This, that and the other

5 Feb

*Last night the school district had their awards for the annual PTA Reflections contest.  DynaGirl and Goose both came home with second place ribbons for their paintings.  They had photography entries as well, but didn’t place.  The theme this year was “Beauty is…”.  

DynaGirl’s painting:

Goose’s:

One of the photography entries from the senior category (high school students) was a black and white shot of assorted prescription drug bottles.  He took 2nd place.  I’d really like to have known the back story on that one.

*Does anyone else think this is stupid?  Why would babies need to know how to read?  And why would we want them to anyway?  One of the saddest days in the life of a parent is when you can no longer spell out things in front of the children to keep them from knowing what you’re talking about. 

*Paramore is coming to Seattle in May and DynaGirl really wants to go.  She’s 10.  Is that old enough to take her to a concert?  On a school night?  Can I take her without taking Goose (she’s 8)?  Should I just take them both?  Decisions, decisions.

*A couple nights ago I was getting after Mr. T to go upstairs and finish his homework while I was making dinner.  I turned my back to him to pull some things out of the fridge.

Mr. T, making fake stomping/walking noises: OK, I’m going, I’m going.

Me, not turning around: I know you’re still there.

DynaGirl: Yeah, Mr. T.  She’s not THAT stupid.

*Wednesday night I stayed up late watching Nights in Rodanthe.  I don’t know why I would do such a thing.  I’ve never had any desire to see this movie (I mostly hate Nicholas Sparks’ work), but it was on, so I watched it.  And it was dumb.  Like really, really dumb.  Do not watch this movie.  Total waste of time.  OK, don’t say I didn’t warn you.

*Big weekend ahead.  I’ll tell you about it Monday.  How about you?

20 Responses to “This, that and the other”

  1. cheryl February 5, 2010 at 11:46 am #

    Those paintings are fabulous!
    Prescription drugs?? Not beautiful in my book. Well, maybe my asthma meds. Okay, I kind of get it.

    Babies reading is just stupid. STOO-PID. I knew one day it would come to this, though. First kids could learn to read in 1st grade. Then Kindergarten. Then preschool. Now as babies. Well, heck! Let’s just teach them in the womb!
    Or at conception! Yes! Then they will be so smart!

    Paramore is coming to SLC, too! I thought about you when I heard…I would say maybe DynaGirl. Maybe. Is Paramoure clean in their concert-givings?

    Nicholas Sparks was okay once.

    Good luck with the weekend!

  2. Evitafjord February 5, 2010 at 12:27 pm #

    *Very, very nice.
    *Yes.
    *I would probably take her. In my house, if it were Wicked and we could only go on a school night, I would take the 12yo and the 9yo and then I really would have to take the 7yo because of her great fondness for it too. IDK if Wicked compares, except in lateness of night.
    *No comment.
    *I knew that I loved you for some reason. I’ll admit I’ve never really, really tried Nicholas Sparks though. I can just tell it’s not my cup o’ tea.
    *Ward Valentine Social tonight. The spouse and I were asked to write love poems to each other and READ THEM OUT LOUD to the whole ward (or at least the 12 people who will show up). Sadly, both boys have bronchitis. Darn it.

  3. bythelbs February 5, 2010 at 12:41 pm #

    Cheryl—Paramore is a clean band, and the opening act is Relient K, which is a Christian Rock band, so I feel pretty confident that it would be safe language-wise. Thanks for the luck wishes.

    Evita—I took my 10yo to see Wicked and she loved it. It was a school night even. I’ve never actually read anything by Sparks–I’ve only seen a few of the movies. So perhaps it’s not a fair assessment, only I’m pretty sure it is. How awesome would it be to be in your ward?? *snort* Actually, it sounds like a classic ward moment in the making–I’m sorry you’ll be missing it. It could be kind of fun, but only if you were going to write the poems completely tongue in cheek.

  4. Evitafjord February 5, 2010 at 12:51 pm #

    I know, I’m completely torn. I’d really like to know how many other couples (and who!) were asked to do it. Maybe I’ll send my husband anyway, with a video camera. My poem so far was Roses are Red, Violets are Blue, If I had to again, I’d still pick you. I was still working on that third line. I tried googling Love or Valentine themed limericks but I didn’t find anything worthy.

    • bythelbs February 5, 2010 at 12:59 pm #

      That sounds pretty good. I would want to add a little something to the end like:

      Roses are red, violets are blue, if I had to pick again, I’d still pick you. Probably.

      You should send the hubby with the camera.

  5. foo4luv February 5, 2010 at 2:58 pm #

    I just saw Roger Ebert’s review of Dear John, and he said it “…tells the heartbreaking story of two lovely young people who fail to find happiness together because they’re trapped in an adaptation of a Nicholas Sparks novel.” I thought that quote was golden.

  6. madhousewife February 5, 2010 at 3:05 pm #

    * Love the paintings. My own prescriptions are beautiful, but I don’t know about anyone else’s.

    * Down with babies reading!

    * Never heard of Paramore, but I think a late school night once in a while for a good cause is okay.

