Getting there

29 Jul

Goose had cheer camp this morning, and I thought after I dropped her off I’d run a quick errand. I’m not at the high school much, so I’m not overly familiar with the roads there. I turned down one I thought would get me where I wanted to go. But it didn’t. It didn’t cut through to the street I needed, so I decided to just head a little farther north.

A little farther north is a bunch of neighborhoods, but I figured one of them would connect to the main street I was looking for. I turned down a street that kind of twisted and turned, making it difficult for me to see if it would actually go through. I saw a road off to my left that seemed to have an excessive number of speed bumps for a residential neighborhood—I took that as a sign that people had probably been using this as a thoroughfare to the main street and turned left. I was right about the excessiveness of the speed bumps (that was quite a ride), but wrong about it leading to where I wanted to go. Turn after turn only led me to dead ends, which was frustrating because don’t they usually post “dead end” or “not a through street” signs? A little warning might have been nice.

What was even more frustrating was finally getting to a street that ran parallel to the one I wanted, and still not being able to get there because they were separated by a large field with no connecting streets. For blocks. I made my way out of that residential neighborhood, annoyed with the unnecessary detours, and went even farther north until I found the street that would get me to the street I needed. Finally, I was on the right street and then the train rails came down. Sometimes you can head off the train farther down the road, but sometimes you just have to wait. So I waited. And I got to where I was going. And it was OK.

It’s still blasted hot. But that’s OK too.

 


 

Running errands.

BigHugs, getting into the car yesterday: It’s freaking hot.

BigHugs will be four on Friday.

7 Responses to “Getting there”

  1. madhousewife July 29, 2009 at 1:36 pm #

    This kind of thing always happens to me. If I have to make an impromptu decision about turning right or left or which freeway exit to take, I will invariably make THE WORST POSSIBLE CHOICE. A magical road to nowhere opens up and all thoroughfares to anywhere automatically close off. It’s a personal problem.

    Today there was some kind of glitch with the railroad signal, and north was cut off from south for several blocks. No north or south driving. For several blocks. Fortunately, we were able to get to the freeway and bypass the railroad tracks. The other poor suckers might still be there, for all I know.

    Glad you made it home.

  2. Julie July 29, 2009 at 6:36 pm #

    This is why I love the grid system. And GPS. Glad you didn’t end up in Oz.

    She’s 4 soon? What? I swear we just cyber-celebrated her 3rd birthday.

  3. tawnya July 29, 2009 at 7:34 pm #

    Well, when it’s freaking hot, it’s freaking hot and needs to be said…

  4. Susan M July 29, 2009 at 7:46 pm #

    Ha! I’m the same way as Mad. But then you guys witnessed it when we tried to find that train yard in Vegas. I was going to suggest the GPS too but our issue in Vegas was partially the GPS taking us the wrong direction! I’m sure it was user error, though.

  5. bythelbs July 29, 2009 at 8:00 pm #

    If only I had a GPS for my life. Preferably narrated by someone with a sexy accent.

  6. flip flop mama July 29, 2009 at 9:08 pm #

    BigHugs is wise beyond her years.

Leave a Reply

