Only in my dreams

17 Nov

So the other night I had this dream that was so bizarre that I felt compelled to write it all down when I woke up.

I was taking a road trip with three other gals in a car.  I didn’t recognize them.  Well, in my dream I must have known them, but I can’t think of who they would be in real life.  The girl driving the car was lesbian.  I had a very distinct feeling she was interested in me.  Very interested.  There were two more girls in back.  I don’t know what their “interests” were.  I was sitting in the front passenger seat with bags of leftover Halloween candy on the floor.  I remember thinking we were almost out of the good stuff, so I was glad that the bags were by me.  We were driving down the road at night.

I don’t know where we were planning to go, but the friend driving (who I was pretty sure was crushing on me–majorly crushing) had to make a stop along the way to return her Halloween costume.  She had been a sexy pirate wench, but when we got to the costume place, the costume she returned was not a sexy pirate wench.  It was a flesh colored furry body suit with a hat/mask that looked like the guy from Fat Albert who had the long stocking cap pulled over most of his head, only instead of being a stocking cap, it looked like it was made out of banana peels.  The dude at the costume place was trying to pick up on her, which I thought was funny since she was a lesbian and totally not interested, if you know what I mean.

As we were walking back to the car from the costume place, I was trying to decide how I should tell my lesbian friend I did not return her feelings.  I did not want to embarrass her in front of our other two friends, but I wasn’t sure how wise it would be to ask to be with her alone.  I didn’t want to give her the wrong idea or false hope or anything.  I wanted to let her down easy so we could still be friends.  For some reason, it was taking us a long time to walk back to our car.  We had to go up a flight of stairs and through a field.  While walking through the field, I spotted a small, ceramic house sitting on the ground.  I pointed at it and said, “Oh look!”  My friends all stopped to look, but I kept walking.

When I finally got to the car, it was parked in some kind of RV campground with RVs and trailers and stuff.  I caught an Asian girl burying the tires of our car in dirt.  I thought, “What the?”  I mean, what the H was she doing burying our car tires??  It looked like the car was up on some kind of embankment, and I decided I needed to pull it down so we could get out of there.

I unburied the tires then got down from the embankment to pull the car down from behind.  Only when I started pulling the car down, it was no longer a car, but a picnic table (like others scattered around this RV campground) covered with art projects and little tubs of paint and paint brushes.  This eccentric, middle-aged artist-type lady came up to me and said that our little tubs of paint were inadequate to finish our art projects, but that she had some in her trailer that she would gladly let us use.

I followed her into her trailer and she went into another room while I looked around.  She had a shelf of stuffed animals she had made out of yarn pom poms.  I leaned in to admire one particularly life-like siamese cat yarn pom pom stuffed animal and was just about to tell the eccentric middle-aged artist lady how impressed I was with her handiwork, when the cat suddenly jumped out, scaring the crap out of me.

Then I woke up.

What could it mean?  Do I want to take a road trip?  Dress up as a furry banana peel head next Halloween?  Become an artist?

Do I subconsciously distrust Asians?

Could I be a lesbian??  Not that there’s anything wrong with that.

What are you dreaming of lately?

13 Responses to “Only in my dreams”

  1. flip flop mama November 17, 2009 at 1:36 pm #

    Wow that is one wacky dream. I love your illustrations. Last night I dreamed that I was watching my brother and his friends at a Weezer concert. I can’t remember much about it right now.

  2. Mother of the Wild Boys November 17, 2009 at 2:03 pm #

    Your dream sequence posts are awesome! Weird, but awesome. 🙂

  3. Kamilli Vanilli November 17, 2009 at 4:05 pm #

    I am amazed at the level of detail you remember in your dreams. I’m lucky if I remember anything at all. It’s probably better that way.

    You want to take a road trip. That is it. And we lady friends shall join you. With Halloween candy. But I assure you, I am not the lesbian friend in the car. No crushing here. Not that I wouldn’t crush on you if I were a lesbian. And single. You’re totally crushable.

  4. Evitafjord November 17, 2009 at 4:43 pm #

    I can’t interpret the dream, but you have me humming Debbie Gibson.

  5. bythelbs November 17, 2009 at 5:25 pm #

    Flip—I pretty much always forget my dreams. Even the way-out wacky ones that I think I can’t help but remember. But I made notes about this one to bring it to my recollection. I wish I had a dream journal of all the dreams I’ve ever dreamt. Well, maybe not ALL of them. Maybe I’ll have to start one. A censored one.

    Mother—Thanks. Weird and awesome work for me.

    Kamilli—Um, right back at you. And if you were my lesbian crush, I would not take you to Applebee’s and sit on the same side of the booth as you and lean into your personal space. I might open the car door for you after dinner, though.

    Evita—I’m sorry!

  6. cheryl November 17, 2009 at 5:27 pm #

    I’ve been having such wacky and crazy dreams that I don’t bother to remember them anymore. However, I may need to write them down and have you be my illustrator. I bow to your greatness!

  7. madhousewife November 17, 2009 at 5:31 pm #

    I want to hire you as my blog illustrator.

    I had a dream the other night that I was trying to quilt something on a waterbed. Like, I was quilting a quilt while it was on a waterbed. It takes a lot of concentration and care, let me tell you. And I kept losing the needles. My kids’ babysitter was there and kept saying, “Uh oh! You don’t want to lose that needle in a waterbed–you’ll be sorry later!” And I was like, “Yes, thank you, I know,” and thinking, “Duh, maybe you could help me instead of telling me all this obvious stuff.”

    Illustrate that!

  8. Julie November 18, 2009 at 12:55 am #

    Waterbed quilting could maybe be an Olympic sport.

    I love your illustrations. They really take the story to a Ho. Nuva. Levo.

    Also, if I make a no-lesbian crush guarantee, may I be invited on the road trip?

  9. tawnya November 18, 2009 at 3:31 pm #

    May you always illustrate your dreams…

  10. foo4luv November 19, 2009 at 7:49 am #

    My favorite part is the labels on the illustrations. Just in case we couldn’t interpret your scribbles. I particularly like “2 other girls of unknown sexual orientation”.

  11. boquinha November 22, 2009 at 11:29 am #

    Ditto foo. (Read that out of context!).

    I like the one of you scared crapless. Though I think it looks and awful lot like you when you’re full of crap.

    That didn’t sound right, but hopefully you know what I mean.

    • bythelbs November 23, 2009 at 11:10 am #

      Oh, I know what you mean all right.

  12. bythelbs November 23, 2009 at 11:12 am #

    Julie—Of course.

    Tawnya—Thanks.

    Foo—I like to be clear.

Leave a Reply

