Thursday tuneage

10 Mar

Here’s what’s been playing in my car this week:

*Awake and Alive – Skillet

This one’s from Mr. T’s collection.  He says they’re a Christian rock band.  The lead’s voice has that fairly generic heavy-ish rock scream/rasp quality, but I’m a sucker for the boy/girl rocker duet.  Also, I think female drummers are cool, and they get bonus points for their band name.

*New Low – Middle Class Rut

Chuck heard this band open for another act.  I like the lyrics.  Plus I’m a sucker for a two-man band.

*The Ghost Inside – Broken Bells*

(I couldn’t help using this video!)  I like the Broken Bells, and I’ve always been a sucker for a good falsetto.

Enough to Let Me Go – Switchfoot

Also from Mr. T’s collection.  I’m generally not a die hard Switchfoot fan, but there’s something about this one I just can’t resist.  I guess I’m just a sucker for a sappy love song.

*Dog Days Are Over – Florence + the Machine*

This chick is wacky (check out the link above), but not in the disturbing Lady GaGa sense.  I find it an endearing sort of wack.  And is that a ukulele in the intro?  I’m a sucker for a ukulele.

*Radioactive – Kings of Leon

I don’t love everything Kings of Leon does, but I love this.  It’s in the water, it’s where you came from… I’m a sucker for a catchy hook line.

*Howlin’ for You – The Black Keys (I can’t in good conscience link you to the official video–it’s a little, um, yeah…)

Da da, da da, da, Da da, da da, da… I love Da da, da da, da-ing along, plus I’m a sucker for the blues.

*Pumped Up Kicks – Foster the People*

At first I thought they were saying the “funked up kicks”.  I’m more than a little disappointed I was mistaken, but obviously anything with “kicks” is going to be cool with Fresh Step.  Fresh Step is a sucker for the pumped up kicks.  Fresh Step is not a sucker for the speaking in the third person, however, so she’ll stop now.

What have you been listening to lately?

*Sorry, I tried to post videos that weren’t restricted by YouTube, but obviously not all of them work.  I strongly encourage you to use the “watch on youtube” link for the Broken Bells song at least.

12 Responses to “Thursday tuneage”

  1. Julie March 10, 2011 at 12:22 pm #

    You’re such a sucker.

    I’ve been listening to The Count of Monte Cristo. JRo’s a sucker for a good action/revenge/redemption story.

  2. evitafjord March 10, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

    The Carpenters, Moby Dick, Shrek the Musical soundtrack, an Ally McBeal album and a bunch of random singles from the last 35 years or so. The CD in the van player is Kids Bop #823. I tried to listen to it yesterday on the way to drop my oldest at YW and it made my ears bleed so I had to stop. But my MP3 player needed synched with Napster – until I read your post and finally remembered to hook it up. So thanks 🙂

  3. tawnya March 10, 2011 at 2:27 pm #

    Love it! And now, oddly, I just want to go find the real video of The Black Keys…And Florence is a bit wackadoodle…

  4. Susan M March 10, 2011 at 2:31 pm #

    That Broken Bells song and video is awesome! Love their name, too.

    I just discovered Santigold this morning:

    Reminds me a little of the Yeah Yeah Yeahs.

    Also Dark Captain Light Captain:

    Amos Lee (such an awesome voice):

  5. Kamilli Vanilli March 10, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

    Come on, admit it…when it comes to Hall and Oates…(or their imposters) you’re a sucker for the ‘stache. It’s Ok.

  6. bythelbs March 10, 2011 at 5:13 pm #

    Julie—Yeah, total sucker. The Count is still on my list of books to read. I can’t do audio books for some reason.

    Evita—Kids Bop was banished from our car a few years ago. Luckily for me, my girls outgrew it when they were 6 or so. What’s playing on your mp3?

    Tawyna—More than a bit, I’d say. Did you watch the video? Are you willing to admit it??

    Susan—That H&O/BB video makes me happy. Also, nice recommendations.

    Kamilli—Oh, that goes without saying.

    • tawnya March 10, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

      No I got sidetracked by something shiny…I clearly wasn’t THAT interested!

      • bythelbs March 10, 2011 at 8:04 pm #

        So you aren’t willing to admit it.

  7. Alison Wonderland March 10, 2011 at 5:41 pm #

    I pretty much just listen to the radio in the car (country radio oddly enough, I find it less irritating than most other radio, that seems wrong and yet…) I have been turned on to some good stuff on Pandora lately, Mumford and sons (although I really don’t think it’s some kind of father son band) and… I can’t remember.

    • bythelbs March 10, 2011 at 8:06 pm #

      “…country radio oddly enough, I find it less irritating than most other radio…”

      I have no idea how to respond to that. I have heard a lot about Mumford & Sons, like A LOT a lot, so maybe it’s time to check them out.

  8. madhousewife March 11, 2011 at 1:10 pm #

    If you’re a sucker for the ukulele, you have to see this:

    And speaking of Lady Gaga, my favorite Lady Gaga cover:

    Unless it’s this:

    When you said that dude had a scream/rasp voice, it reminded me of Eluvietie, who have a death-growling lead singer, which prevents me from enjoying their music as much as I might–because look at how awesome it is to have a heavy metal band with bagpipes and a fiddle and a chick playing the hurdy-gurdy!

  9. Flip flop mama March 12, 2011 at 7:51 pm #

    My two favorite songs right now are Animal by Neon Trees and 1901 by Phoenix. Phoenix has a couple other good songs that I’ve heard too.

Leave a Reply

