More love!

19 Feb

My new favorite song of the week:

Shiny Toy Guns, You Are the One

I know exactly why this song appeals to me so much.  It’s got that strong 80s vibe—heavy on the synths, catchy hook line, the boy/girl duet action, the slowmo song-ending fakeout with a resurgence of the tempo into the final chorus and the abrupt cut-off.  Classic 80s formula.  I love it. 

Every time I hear it, it triggers my side to side alternating up and down arm-swinging, finger-snapping, hip-swaying, side-stepping, toe-kicking, head-bobbing, Molly Ringwalding muscle memory.   Love.  It.

Also loving this OK Go video.  Funnest video I’ve seen in a very long time.  Love it.

Not much going on here—a whole lotta housework, and then maybe Chuck and I will slip out for dinner.  I’m trying to decide what sounds good.  Thai? Italian? Mexican? Greasy burgers and onion rings?  What do I want to eat?  

Any big plans for the weekend, ladies?  What do you want to eat?

21 Responses to “More love!”

  1. cheryl February 19, 2010 at 1:37 pm #

    I want to eat anything I dont’ have to cook. But hubby is at school. So I will have to cook something.

    Big plans: Watching my cousin’s kids (4 of ’em) ALL DAY tomorrow. Why am I so nice??

  2. tawnya February 19, 2010 at 2:56 pm #

    Trying to find a nice way to tell my new V.T.ers how not to bring their combined 8 children to my house on Monday. I am LIVING it up, sister.

    Burgers. They are usually the go to in this house.

    • bythelbs February 19, 2010 at 4:23 pm #

      That house full of extra kids thing freaks me out a little. I have always tried to avoid taking my kids vt-ing. I know it’s not always possible, but… Really, I would be fine being on someone’s letter route. Or on an “I don’t need no stinkin’ vt’s” route. I’ve always had very lovely vt’s, but I’d be fine with total neglect.

      • tawnya February 19, 2010 at 5:14 pm #

        I LOVE the total neglect VTers. It’s my fondest wish with every new ward…sadly I think my new ones in this ward are go getters. Dagnabit.

      • merkin4 February 19, 2010 at 10:17 pm #

        I have just the thing for you.

        I finally told the EQ President that I’d prefer not to have home teachers. And they stopped coming. Not that they came much before. It’s just that now they don’t come simply because I told them not to come, and not because they don’t like us.

        I really think I’m onto something. I’m one fewer person that’s got to be home taught. If everyone in the church did this, we’d never have to get chewed out over failure to home teach/visit teach again. The last three days of the month could be spent with family. No guilt when the high council starts in on how home teaching is the only thing keeping this stake from being translated, just like the City of Enoch.

        Seriously. You don’t have to explain why, the bishop doesn’t care one way or the other, and you don’t have to do that frantic last-minute cleanup on Sunday afternoon when you’d rather be doing something else. I wish I’d thought of this years ago.

  3. evitafjord February 19, 2010 at 3:00 pm #

    Weekend full of going the opposite direction from my husband. He’s accompanying UIL (competition) band kids and I’m ferrying girls to an activity days (or whatever they’re called) stake activity. He’s supervising Saturday school and I’m um, NOT supervising Saturday school (thank goodness – I’ll take my 5 deliquents over 35 deliquent teens any day) – maybe I’ll paint my kitchen cabinets. Yeah, we’ll go with that goal. Then he’s DJing a dance and I’m going to stay home with the boys and work. I think that Sunday is all ours though, except for those 3 hours midday that we will pretty much not see each other.

    If I were going out tonight, I would want Italian or Mexican, but that’s because Thai doesn’t exist here and burgers and onion rings just don’t sound good. I think we’re probably having pizza though, that’s the usual fair at the activity days (or whatever they’re called) stake activities.

  4. flip flop mama February 19, 2010 at 4:02 pm #

    I am going on a date tonight so no cooking for me! I’m thinking I want good Chinese. My husband surprised me by getting a babysitter and everything. And it is MUCH needed! Then tomorrow we are going to my sister’s so that the guys can golf. I’ll be playing with my new camera that came today. After the week from hell, it’s ending up pretty dang good.

