Signs of the end

12 Jun

Some signs of the end of the school year:

– Your kids are going to bed at 10 pm.  (It’s not even dark until 9:55 pm!)

– You’re getting kids out of bed 30 minutes before it’s time to leave for school.

– Your son is eating dry cup o’ noodles for lunch.  (We were out of lunch stuff, so I sent cup o’ noodles with Mr. T.  Apparently, they are no longer offering hot water in the middle school cafeteria, so Mr. T peeled back the styrofoam cup and gnawed on the dry noodles.  Um, ew.)

– The hot lunch options are Cook’s Choice and tuna fish sandwich.

– Your daughter comes home complaining that the special fun project time her teacher promised the class if they would finish their work quickly and quietly was sorting the classroom books.

– Your children go from students to day laborers.

– Your kids start coming home with grocery sacks (multiple sacks) full of junk school work and projects.  (Goose came home with a 3’x4′ poster of a diagram of a leaf cutter ant nursery, including 3D renderings of the eggs, larvae and fungus sections made with macaroni, pompoms and other assorted crap.  She won it in a class raffle.  Yay.  She wants to hang it in our house.  Double yay.)

School is out Tuesday.  I predict boredom and the accompanying whining and fighting sets in sometime mid-Thursday.  I’m not sure I’m ready for this.  At least I’ll be able to say, “See ya, suckahs!” on Saturday when I hop the plane for Hawaii.

Are y’all ready for this?  Any big summer plans?

10 Responses to “Signs of the end”

  1. Kathy June 12, 2009 at 10:10 am #

    Hey.. don’t feel bad for Mr. T having to eat dry ramen noodles for lunch. It’s like the yummiest secret snack food out there. But get the kind that’s shaped like a brick instead of the cup stuff. Open the pack and take the little flavor pack, that’s loaded with MSG and other sundry chemicals, and sprinkle it on top then crunch away. If it wasn’t 100% carbs and really bad for you, I’d be eating it all the time!

  2. Evitafjord June 12, 2009 at 11:12 am #

    Oh, my daughter would love to go to school in your district. She hates it that her birthday is after the school year is over. Though I think that will last exactly one more year until she realizes that summer birthdays ROCK!! We’ve been out for just over 2 weeks now – but they’ll go back on August 24th. This seems late even for the Northwest though – I graduated (in WA) on June 5th and I don’t think the underclassmen had to go back after graduation? Maybe they did.

  3. madhousewife June 12, 2009 at 12:01 pm #

    I’m not ready! Elvis just came home from his last day of kindergarten, and he’s all mine for the next three months. The humanity!

    Have fun in Hawaii! Do a little snorkeling for me. Or lei-wearing (notice I DIDN’T say “get lei’d for me”?) or hula-dancing or giant-pig-with-an-apple-stuck-in-its-mouth-roasting for me, or whatever it is you Hawaii-goers do. So long as you do it in my honor, I’ll be satisfied.

  4. bythelbs June 12, 2009 at 12:30 pm #

    Kathy—Hmmm…so I’ve been missing out, eh? He said it wasn’t too bad, just that his jaw started hurting.

    Evita—My niece graduated on the 5th this year, but everyone else had to go back to school. We were originally scheduled to get out on the 12th, but we had to add a couple of snow days. We don’t start back up until Sept. 8! Bah!

    Mad—Everything I do is in your honor. Except for the getting lei’d thing. I do that just for me. Mostly. (No, I totally didn’t just say that. You are imagining things.)

  5. boquinha June 12, 2009 at 4:55 pm #

    What kind of sorry raffle is that??

    We don’t really go through those transitions . . . it’s more of an ongoing accumulation of school projects throughout the year, we eat lunch here (or out), we already keep late hours and sleep in, and the student and day laborer thing kind of go hand in hand.

  6. Julie June 13, 2009 at 5:30 pm #

    So you’re still in school? School out for me means babysitters available in the daytime! BooYah!

    I love dry Ramen Noodles (sans flavor packet), but have never tried the cup o’ noodles-ness. I can imagine the jaw pain. But see, that for me would be a perk. I love my snacks crunchy, stale, chewy, and otherwise jaw-ache inducing.

  7. shazza June 13, 2009 at 8:40 pm #

    I hate-HATE- the deluge of paper crap that comes along with the end of school. Seriously…do I really need every single little piece of paper that ever had my daughter’s name on it during the school year…REALLY??? I just sorted through the last of it today. good riddance macaroni, pom poms and glitter!!

    James spent the last 3 days of school moving furniture and books for his science teacher who is getting a new classroom next year. He came home so sore one of the days he could barely lift his arms. I was all set to throw a mommy-rant until he said was happy for the workout and then started showing me his “guns”. Yipes!

  8. bythelbs June 13, 2009 at 9:21 pm #

    Boquinha—Her teacher was raffling off the classroom decorations from the rain forest unit they just finished up. My neighbor was complaining that her daughter came home with a paper tree. Hello, paper tree–macaroni larvae ant nursery. I rest my case.

    Julie, I’ve got a box of red vines sitting open and out to harden for you as we speak. No, not really. But I’ll get right on that.

    Amen, Shaz. Amen.

  9. Amanda D June 14, 2009 at 9:07 am #

    Close to the end of the school year I sent my son in with a bowl of spaghetti o’s and a mini bagel. The school was out of spoons so all he had to eat was a mini-bagel.

    And, I know I’m not ready. My kids have been out for four days and all ready I’m eager for September! Good luck this summer!

  10. Susan M June 15, 2009 at 8:54 am #

    I am so not ready.

Leave a Reply

