Barf and books and such

19 Apr

BigHugs woke up puking early Saturday morning and proceeded to spend the next 10 hours puking.  The nice thing about BigHugs getting the stomach flu is that she hardly ever eats anything, so there wasn’t a lot coming up.  Limited chunkage is always a nice bonus when tending to a sick kid, especially when you’re catching it in your hand while they’re sitting on the toilet.

We had actual plans for Saturday.  A day trip, if you will, to another country even.  Ah well.  Best laid plans, blah, blah, blah.  Instead we spent pretty much the entire weekend in pajamas and alternating between reading books and watching movies.  Well, at least I alternated between reading books and watching movies.  I consented to watch The Sound of Music and Ever After, but was not interested in the three “different” Lilo & Stitch movies that seem to have made it into our house and into our dvd player this weekend.

I finally managed to finish Brisingr after having started it at least a year ago.  Generally, I only read one book at a time.  I can’t remember why I put it down, but I think I’ve read at least 30 books in the meantime.  I was already 200 pages into the 700+ page book, so even though I had only the vaguiest of vague recollections of what was going on, I couldn’t bring myself to start over and instead relied on Mr. T to fill in the blanks when I was feeling lost.

I also read Keeper of Light and Dust by Natasha Mostert, a kind of new-agey mystical story of a woman trained in the martial arts who is a tattoo artist by day and a “keeper” or spiritual guardian and protector of kickboxers by night.  (Are you saying “Huh?” yet?)  She’s inherited this gift (or responsibility?) from her mother (and her mother’s mother and I don’t remember how many mother’s mothers beyond that).  When fighters in her keep start mysteriously dying, she and her longtime childhood friend (who happens to be in love with her, of course, and who she happens to be in love with, of course, but both are afraid of ruining the friendship by taking it to the next level, of course) investigate.  There’s the sexy bad guy she’s drawn to, martial arts, dojos, some out of body experiences, some out of body martial arts butt-kicking in dojos experiences, and a whole lot of chi-talk in this book, yet I still found it pretty entertaining.  It’s a quick, easy read–a fun distraction for an airplane ride or when you’re just killing time waiting around for something else.

Still in my books to finish pile: Peter and the Shadow Thieves by Dave Barry and Ridley Pearson, also started sometime last year.

On my hold list at the library:  Th1rteen R3asons Why by Jay Asher, recommended by my sister, Foo4luv.

What have you been reading lately?

11 Responses to “Barf and books and such”

  1. foo4luv April 19, 2010 at 11:40 am #

    I love your description of Keeper of Light and Dust. I may have to stick that on my “fluff” reading list. I like the women in my fluff to kick butt. Yes, I know that looks weird. Just ignore the awkward. If you ever feel like reading a book where women go medieval on a man’s posterior, try something from the Revenge of the Sisterhood series by Fern Michaels. It gets pretty gruesome, but sometimes a girl’s in the mood for that.

  2. bythelbs April 19, 2010 at 2:21 pm #

    I forgot to mention that the story is set in London, so you get all the out of body martial arts butt-kicking in dojo stuff with British accents. I mean, you have to supply those yourself, but still.

  3. evitafjord April 19, 2010 at 2:56 pm #

    The last thing I read was U is for Undertow, Sue Grafton, over Spring Break. It was what it is. Before that was the last (I think) David Baldacci book over Christmas Break. Even though I love reading, these days it puts me to sleep faster than a movie, so I read in spurts over the school breaks. Looking forward to summer, I should probably start compiling the list.

  4. kamilli vanilli April 19, 2010 at 4:00 pm #

    Sorry to hear about the puking and the spoiled weekend plans. Are you going to try for next weekend? We still might. We almost went on Saturday, and then were ultimately too lazy. Maybe next Saturday we’ll feel less lazy. That’s a big maybe.

    You know me. I don’t read. Books anyways. It’s a flaw of mine.

  5. Boquinha April 19, 2010 at 6:02 pm #

    Aw man, sorry she’s sick and hope no one else catches it. It’s spring, for crying out loud! That’s not a time to have a stomach bug.

    I’m reading The Orchid Thief and then Olive Kitteridge. Both are book club books. I’m also dabbling in several others and have finished precisely none of them yet.

  6. Migillicutty April 19, 2010 at 7:11 pm #

    YAY! you read Brisingr!! It’s good isn’t it? (except when it’s cheesy…) How did Mr. T like it? Tell him to check out inheritance forums.com, it’s a really great site where you can discuss the series and what you think will happen in book IV, as well as read people’s fanfics, and discuss other books (and even artwork) as well.

    Peter and the Shadow thieves is also pretty good.

  7. bythelbs April 19, 2010 at 9:32 pm #

    Evita—I’ve never read any of the Grafton books, but I would probably like them. I fall asleep watching movies all the time now. It makes me feel old. I actually have an easier time staying awake to read. I don’t know how that works.

    Kamilli—We’re going to take the kids out of school and go on Friday. Saturday I have a lovely dentist appt. to get my permanent crown.

    Boquinha—Thanks. Let me know how you like those books.

    Migillicutty—It is occasionally cheesy, isn’t it? Mr. T was disappointed in the ending. I totally saw it coming, but it was annoying. I’m going to predict that the empire falls in book IV. I liked Peter and the Starcatchers, but for some reason I haven’t been able to get into this one yet.

  8. Alison Wonderland April 20, 2010 at 7:41 am #

    I’m reading “The Principles of Human Physiology” by Stanfield and Germann and “Biology” by Solomon, Berg and Martin. I don’t really recommend either one, lost of unexpected twists and turns which I usually like but also both occasionally really hard to understand.

    I did recently read Hunger Games and Catching Fire, I very much enjoyed both.

    I have the fifth Fablehaven that I really do want to read but… well, those Physiology and Biology books, I just can’t seem to put them down.

  9. bythelbs April 20, 2010 at 7:43 am #

    Alison—I’ve got the 5th Fablehaven on hold, too, but we’re #52 of 16 available copies. I might just have to buy it. Good luck with those other books!

  10. madhousewife April 20, 2010 at 12:52 pm #

    I’m currently reading Elegance of the Hedgehog, but I’m suffering serious serial-killer book withdrawal. I’m beginning to think I will not finish my list of Books To Read in 2010. I’m beginning to think I will not read any of them.

  11. tawnya April 20, 2010 at 1:24 pm #

    Are you on Good Reads at all?

    Currently on my shelf (reading or to be read): my book club book, which I’m dreading. Get Lucky by Katherine Center, Radical Homemakers by Shannon Hayes, Serendipity by Louise Shaffer, Book of a Thousand Days by Shannon Hale and a book about Childhood OCD.

Leave a Reply

