Diseased and Confused

6 Nov

I don’t know what is going on with my face, but I’ve developed these dry patches on both eyelids, around the corners of my mouth and all along my jaw line.  I haven’t been using any different products or eaten anything different lately or done anything else I can think of to warrant this kind of facial sloughery.  I moisturize multiple times a day.  It’s not helping.  And now my neck itches.  Woe is me!

Yesterday, while I was in the shower I had the chorus to DM’s Shake the Disease stuck on repeat in my head.  But I’d only get as far as:

Here is a plea
from my heart to you
nobody knows me
as well as you do

And then I would switch to Phil Collins’ Against All Odds:

But to wait for you is all I can do
and that’s what I’ve got to face

It was like one of those mash-ups they do on Glee where they take two songs that seem to be completely unrelated and meld them into one. So I was on this repeat cycle of:

Here is a plea
from my heart to you
nobody knows me
as well as you do
But to wait for you is all I can do
and that’s what I’ve got to face

And for the life of me I couldn’t get out of it.  Maddening, I tell you.  Maddening!

What songs would you like to see mashed up?

6 Responses to “Diseased and Confused”

  1. Evitafjord November 6, 2009 at 12:05 pm #

    I’ve got nothing right now, but thanks for brightening my day with a little DM. I ❤ DM even still.

  2. cheryl November 6, 2009 at 12:27 pm #

    Mashups are awesome. Here are some:

    “She moves in Mysterious Ways” by U2 and “21 Guns” by Greenday. Cool.

    Or

    “Popcorn Popping on the Apricot Tree” and “Hella Good” by No Doubt.

    Or

    “Live Like You’re Dying” by Kris Allen and “Come Together” by the Beatles, but sung by Carly Smithson.

    Or

    “Valse Brillante” by Chopin and “Sonata Pathetique” by Beethoven.

    This rocks!

  3. shazbraz November 6, 2009 at 1:14 pm #

    so weird…I was reading this in google reader and the whole time thinking it was Tawnya, so I was going to say you probably had eczema from moving back to Utah, then your comments didn’t look right and I got all confused and it took me a disturbing amount of time to figure out what was going on. I may need a nap.

    I love Shake the Disease as covered by Hooverphonic.

  4. tawnya November 6, 2009 at 2:09 pm #

    Poor Shaz! Definitely go for that nap. Here in a few weeks you’ll have keys to a completely empty house…want me to leave a pillow and blanket here for you?

    1. I love Shake the Disease so very much.
    2. I see it’s from a Depeche Mode weekend. Why does VH1 have to suck so much now? I want a DM weekend…
    3. I missed Glee this week. Sucky baseball.
    4. DM looks so stinking young in this video! Dave Gahan is much sexier now…
    5. I am bad at the mashup question. I got nuthin.

  5. madhousewife November 6, 2009 at 6:21 pm #

    I mash up songs in my head all the time–unintentionally, because I can’t remember how the rest of the song goes and I start singing another song that isn’t the song I’m trying to remember–but of course I can’t think of any of these now that you’ve asked.

    That is weird about your face. I don’t like dry patches! I hope you are remoisturized soon.

  6. Julie November 6, 2009 at 8:54 pm #

    Whenever I watch those mashups on Glee, I think — why didn’t I think of that?

    I’m thinking that right now.

    Oh, and Gee, Ricky, sorry your mom blew up, I mean, that your face is all patchy.

Leave a Reply

