Midnight epiphanies

16 Oct

I’ve been taking the week off.  Apparently.

I’m tired.  I stayed up way too late last night.  I realized as I was finally dragging myself up the stairs to go to bed that I had been avoiding going to bed because of what comes next.  (No, not that.  Or that.)  You go to bed and then the next thing you know it’s time to get up.  You have to get up and do stuff, like get kids ready for school and make lunches and clean the house for the 7 year old that’s going to be coming over for a play date in the afternoon.

While I was brushing my teeth for bed, I was wondering what the kids would want in their lunches.  I’m not exactly sure why this thought popped into my head.  Believe me, I don’t spend excessive amounts of time (and by excessive, I mean any) worrying about what my kids are going to eat for lunch.  But I wondered if Mr. T was going to want another cup o’ noodles.  He’s been taking chicken flavor cup o’ noodles pretty much every day for the past month or so.  You’d think he’d be sick of the cup o’noodles by now, but apparently not.

He’s like his father that way, I guess.  Chuck gets chicken teriyaki every Tuesday with his coworkers.  They even call it Teriyaki Tuesday.  He’s always sure to have the correct change in his wallet the night before, so he won’t miss out on Teriyaki Tuesday.  (Apparently, the Teriyaki Tuesday Master does not make change.)  Not only does he eat chicken teriyaki every Tuesday, he always has leftovers that he sticks in the fridge for Wednesday.  So he’s eating chicken teriyaki every Tuesday and every Wednesday.  He’s been doing this for years.

Occasionally we get take-out on the weekends.  Sometimes he suggests getting chicken teriyaki.  I remind him that he’s already had chicken teriyaki twice during the week and question why he would want to have that yet again.  He insists that he loves chicken teriyaki and will never get tired of it.  This makes no sense to me.  For a while I was giving him a hard time about it.  He would not be swayed.  I finally gave up.  Who was I to come between a man and his chicken teriyaki? 

Last night, as I was brushing my teeth and thinking about Mr. T and his chicken flavor cup o’noodles and Chuck and his (presumably) chicken flavor chicken teriyaki, it struck me: in Chuck’s life, I am his chicken teriyaki.  It seems unwise to try to convince him that any man in his right mind would be sick of the chicken teriyaki by now.  I should be grateful that he’s still enamored of his chicken teriyaki and not try to encourage him to go for the prime rib or something.  This pasture’s plenty green.

14 Responses to “Midnight epiphanies”

  1. cheryl October 16, 2009 at 12:34 pm #

    Amen! I like your epiphany. I wonder what I am in Brandon’s life. His jalapeno peppers, perhaps? Hmmm….

    Now the question remains: What is Chuck in YOUR life??

  2. tawnya October 16, 2009 at 12:51 pm #

    I’m Isaac’s, er…um…bad habit? I got nothing…

    I can have a sweet pork salad from Costa Vida several times a week and never tire. Mmmmmm…..

  3. madhousewife October 16, 2009 at 2:16 pm #

    SD must be my pizza.

    I’m SD’s sushi. I don’t know what he sees in it, and even when it makes him sick, he never gets sick OF it.

  4. flip flop mama October 17, 2009 at 2:41 am #

    Awww. I think I must be t-Bone’s spaghetti or breakfast cereal. He loves the stuff. He’s my taco shop bean and cheese burrito though. 🙂

  5. boquinha October 17, 2009 at 8:51 am #

    For some reason, your paragraph on Chuck and his Chicken Teriyaki reads in my mind like a Frasier scene and Daphne Moon is recounting a story. Why is that?

  6. patience October 18, 2009 at 11:33 am #

    Cup o’ noodles! Where does he get the hot water? Thanks for giving me a new lunch idea 😉

    • bythelbs October 18, 2009 at 4:58 pm #

      They have a hot water dispenser in the cafeteria at his school. Towards the end of the school year last year, the hot water disappeared on a day Mr. T happened to have brought cup o’noodles. He stuck them on a fork and ate them raw in all their cup-shaped crunchy glory. Yuck.

  7. bythelbs October 18, 2009 at 5:07 pm #

    Cheryl—That’s a good question.

    Tawnya—If that’s anything like the sweet pork salad I get at Bajio, then I’m with you.

    Mad—Your comment reminds me of my original last line to this post. “This pasture’s plenty green. Must be all the manure.”

    Flip—“You’re my taco shop bean and cheese burrito.” That’s quite possibly the most romantic thing I’ve ever heard.

    Boquinha—Must be the accent.

  8. Julie October 20, 2009 at 3:08 pm #

    If you like the salads at Bajio and Costa Vida, I dare say you’d wet your pants at the goodness that is Cafe Rio.

    And I can’t think of one food that Stanton never gets sick of. Crap.

    • bythelbs October 20, 2009 at 3:16 pm #

      I keep hearing tales of Cafe Rio, but have yet to experience it myself. Someday…

      This is an imperfect analogy because while Chuck never gets sick of chicken teriyaki, he’s sampling plenty of other stuff on the side. So…

  9. tawnya October 20, 2009 at 3:10 pm #

    I prefer Costa Vida, sad to say…I heard they’re fairly identical, though.

    • bythelbs October 20, 2009 at 3:17 pm #

      Well, I’ll just pretend I have the best that I can get since it doesn’t do me any good to want something I cannot have. And I’m strictly talking restaurants and sweet pork salads here.

  10. boquinha October 20, 2009 at 7:16 pm #

    By the way, I totally thought of this, too, with this post: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Y-FH-nhuSc&feature=related

    You’re shocked. I know.

    • bythelbs October 20, 2009 at 8:46 pm #

      We use that line all the time! Along with a billion other Friends quotes.

Leave a Reply