    * She’s totally right, you know. You’re NOT that stupid.

    * Never heard of that movie, either (I don’t get out much), but thanks for the warning.

    * Good luck this weekend!

  7. bythelbs February 5, 2010 at 3:13 pm #

    foo—Perfect!

    Mad—Thanks!

  8. boquinha February 5, 2010 at 3:42 pm #

    Do you know that bloglines now notifies me BY EMAIL of any new posts of yours? And Bloglines does, too. Plus, I just plain old like your blog. So there are like THREE ways to know when you’ve posted. And I get all of them. Does that make me your groupie?

    AWESOME paintings. I showed Thing 1 who says, “Cooool!”

    We’re getting a HUGE snowstorm here. Once the roads are cleared, we’re attending a hockey game with some friends who got us cheap tickets. And I might blog.

    • bythelbs February 7, 2010 at 1:44 pm #

      Ooh, a groupie! I’m moving up in the world. Stay safe in the snow!

  9. Julie February 5, 2010 at 4:05 pm #

    I hate the baby reading phenomenon.

    My cousin loaned me that book when I was in the hospital with Brigham’s effusion back in ’07. I hated it but read it because I had nothing better with which to pass my time. I kept thinking to myself, “I hate this book. Why would anyone read this book? Why does he keep saying breast? I hate this book!”

    Love the pictures. I avoided Reflections this year with Chloe. I should probably do it with her next year. But this year “with” would have meant “for.”

    I’m having a baby shower at my house tomorrow. My house is trashed today as a result of my getting all the food ready today. And an old college friend “dropped by” to see Stanton this afternoon. I couldn’t even invite him to sit down in our “keep people away from the crap” room because there were sheets on the couch (Stanton’s been sleeping on the couch to avoid getting my illness). Yeah, he got invited into the belly of the beast and it’s even more beastly than usual. Lovely.

    • bythelbs February 7, 2010 at 1:45 pm #

      Breast? What does breast have to do with reading?? Never mind. I hope your baby shower was fun. And there is only beastliness around here.

  10. tawnya February 5, 2010 at 4:23 pm #

    Take her!

    Nights in Rodanthe. Oh, what a horrid movie…

  11. kamilli vanilli February 6, 2010 at 11:41 am #

    Beautiful paintings! Sorry I wasn’t there…if for no other reason to cheer for YOUR girls and their fine showings! Wonderella didn’t care to go…so I was totally OK with not taking her….

    Yes, good luck this weekend! Remember…perhaps we need to have a LNO in order to “celebrate?”

  12. Patience February 6, 2010 at 4:31 pm #

    Why not just call that product “Your baby can be babysat by your TV”? Always be suspicious of products with testimonials.
    Congratulations on the art awards!

  13. Lora February 6, 2010 at 5:03 pm #

    So, couldn’t agree more on the Nights in Rodanthe. I got it thinking it would be a nice chic-flic while my husband was doing homework… not so my friend, not so. Very disappointing.

    beautiful art by the way. Especially like the flowers.

  14. bythelbs February 7, 2010 at 1:43 pm #

    Tawnya—I think that’s probably good advice.

    Kamilli—Yes, we definitely need a LNO. I appreciate that you put celebrate in ” “.

    Patience—You’re right, testimonials are always a dead giveaway!

    Lora—Yes, very, and that’s saying a lot considering I wasn’t expecting much. I usually like Diane Lane, but I’ve decided Richard Gere mostly ooks me out.

  15. Alison Wonderland February 8, 2010 at 12:25 pm #

    Reading a Nicholas Sparks novel, or watching a movie adaptation of one of his novels, is like volunteering to be emotionally raped. Sure, you’re going to cry but that was the whole point, to make you cry, not to tell you a story, to make you cry.
    I’m not a fan of emotional rape. (Or rape of any other kind for that matter.)

  16. merkin4 February 8, 2010 at 1:33 pm #

    Take her to the concert. Make sure she knows that a treat like that is tied to good behavior. Use the week beforehand to make her do laundry, clean the bathrooms, and anything else that needs to be done. Warn her that fighting or whining may result in her ticket being donated to charity.

    I took BratzBasher to see BNL around 10 months old. That might have been a little young. She’s since seen Rush, BNL a couple more times, Hootie & The Blowfish (charity concert), Guster, and quite a few others.

    I think her favorite was the Pet Shop Boys.

    She spent the whole concert dancing. The backup dancers on the stage would point her out to each other, and copy her moves and wave. Random womyn in rainbow outfits came up to us and told us what a great kid we had, and that if more “breeders” were like us…. BB just loved the giant flowerpot hats, and the line-dancing cowboy dressed in gold lame from hat to boots was just “silly”, not “flamboyantly-over-the-top”. The crowd was exceptionally well behaved, and BB still made school the next day. Best $22 concert tickets I’ve ever bought.

    • bythelbs February 8, 2010 at 3:40 pm #

      Thanks, Merkin, that sounds like good advice. I’m jealous that BB’s seen the PSB live. Jea-lous.

Leave a Reply

