Baby Jesus, Dad? Really?

16 Nov

*I had the kids make their Christmas lists the other day, and DynaGirl asked for her own room.  I’ve told her before that this is not going to happen as long as we live in this house (3 bedrooms, 4 kids, 1 teenage boy, 3 girls), but she spent most of Veteran’s Day watching HGTV and she’s convinced she can convert the closet into a bedroom for herself.  Apparently she’s mistaken their 2’x5′ closet for one of more Narnian proportions.  I’m afraid this Christmas will join puppy, pony and baby brother on the list of Santa FAILS.

*The other day I spent more time than I would care to admit searching for a stray sock—a quest that took me, among other places, under furniture, between couch cushions, into sleeves of shirts already hanging in closets, and inside the newspaper recycling bin (no stone unturned, people).  Just when I had decided to give up (or at least when I had told myself I’d decided to give up), I felt something strange on the back of my knee.  I reached up my pant leg only to discover the missing sock had been there the whole time.  Only I’m not entirely convinced it had been there the whole time.  That was at least the second time I had worn that particular pair of pants since they’d last been laundered (what, you wash your jeans after every wear?) and the sock had obviously been freshly laundered and not in the same load as the pants (I have a strict laundry sorting regimen that must be adhered to at all times).  Also, it wasn’t just my sock I found up my pant leg, but one of BigHugs’ as well, which was an entirely different color from both the missing sock and the pants.  Even if by the wildest stretch of the imagination I somehow managed to launder items from three different laundry families in the same load, would I really be able to walk around on 2-3 separate occasions with these two separate pieces of foot coverings stowed away in my pant leg without even noticing?  Would I?  Would I??  Do you ever get the feeling your life is one long-running episode of Punk’d? 

*Last night we played one of those Cranium games.  One round had DynaGirl guiding Chuck’s hand to draw a particular something, which was a little awkward considering Chuck is left-handed while DynaGirl is right-handed.  Chuck and BigHugs (who were on DynaGirl’s team) had to guess what it was.

Chuck: A man!
BigHugs:  A guy!
Chuck: A gingerbread man!
BigHugs: A gingerbread man!
Chuck: Baby Jesus!

They were wrong.  They ran out of time.

Later, BigHugs said, “Baby Jesus, Dad?  Really?”

Any guesses?

15 Responses to “Baby Jesus, Dad? Really?”

  1. Susan M November 16, 2010 at 1:58 pm #

    A baby Jesus astronaut?

  2. cheryl November 16, 2010 at 2:58 pm #

    Me: Laughing so hard, I almost fell down.

    And not just to the “baby Jesus” picture game –to everything in this post.

    You are the best. The BEST!

  3. Julie November 16, 2010 at 4:32 pm #

    Uh, Hello! Astronaut!

    Awesomeness, too, about the sock. I would really like to know how that happened and how on earth you weren’t also looking for the missing BigHugs sock at the same time. I don’t know if I can trust your claims of OCD anymore. Joking, of course. Sort of.

  4. madhousewife November 16, 2010 at 4:32 pm #

    “Baby Jesus, Dad? Really?” Your kids are awesome.

    That is a freaky laundry/missing sock experience. I’d watch my back if I were you.

  5. madhousewife November 16, 2010 at 4:34 pm #

    Also, I love “A man!” “A guy!” Playing games with your family is fun.

  6. Mother of the Wild Boys November 16, 2010 at 4:51 pm #

    😀

  7. bythelbs November 16, 2010 at 5:15 pm #

    Yes, an astronaut. It seemed pretty obvious to me. I didn’t know BigHugs’ sock was missing. So actually, it was pretty distressing to find the one because I had no idea where the other would be. Only I was too exhausted at that point to start looking for anything else, and I wasn’t in the mood to be putting my hand up any more pant legs, mine or anyone else’s.

    DynaGirl just came up behind me and said, “Oh, you told them about finding the socks in your pants?” And then BigHugs started singing, “Socks in your pants, socks in your pants. Looking like a fool with the socks in your pants.” a la Larry.

    • Mother of the Wild Boys November 17, 2010 at 2:16 pm #

      BigHugs’ socks in your pants song is pure genius! We are always singing the Pants on the Ground song around our Wild house.

  8. Lora November 16, 2010 at 5:54 pm #

    I would say the astronaut had something to do with the socks… some space time continuum/continueum/continu-um or something.

    • bythelbs November 16, 2010 at 8:22 pm #

      Or maybe we’ve opened some kind of black hole portal to another dimension? Where missing socks come and go as they please? Perhaps DynaGirl could build her private bedroom there.

  9. tawnya November 16, 2010 at 6:18 pm #

    This is all just very, very awesome. Well, except the poltergeist sock situation. That is just weird.

  10. foo4luv November 16, 2010 at 9:50 pm #

    *snicker*

  11. Flipflopmama November 17, 2010 at 12:02 pm #

    I put my socks in a lingerie bag so they stay where I put them. That sock thing is too weird. And I was totally lost on the picture….:)

  12. Patience November 18, 2010 at 11:25 am #

    That is hilarious about the sock. I think one of your kids is trying to play tricks on you.

Leave a Reply

