What I’m listening to

28 Jan

DynaGirl gave me Paramore’s latest album, Brand New Eyes, for my birthday last month, and I have to admit I like it.  I like it quite a bit, actually.

My two favorite tracks are at the end of the cd.  “Misguided Ghosts” is a pretty little melancholy number with that cool scratchy, squeaky guitar string action that I find so appealing, for some reason.

{Verse 1}
I am going away for a while
But I’ll be back, don’t try and follow me
‘Cause I’ll return as soon as possible
See I’m trying to find my place
and it might not be here where I feel safe
We all learn to make mistakes

{Chorus}
And run
From them, from them
With no direction
We’ll run from them, from them
With no conviction

‘Cause I’m just one of those ghosts
Traveling endlessly
Don’t need no roads
In fact they follow me

And we just go in circles

{Verse 2}
Now I’m told that this is life
And pain is just a simple compromise
So we can get what we want out of it
Would someone care to classify
Our broken hearts and twisted minds
So I can find someone to rely on

{Chorus}
And run
To them, to them
Full speed ahead
Oh you are not useless
We are just

Misguided ghosts
Traveling endlessly
The ones we trusted the most
Pushed us far away
And there’s no one road
We should not be the same
But I’m just a ghost
And still they echo me

They echo me in circles

“All I Wanted” is a little angry.  I’m digging the anger.

Anyway, say what you will about Paramore, but there’s some good, fun stuff on this cd.

1. careful
2. ignorance
3. playing god
4. brick by boring brick *This is my girls’ favorite–I think it’s the ba da ba ba da ba ba’s.
5. turn it off
6. the only exception *BigHugs likes this one–I think because she can sing the whole chorus.
7. feeling sorry
8. looking up
9. where the lines overlap
10. misguided ghosts
11. all i wanted

6 Responses to “What I’m listening to”

  1. tawnya January 28, 2010 at 7:31 am #

    Hey! I just used a paramore song on my blog this morning. Funny!

  2. foo4luv January 28, 2010 at 8:55 am #

    I’m listening to “Misguided Ghosts” right now and loving it.
    I think we like the squeaky guitar string action because it sounds live and more intimate.

  3. Mother of the Wild Boys January 28, 2010 at 11:15 am #

    You (and DynaGirl) have such good taste in music.

  4. shazbraz January 28, 2010 at 12:09 pm #

    I like Paramore. I heard the tale end of their Unplugged the other day and LOVED it.

  5. MaryAnn February 5, 2010 at 2:05 pm #

    Just listened and LOVE it – must go get…

    • bythelbs February 5, 2010 at 2:45 pm #

      I can listen to this whole CD straight through, which I can’t say of a lot of CDs. They’re coming to Seattle in May–looks like we’re going. Yay!

Leave a Reply

