Sweet Sixteen

14 May

Sixteen years ago today, I became Mrs. Chuck. It’s hard to believe that much time has passed. Yet here we are sixteen years and four kids later.

When my parents reached their sixteen year mark, they had five kids, including an eighth-grade know-it-all, me. At sixteen years, Chuck and I have our very own eigth grade know-it-all, Mr. T. My mom was a stay at home mom, sometimes struggling to keep her sanity with the day to day care of home and children. My dad was patient and supportive, never complaining about a lapse in housework or a late dinner. Chuck and I know these roles well.

Ten years later, my parents would celebrate their last anniversary, with my mom in the throes of chemo, my dad in mourning and me in complete denial. I can only hope Chuck and I won’t know what that’s like.

Sunday would be my parents 40th wedding anniversary, and it still hurts a little that the only anniversary my dad celebrates now is next month with someone who is not my mother. I can only hope our kids won’t know what that’s like.

We never know what’s around the corner, but the past sixteen years have been good to us. My parents had hopes and dreams and looked forward to somedays and laters that never came. I try not to invest too much of today in future happiness. Sure, we can look forward, but right now’s not bad. Not bad at all.

~

Happy anniversary, Chuck! Thanks for putting up with me! I still love you!

10 Responses to “Sweet Sixteen”

  1. Kamille Vanilli May 14, 2010 at 10:40 am #

    Happy anniversary! Hope you go and do something reeeeal nice-like.

  2. madhousewife May 14, 2010 at 12:40 pm #

    You made me cry a little bit, but I’m going to wish you happy anniversary anyway, because I love you. And Chuck. (Initially, I admit, I wasn’t crazy about anyone taking my sister away from me, but I’ve since decided it was for the best. He’s a keeper!) I hope you have a lovely day/evening together and another 16, 26, 36 (how old do you want to grow together?) years, too.

    I love that picture of Mom & Dad. That hat was awesome!

  3. flip flop mama May 14, 2010 at 8:04 pm #

    Happy Anniversary! You’ve been married twice as long as me! Congrats!

  4. Alison Wonderland May 14, 2010 at 8:51 pm #

    Congrats. It couldn’t have happened to a nicer couple. Actually, now that I think about it, I dint know Chuck from Adam, but it couldn’t have happened to s nicer girl.

  5. cheryl May 15, 2010 at 7:16 am #

    Happy Anniversary! You made me cry a little, too. Not in a “I know exactly how that feels” way like how madhousewife cried, but you know what I mean.

    I love you. And tell Chuck he’s awesome, too. 🙂

  6. Julie May 15, 2010 at 1:34 pm #

    Happy Anniversary. This summary was thought-provoking and very lovely. Like yourself.

  7. Boquinha May 16, 2010 at 8:38 am #

    Awww, lbs. That was lovely. Happy (belated) Anniversary. Great pictures, too. You are a lovely couple and so are your parents. I’m so sorry for your pain. Amazing how the milestones can make you think and ache renewedly, even after so many years. I hope you have many, MANY more years together, you and Chuck. I’m glad you’re my friend.

  8. tawnya May 16, 2010 at 11:03 am #

    You are standing in the same position (or stance) as your mom.

    Happy anniversary! May you see 1000 more!

  9. Amanda D May 16, 2010 at 3:26 pm #

    You guys are such a cute couple! Happy anniversary!

  10. Patience May 19, 2010 at 2:40 pm #

    Aw, Happy Anniversary. You guys are a cute couple!
    I lost my mom when I was in my twenties, too. If she were alive today, she’d be 67 and my parents would have been married 43 years.

Leave a Reply

