Bad candy

18 Dec

I told myself I would not be buying any holiday candy this year because I just don’t need that kind of temptation.  But I was in need of a little sumthin-sumthin to fill out the teacher gift bags, so I picked up a bag of Hershey’s Bliss Creme de Menthe Meltaway Centers.

Normally, I enjoy the menthe.  Those little Andes mints they bring you with the check at Olive Garden?  My favorite part of the meal.  So I popped one of those babies into my mouth fully anticipating minty goodness.  Not so, my friends.  Not so.  Blech.  Blickety-blech. 

These were not bliss.  They were like the opposite of bliss, which would be what?  Sorrow?  Unhappiness?  Misery?  Yes, misery.  These are misery mints.

Guaranteed to hobble your tastebuds.

I personally recommend you not go there, though a quick search on the internets revealed quite a few people who would disagree with me (see link above), so maybe it’s just me.  At least I hope so because I still gifted them to all of the girls’ teachers.

8 Responses to “Bad candy”

  1. madhousewife December 18, 2009 at 2:06 pm #

    Thanks for the warning. I’m not usually a fan of mint mixed with chocolate, EXCEPT for Andes mints, which are divine. And Thin Mints, which are also divine. But it’s good to know that Hershey’s Misery Mints are not worth expanding my horizons for.

  2. madhousewife December 18, 2009 at 2:07 pm #

    BTW, I love that you still gave them to the girls’ teachers, which is totally what I would have done, too. Because it’s the thought that counts. If you don’t think too hard about it.

  3. tawnya December 18, 2009 at 2:12 pm #

    Oh, sad. Very sad.

  4. Mother of the Wild Boys December 18, 2009 at 2:46 pm #

    Best repackaging idea EVER!

  5. flip flop mama December 18, 2009 at 4:05 pm #

    Thanks for the tip. I’ll steer clear of the Misery Mints! I’ll take chocolate and peanut butter instead.

  6. foo4luv December 18, 2009 at 9:19 pm #

    I’d be more likely to purchase “Misery” mints than the “Bliss” ones. That package is awesome. Did you sign the cards as their “biggest fan”?

    I would’ve gifted them, too. For all you know, they hate mint, or are allergic to chocolate. All sorts of things could be wrong with a present. It is the thought that counts. And the blog material. Mustn’t forget that.

  7. merkin4 December 19, 2009 at 5:51 pm #

    From one of my favorite stores, here are a few more mints to go with your Christmas joy.

    http://www.mcphee.com/shop/categories/Candy-/

    Including Bacon Mints, Brain-Flavored Zombie Mints, Nilhist Mints (don’t taste like anything), Absinthe Mints, Death Mints, Corn Dog Mints, Fruitcake Mints, Garlic Mints, Last Supper After Dinner Mints (with Jesus! on the tin), Monkey Mints, Onion Ring Mints, Ranch Mints, Pirate Mints (taste like grog)….

    They have a store there in Seattle, perhaps you could take my daughter there while she’s in town? Many thanks…..

  8. Patience December 23, 2009 at 6:01 pm #

    OMGOSH, that is so funny that you gave them to your daughters’ teachers. If they get bad grades on their next report cards, these might be the reason why.

Leave a Reply