  5. bythelbs February 19, 2010 at 4:19 pm #

    Cheryl—If you lived here (or vice versa) I would totally skip out on Chuck date night for Cheryl date night. We could even saddle Chuck with the 9 kids! And yes, you are way too nice.

    Evita—You don’t like onion rings?? It’s OK, I can get past that. I do think you got the better end of that chaperoning deal. I’d come help you paint your kitchen cabinets if you’d come help me paint my upstairs hall.

    Flip—That is the main point–no cooking! I pretty much don’t care what I eat as long as I don’t have to cook it. Did you get everything sorted out with the accident?? Is everyone OK? How severe was the damage? Oh, and what kind of camera did you get?

    • evitafjord February 19, 2010 at 10:23 pm #

      Oh, it’s not that I don’t like them, just not tonight. Although now, I could totally go for some. It was pizza tonight, but I wasn’t feeling that either so I didn’t have any. Then by the time they got around to making hoecakes, I was starving and so I had 1.5 of those and now I’m regretting that a bit. They were tasty hoecakes, but we aren’t getting along now.

      I would make that trade. Except that my sister sent me footie jammies in the mail today (for Christmas – just a little delayed) and I’m thinking I might not want to take them off tomorrow and I certainly wouldn’t want to get paint on them. So, deal with a raincheck. How’s July? I’ll be up that way-ish to see my family in July 🙂 I wouldn’t recommend coming here in July though, it sucks.

      • bythelbs February 21, 2010 at 2:19 pm #

        July’s great! And I would love a picture of the footie jammies. With you in them, of course. (How creepy is it that I just asked you for a picture of you in your sleeping attire??)

    • Flipflopmama February 20, 2010 at 12:24 am #

      Yes, everyone is okay thankfully. We’re still working out the details with the other insurance company. At least I think my adjuster is. I was hoping to hear something today but I didn’t. I had my car looked at yesterday and the guy at the auto body shop said the car shouldn’t be driven so now I have a rental. The whole driver side back door is smashed in. I just hope the other insurance doesn’t give us issues because then we’ll have to pay for the rental.

      We got a Nikon D3000 thanks to our tax return. I’m so excited!

      • bythelbs February 21, 2010 at 2:20 pm #

        So still a big fat pain in the stuff, but could be worse. So glad to hear it. And I’m excited for you camera! Post your pics!

  6. shazbraz February 19, 2010 at 4:43 pm #

    Love me some TSG. Love me some Molly.

    We may have to forgo our Weekly Friday Night, “Go grocery shopping, pick up takeout, come back home and watch a movie and eat in bed” routine since hubby’s had the stomach flu all week, but if not then I’m voting for Center Street Grill. Lbs, come visit and I’ll take you there!

    • bythelbs February 19, 2010 at 4:47 pm #

      Deal!

      • tawnya February 19, 2010 at 5:12 pm #

        Mmmmmm. Center St. Grill….

  7. boquinha February 20, 2010 at 12:00 pm #

    Love the 80’s song and formula. But love even more that the Bishop’s wife is so take it or leave it on VTing. I think you might get translated for being so down to earth. (Groan).

  8. madhousewife February 20, 2010 at 12:33 pm #

    Last night I fed the children some random food and after they all went to bed, my husband brought home some Greek food. It was delicious.

    Today two of the kids have play dates (over here), but the good news is that all extra kids have to be gone by 4 p.m. so that I can take MB to see Percy Jackson. I’m trying to decide if I’m going to try to finish the book before I go, or if I care.

    And then I need to bake a carrot cake for George Washington.

  9. bythelbs February 21, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

    Merkin—I don’t think my Bishop would let me say I don’t want HT’s & VT’s. Darn him!

    Boquinha—I would like to go on the record that I think VTing is an inspired program and very important and beneficial to many. It just doesn’t hurt my feelings if mine miss a month or two or eight.

    Madhousewife—My two oldest would like to see the PJ movie. They enjoy the books very much. You’ll have to tell me how MB likes the movie.

    • tawnya February 21, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

      See? You just illustrated how much more righteous you are than I! You can at least see the benefit of VT…

  10. Patience February 22, 2010 at 3:41 pm #

    Good song! I want to eat the berry trifle that I made as a vehicle for all my half-consumed bags of frozen berries.

Leave a Reply

