Best laid plans

22 Jul

Yesterday a friend of mine called to check up on me, as she is often so thoughtful to do, and we ended up making plans to take our children to the lake.  I resisted the idea at first because, well, that would require some effort on my part.  Some planning.  Some packing up of gear.  Some sunscreening of the children.  I figured I had already taken my kids on vacation, so I should be done with vacation-type preparations for the rest of the summer.  But then I thought about how I’d spent the last ten days holed up in my home with bored, bickering children and decided there was a slight possibility it might be worth the trouble.  For my sanity’s sake.  So we agreed to meet at my house at 11:30 am today to head to the lake, and I was grateful to have a plan for the day.

Well, last night Goose comes running in the house to fetch me because DynaGirl crashed on her bike.  She and her neighbor friend were coming around a corner from opposite directions and crashed right into each other.  I arrived at the scene to see the neighbor girl sitting on the curb, bawling with a skinned knee and her sister standing over her sobbing hysterically as if she were standing vigil over her death bead.  DynaGirl was still on the ground, bleeding from multiple places.  She had managed to skin up her right hand, left ankle (in three places), left knee (with some superficial road rash running down the length of her leg) and left palm.  Her palm actually looked pretty gnarly.  She was also complaining of a sore right pinky and a sore left elbow.

I brought her home to clean her up.  Her right hand was already starting to bruise and swell.  I couldn’t tell if her left elbow was swollen, but she couldn’t move it much before protesting in pain.  I knew then we’d be going to the doctor.  After last time, I wouldn’t dare not take her.

So no lake for us, but at least we still have plans for the day.  And we’re both showered and dressed and it’s only 9:30 am.  Every cloud…

 

P.S.  Please send your most excellent breast karma Mad’s way today.

5 Responses to “Best laid plans”

  1. Julie July 22, 2009 at 11:52 am #

    Sheesh. Well, here’s to hopin’ you get to take your mini lake getaway soon, even though you don’t really want to.

  2. Kamilli Vanilli July 22, 2009 at 4:17 pm #

    Any word on DynaGirl’s condition? Will she survive?

    Yes, I hope you get to take your lake excursion too. I just know this friend of yours will make it so worth your while! 🙂

  3. tawnya July 22, 2009 at 4:41 pm #

    Yikes! How is she?

  4. shazza July 22, 2009 at 5:21 pm #

    Oh, poor thing! and DynaGirl too…

  5. Alison Wonderland July 22, 2009 at 6:53 pm #

    Sounds like a broken elbow to me, keeping orthopedists in business since… Well, forever.

    So how is she?

Leave a Reply

