Stuff

16 Mar

*Watching, Detroit 187 last night, I was struck by some of the first few lines of dialogue.

Det. Sanchez: Do you think most people don’t know who they are?
Det. Fitch: I think most people know exactly who they are, they just don’t want anybody else to find out.

I find this notion somewhat depressing.  Part of me would like to think I don’t really know who I am yet, or maybe I’m just hoping I’m not the person I think I am—a distressing thought, either way.

*I had a dream last night that I was volunteering in Goose’s classroom when I suddenly realized I had forgotten to put on a bra that morning.  Not only had I forgotten to put on a bra, but I was wearing what I had worn to bed the night before (sweats and a t-shirt) and hadn’t showered, done my hair, put on makeup or brushed my teeth.  I decided I would just put my coat back on and fake it through the rest of the morning.  In the dream I also thought it was definitely something I would blog about.

*I took an introductory how to use your DSLR photography class on Monday night, a Christmas gift from Chuck.  It was a 3-hour class held in the community barn, so obviously I am a total expert now.  It was a helpful class.  I learned a few basics I didn’t already know, how to navigate through some of my camera menus, and some other useful tidbits.  The instructor was a pleasant fellow, attractive enough so as not to distract me from the subject matter and not so attractive so as to distract me from the subject matter.  My confidence in his expertise was momentarily shaken by his use of “view thingy you look through”, forgetting to take the lens cap off when trying to take a picture, and realizing his own camera he had brought for demonstration purposes had a dead battery.  I may also have been slightly put off by the repeated use of “lot’s” in his handouts, as in, “you need lot’s of light” and “we have lot’s of photography items for free use”.  But overall, I think it was time decently spent.

*Chuck has to go to Italy.  He called Monday from work and said, “I have to go to Italy next week.  There’s some kind of emergency.  I was just checking if that was OK with you.”  I’m not sure I understand the point of “checking” with me if he “has” to go for an “emergency”, but I suppose it was nice of him to pretend.  He leaves this weekend for two weeks and will miss, among other things, four parent-teacher conferences that I had scheduled in the evening specifically so he could go and that damn All-City Elementary School Choir Concert.  He owes me.  Big.  On the bright side(?), Goose’s choir selections will include “Safety Dance”, so at least there’s that to look forward to(?).

*I should probably shower and put on a bra now so I can go to the grocery store.  Happy St. Patrick’s Day Eve!

6 Responses to “Stuff”

  1. tawnya March 16, 2011 at 12:49 pm #

    *I had a moment of panic this morning around 5ish when I realized my blog post was, indeed, going to post today. Because I’m pretty sure that’s not the person I want to brag that I really am…

    *I often forget my bra. Which, really, used to be much more amusing than it is now.

    *DUDE. That’s funny. But I’m glad it was helpful!

    *That was nice of him to pretend. Did he seem sad? Because then I would just call bull crap. Italy AND missing conferences? Hmmm…. (Safety Dance? Seriously? Ha!)

  2. foo4luv March 16, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

    The “Safety Dance”? Oh my.

  3. flipflopmama March 16, 2011 at 11:04 pm #

    It was halfway through the morning a couple months ago when I realized I had walked Big Sister to school and back without a bra. I hadn’t even noticed.

  4. Julie March 17, 2011 at 8:47 am #

    Bras are totally optional for me from a modesty standpoint. From a looking halfway female standpoint, they are completely necessary.

    My best wishes to you on 2 weeks without spouse and with various less than desirable activities on the agenda. Seriously.

  5. madhousewife March 17, 2011 at 8:56 pm #

    “Safety Dance”! Can I come???

  6. Amanda D March 18, 2011 at 7:41 am #

    I wouldn’t mind if I “had” to go to Italy.

Leave a Reply

