Thirteen

3 Sep

Mr. T has officially reached adolescence.  Since the day he was born, I’ve looked forward to this day with the dread of a Y2K fatalist—like a countdown to destruction and our impending doom. 

I’ve spent the past several months wondering when everything will be different.  When we he lose interest in this?  When will he start refusing to do that?  When will he decide he’s too old or too cool to do the things I’m not ready for him to give up?  Or old enough or cool enough to do the things I’m not ready for him to try?

Late last night, I realized I’ve been bracing myself for the very worst.  As a general rule, my life strategy is to keep the expectations low to avoid disappointment.  But it’s not fair for me to assume everything will be a struggle.  Undoubtedly, our adventure through the teenage years will be fraught with peril, but surely the most essential talisman to carry on our journey is hope.

I woke up this morning to find the earth is still turning, the sun still shining.  Mr. T is still making me laugh and making me crazy in the usual dosages.  Come what may, he’ll still be mine.  And I’ll love him just the same.

Happy Birthday, Mr. T! 

 

IMG_1814

Good thing there’s no charge for awesomeness, or we’d never be able to afford you.

6 Responses to “Thirteen”

  1. Julie September 3, 2009 at 7:50 pm #

    Happy Birthday, Mr. T! You seem like the perfect first kid. Thanks for not charging.

  2. madhousewife September 3, 2009 at 9:03 pm #

    Good thing there’s no charge for awesomeness, or we’d never be able to afford you.

    SO. TRUE.

    Happy birthday, Mr. T!

  3. flip flop mama September 3, 2009 at 9:42 pm #

    Happy Birthday!!

  4. Alison Wonderland September 4, 2009 at 12:02 am #

    Awesome. Both you and he.

  5. boquinha September 5, 2009 at 9:40 am #

    Great post. Happy birthday!

  6. cheryl September 7, 2009 at 1:14 pm #

    Happy Birthday, Mr. T! You are a fabulous kid with an amazing wit. Hope your teen years rock!

Leave a Reply

