few years are going to be tough.  I’m hoping, at least every once in awhile, he’ll be able to see past That Mom whistling along to Boom Boom Pow (or whatever it is kids are listening to these days) and just let me be his mom.


 

At the dinner table.

Mr. T: Can I get a handlebar moustache?

Me:  Like at the store?

Mr. T: No, grow one.

Me: If you can grow a handlebar moustache, you can have one.

DynaGirl: Why would you ask that?

Mr. T: What?  Handlebar moustaches are awesome.

DynaGirl: No, I mean wouldn’t you just be able to decide for yourself?

Mr. T: But I might still be living at home when I grow hair.  You never know.

Maybe there’s hope for us yet.

 


 

Here’s a little bonus awesome for you:

10 Responses to “How did I get here?”

  1. foofer June 2, 2009 at 9:59 am #

    I kind of miss Freddy’s. We don’t have them here.

    Even when I do know what kids are wearing these days, that isn’t necessarily the standard by which to measure BratzBasher’s taste. She marches to her own drum. We were at Goodwill about a month or so ago, and she picked out a dress that I would never have picked out for her. Ever. It was sort of a shapeless ’80s blue thing. BUT she thought it was pretty, so I said, “What they heck. It’s only $3.” No one’s made fun of it at church.

    What’s really sad is that she’s only one size smaller than I am in the skirt/pants department. We’ve been sharing shirts for a while, too. Sigh. I guess we could be swapping our entire wardrobe in another year or two. I’m not borrowing that blue dress, though.

  2. madhousewife June 2, 2009 at 10:31 am #

    Mr. T always cracks me up. Handlebar mustache!

    I’ve always been a dork, so I’m totally hip to being the dork mom. My kids aren’t embarrassed of me yet, but they will be. Oh, they will be.

  3. Mother of the Wild Boys June 2, 2009 at 10:51 am #

    “If you can grow a handlebar moustache, you can have one.” – That might become my new motherhood mantra…’If you can grow (enter item here), you can have it!’ 😀

  4. tawnya June 2, 2009 at 12:19 pm #

    Sharon & I were shopping last week and went into a teen oriented store. After realizing the 80s had thrown up in there, we just really didn’t know what to say. I fully am expecting the “Mooooommmmmmm…..” in a few years. Esp. considering my kid works my ipod better than I do!

  5. shazza June 2, 2009 at 1:43 pm #

    Huh. I probably am a dork mom, but my boys are both nerdy enough that they don’t seem to care. I want on a field trip last week with my 12 year old and I kept quizzing him on what I should and shouldn’t do so as not to be an embarrassment and he really didn’t seem to care at all. Ask me again in a few more years with the dear daughter…I’m expecting it to be bad with her.

    And handlebar mustaches ARE cool.

  6. bythelbs June 2, 2009 at 2:31 pm #

    Foofer—Good for BB. I don’t really mind if my kids want to march to the beat of their own drums. I just don’t want to inflict my own drum on them if my drum is lame.

    Mad—Yes, I’m sure it’s just a matter of time with my kids too.

    Mother—I hadn’t thought of applying it to other things. “If you can grow that video game, you can have it.” Perfect.

    Tawnya—See, that’s why I keep questioning my own taste because I look around at what’s “in style” now and I just don’t get it. It makes me feel old.

    Shaz—Thankfully, my children still aren’t quite to the “My mom’s an embarrassment” phrase, but sometimes they think I don’t know what I’m talking about. And then there are other times when they think I know everything. Those are fleeting times, I’m sure.

  7. boquinha June 2, 2009 at 6:07 pm #

    Another great post. I’m going to keep this one simple:

    I like you. You’re a good mom. And you have cool kids.

  8. Alison Wonderland June 3, 2009 at 3:14 am #

    I have a half written (in my head) post about (sort of) the same thing

  9. Kamilli Vanilli June 3, 2009 at 7:09 am #

    Hey! You’re the hippest (not hippiest) mom ever! How many kids can say their parents went to see the Foo Fighters? or The Killers? How many parents even know who these bands are? You’re way up there on the cool mom scale!!

  10. Susan M June 3, 2009 at 9:28 am #

    You’re a super cool mom.

    My daughter laughs at me for calling her yearbook an annual.

    My youngest son hates the clothes I wear. He says they’re old lady clothes. I tell him I am an old lady.

    My oldest son hates it that I wear my hair short. He’s always telling me to grow it out.

    Face it, kids, I’m OLD.

    PS I worked with a guy who was at that Talking Heads concert.

Leave a Reply

