What day is it?

28 Feb

Last week is a blur.  The kids went back to school Tuesday after a four day weekend, had Wednesday and Thursday off for (mostly bogus) snow days, and then a half day of school Friday with Mr. T home sick and me helping out in BigHugs’ class from 9:20-1.*  What was I supposed to do with that?  Well, I’ll tell you what I did: mostly nothing.

(*Since this was a special kindergarteners stay for lunch half day, it was my special treat to watch the class in the lunch room.  Do you have any idea how hard it is to witness 23 random 5 year olds eating 23 random lunches, including the ice-cream scoop formed mass of spaghetti and canned peaches swimming in their own syrup on their hot lunch plates?  There should be some kind of medal for that.  Seriously.  *SHUD*DER*)

So here we are on the eve of March—March??—and I’m trying to figure out what I’m supposed to be doing with myself, especially with Goose now home sick today.

Chuck’s birthday was yesterday.  Poor Chuck.  The highlight of his day was probably the Pillow Pet frog the girls insisted on getting him.  Also among his gifts, socks and chocolate bars.  Best wife ever.  However, I did make him the dinner he requested and baked him a cake that I don’t even enjoy myself, so if that doesn’t say love, I don’t know what does.

Today is my sister’s birthday–Happy birthday Foo4luv!  I hope your day is filled with wonderful delights.  I’m sure your husband will be baking you a cake that you enjoy (or some other equally delectable dessert).

Also today is Chuck’s sister’s birthday.  I’m not one for the mailing of the birthday cards much, and have resorted to the laziness of writing on the in-laws’ FB walls for my birthday greetings.  I know, it’s pretty pathetic, but I think we’ve all kind of reached this mutual agreement of patheticness, so I don’t feel too badly about it.  Unfortunately, Chuck’s sister defriended Chuck and I last month for some inexplicable reason.  Well, there’s maybe a vaguely explicable reason that we can imagine, but it’s stupid, so whatever.  But anyway, not only were we defriended, but also blocked, so we are dead to her on FB (or she is dead to us?), so now I’m wondering how I’m supposed to go about conveying my heartfelt birthday well-wishes.  Do I send an e-mail?  A text?  Forget the whole thing because we are dead to her now anyway??  What is the proper birthday etiquette when one is defriended by one’s relative on the FB?  Someone should write a book about these things.

Oh, I almost forgot!  The winners of the 1st Annual Fresh Step Street Name Challenge are:

1st runner up: Squoosh! aka Janelle—I felt like she was the first one to really take me seriously on this.  No offense to the rest of you slackers.  And I thoroughly enjoyed the daydream she inspired where I’m featured in a Step Up movie.  Thank you for that, Janelle.  She was narrowly beat out by…

Fun Size! aka Boquinha—I think it was the “Dayum!” and “da tropical bomb” that won me over.  Plus she seemed to have the popular vote as well.

Look for your fabulous surprise prizes in the near or distant future.  I promise to get them to you before I have another pre-Hawaii vacation shoe crisis.

Happy Monday.

9 Responses to “What day is it?”

  1. Boquinha February 28, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    Wow! Thanks, Lbs! 🙂 What a great treat on a Monday! Plus, Thing 1 got a letter from her pen pal today and there was much rejoicing. 🙂

    That sucks about the FB drama. Oh, how I hate FB.

  2. Janelle February 28, 2011 at 8:55 pm #

    I love getting prizes for not winning!!!

    I hate losing the popular vote.

  3. evitafjord February 28, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

    Like. Congrats to Fun Size and Squoosh.

    My SIL unfriended her brother (not the one I married) because he often posted links that offended her. I think they still speak by phone though, so birthday wishes were probably exchanged. I’m not exactly sure why she didn’t just block his posts from her wall, but whatevs.

  4. Janelle February 28, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

    Oh about the FB thing…. It sounds like she actually wants your attention. I think an e-card is just the thing. Maybe a personal note to go with but no mention whatsoever of the FB defriend.

    (This coming from someone who has never mailed a birthday card ever. I do like e-cards though. Weren’t you going to tutor me on how to be thoughtful?)

  5. tawnya March 1, 2011 at 10:09 am #

    WAIT. You can unfriend family? Even family that isn’t the nephew you don’t really know that spouts the crazy? Huh. That would be lovely…

  6. Julie March 1, 2011 at 10:27 am #

    I once thought I had Facebook drama, but it turned out I didn’t. That was nice.

    Also, boo hoo. I mean, congratulations to the very deserving winners.

  7. Kamilli Vanilli March 1, 2011 at 10:38 am #

    I love me a good facebook defriending. It really cuts to the core. Gets you where it hurts. What?! I don’t have to look at pics of your homely kids and read your idiotic thoughts every day? Say it ain’t so!

    I hope you figure out the best way to proceed with the conveying of the birthday wishes. I am sure you will. I believe in you, bythelbs.

  8. merkin4 March 1, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

    Foo got homemade Indian food for dinner, followed by Buffy with the kid whilst the husband did the kitchen cleanup. Dessert was chocolate lava cake over fresh strawberries, topped with real whipped cream.

  9. madhousewife March 1, 2011 at 4:52 pm #

    So which cake do you not enjoy?

    Happy belated birthday to Chuck. I don’t think I even wished him happy birthday on the Facebook. Or did I and I just forgot? Would he even have noticed with all the FB birthday wishes he probably got? Did I accidentally defriend him? Did I purposely defriend him and just forgot? (That last one seems unlikely, unless I was suffering from braces-related dementia.)

Leave a Reply

