Good morning from my 10 year old

9 Mar

Doing DynaGirl’s hair this morning.

Me: OK, I kind of did these braids lopsided.

DynaGirl: I don’t care.  Nobody else is going to care.  Only my loving mother.  Who cares just a little too much.

It’s funny ’cause it’s true.

 

At the breakfast table, just after DynaGirl has moisturized her face.

DynaGirl: Why does dead skin always gather where my mustache should be?

Me: Should be?

DG: Yeah, it’d be cool to have a mustache.

It’s actually not.  Cool.  Not that I would know. Ahem.

 

Some music for today.  I couldn’t find the regular version—only this slightly obnoxious 12″ extended remix.  But the middle part is still good.

Flesh For Lulu, I Go Crazy

(Susan, the 2:00 mark makes me think of you!)

6 Responses to “Good morning from my 10 year old”

  1. Susan M March 9, 2010 at 10:32 am #

    LOL. Excellent! Don’t think I’ve heard this song since the 80s.

    We’re still watching Miami Vice (on to season two now) a couple nights a week.

  2. Flipflopmama March 9, 2010 at 2:34 pm #

    Hey it’s good that she doesn’t care that her hair is perfect. I’m like you when it’s crooked though. Drives me crazy when things are off balance a little.

    I don’t have a mustache but I noticed over the weekend that my sister has a serious beard going on. Hopefully I didn’t get those genes. I do have a couple pesky mutant wiskers.

  3. Julie March 9, 2010 at 4:46 pm #

    I hate when the part is crooked. It makes me nutty! Love that she doesn’t care!

  4. kamilli vanilli March 10, 2010 at 12:22 pm #

    That is awesome that she doesn’t care! Wonderella would flip out! She is waaaayyyy OCD when it comes to stuff like that. Which is probably why we never do anything cute with her hair. (It’s certainly not because I am a lazy, negligent mother. No, no…that’s not it.) She wigs out most of the time cuz something is just not right, so I say why bother?

  5. boquinha March 11, 2010 at 4:49 pm #

    I like Dyna Girl. And love that she doesn’t care. So healthy.

  6. bythelbs March 11, 2010 at 8:50 pm #

    For the most part, DynaGirl has a very healthy self-image. More so than I ever did at her age. (Or ever??) I’m very glad for that, and hope she can hold onto it.

Leave a Reply

