There really is something very wrong with me

17 Sep

Tuesday night was supposed to be curriculum night for DynaGirl’s class.  I’ve never been invited to a curriculum night at any of my children’s schools before, so I didn’t know exactly what such an event would entail, but from what I could gather you go sit in your child’s classroom and listen to her teacher tell you what they’re going to be learning that year. 

In theory, this sounds like something I would want to attend (or, at least, should want to attend–I mean, my neighbor AND her husband were planning to attend for their child), but Tuesday night also happens to be a night when Chuck, Mr. T and DynaGirl are gone at church activities, so I would have no one to watch the younger girls, and the invitation clearly stated this was a parents only activity.  Of course, I could have tried to arrange for a babysitter, but as every parent knows, there are babysitter worthy activites and non-babysitter worthy activities, and I guess for me curriculum night falls into the latter category. 

That almost sounds as if my child’s education isn’t a top priority.  Well, if it makes you feel any better, I must have been feeling somewhat guilty and conflicted about that because when the school called Tuesday morning and left a message that DynaGirl’s teacher wouldn’t be holding curriculum night for her class because she had had a death in the family, I said (out loud), “Awesome!”

See, I never would have felt so relieved about it being cancelled if I wasn’t feeling bad about choosing not to go.  Isn’t it reassuring to know that I have a conscience?

8 Responses to “There really is something very wrong with me”

  1. Mother of the Wild Boys September 17, 2009 at 12:41 pm #

    I laughed out loud at your “Awesome!”….I’m still laughing now in fact. ;D

  2. Julie September 17, 2009 at 1:15 pm #

    So so so incredibly “awesome.” And yes, there is, in fact, something wrong with you…very wrong.
    Oh, who am I kidding? There’s nothing wrong with you that isn’t wrong with the rest of us.

  3. Kamilli Vanilli September 17, 2009 at 1:54 pm #

    I am totally with you on the non-babysitter worthy activities. This was clearly not worthy of a babysitter. Clearly.
    If curriculum nights were so important, wouldn’t all schools have them? Just the fact that your previous schools never had one should tell you that they aren’t necessary. Your children turned out just fine without one, right? No guilt necessary!

  4. madhousewife September 17, 2009 at 1:56 pm #

    For a minute I thought that you said “Awesome!” live on the phone to the person giving you the message, and I was horrified. Then I realized you were just saying “Awesome!” to the machine, and my horror was dispersed.

  5. flip flop mama September 17, 2009 at 5:00 pm #

    YouTou are such a terrible person. Ha! Who am I kidding? I would have totally been relieved too!

  6. Alison Wonderland September 18, 2009 at 4:54 pm #

    I thought you did say awesome to a person. I’m actually a little disappointed that it was just the machine.

  7. Patience September 19, 2009 at 7:31 am #

    I thought you were going to say that baby-sitters are hard to find at the last minute, so it was a funny surprise to learn about activities that are not worthy of babysitters. You’re right about that. One of my many, many pet peeves is schools that are hostile to younger siblings or to parents bringing kids to school events.

  8. Amanda D September 25, 2009 at 4:29 pm #

    I’m with you on the baby-sitter-worthy-activity thing. I ONLY pay a sitter if it is going to be something fun.

Leave a Reply

