Life lesson #397: Sometimes looking like an idiot is the right thing to do

16 Sep

Goose started piano lessons this week.  Mr. T and DynaGirl have been taking piano for a few years now, and Goose has been anxiously awaiting her turn.  Piano lessons for three is a little pricey, but having stayed with the same teacher, we’ve at least been able to pass down the books from kid to kid.  On lesson day, I packed up the kids’ books, including the primer that Goose would be using, and sent them on their way.

When I went to pick the girls up an hour later, DynaGirl got in the car and announced that Goose had to borrow the teacher’s lesson book because I’d forgotten to pack it, and then produced a note from her teacher asking that I please send the primer for next week’s lesson.  I told DynaGirl I had sent them with the primer.  She said she looked in the bag and didn’t see it.  Mind you, this is an average sized tote containing four music books, a theory book, and the girls’ two reading books for each to pass the time during the other’s lesson, not Mary Poppins’s carpet bag in which you’d have to look behind coat racks and under armchair cushions.  There just aren’t a lot of places for a book to hide.  I opened the bag and pulled out the book.  I didn’t even have to look for it.  It practically jumped into my hand.

When we got home I told DynaGirl she should be sure to tell her teacher next lesson that I had sent the book the last time, so that she would know that I’m not the kind of idiot mother who would send her daughter to a music lesson unprepared.  Then DynaGirl said, “But I looked in the bag for the book, and my teacher even looked for the book too.  Won’t that make her look like an idiot?”  Naturally, my first thought was “better her than me”, but DynaGirl’s innocently astute and compassionate observation appealed to the better part of me—the part that is occasionally willing to look like an idiot in order to spare the beholder of my alleged idiocy the same embarrassment.  The sacrifices I make.

And I’m totally not sitting here now, two days later, still trying to figure out how I can subtly and compassionately convey my non-idiocy.  Totally.  Not.

12 Responses to “Life lesson #397: Sometimes looking like an idiot is the right thing to do”

  1. Kamilli Vanilli September 16, 2009 at 12:11 pm #

    Hate it when that happens!!

    • bythelbs September 16, 2009 at 6:34 pm #

      Thank you! If it’s any consolation, I have never once thought you were an idiot. Accidentally or otherwise.

  2. cheryl September 16, 2009 at 1:35 pm #

    You should just give her your blog address. Then she’ll know!

    • bythelbs September 16, 2009 at 6:34 pm #

      Yeah, because reading this blog will totally make me look normal and NON-idiotic. Snort.

  3. Julie September 16, 2009 at 1:57 pm #

    Of course not.

    • bythelbs September 16, 2009 at 6:35 pm #

      I can see we understand each other.

  4. Alison Wonderland September 16, 2009 at 4:05 pm #

    I think you worry too much. I look like an idiot all the time (and perfectly legitimately too, because I’ve actually done something idiotic) and it hasn’t hurt me.

    (Although now that I think about it I think that it’s a lot worse to look like an idiot when it’s not deserved than when it is.)

    • bythelbs September 16, 2009 at 6:32 pm #

      Part of what irks me about it is that she had mentioned sending the book in an e-mail when we were setting up the lessons, so it looks like she had to remind me AGAIN. But yes, I worry too much. And no, it doesn’t really matter. Except that I prefer my perceived idiocy/flakiness to be legitimately earned.

  5. boquinha September 16, 2009 at 6:17 pm #

    Oh yes you are. You so totally are.

  6. boquinha September 16, 2009 at 6:36 pm #

    “Except that I prefer my perceived idiocy/flakiness to be legitimately earned.”

    Such a fair statement really.

  7. madhousewife September 17, 2009 at 9:06 am #

    My perceived idiocy and flakiness are always legitimately earned. I don’t know when I stopped being competent and reliable, but it’s all a distant dream now. I spend all my time trying to come up with new ways to apologize for being a flakin’ idiot.

Leave a Reply

