Madhousewife: 40 and fabulous!

17 May

Dear Mad,

In the Scrabble game of life, you are the 224- point BINGO!

I used every last tile, most of which for their intended purpose even!

Happy birthday!

Love,

Bythelbs

And here’s even more birthday love from some of your favorite bloggy friends:

~From Boquinha~

I keep a document list of bookmarked posts that I really like. I may not be the best at keeping up on all blogs all the time, but when I find a gem, I want to bookmark it.

In my top 3, I have a post each from Madhousewife and one from Bythelbs (and one from someone else). One of my favorite posts is this one:

http://madhousewife.wordpress.com/2008/05/28/princess-zurg-mormon-feminist-strikes-again/

I love that post. One of the funniest ones I’ve ever read. And astute. I knew that for a little girl to be that cool, she’d likely have a pretty cool mother. And I was right.

Also, speaking of feminism . . . years ago, when I followed posts on a certain popular site much more closely than I do now, whether she realizes it or not, Mad has often impressed me with many a comment. I’ve always been impressed with her wit, forthrightness, and insight. And her bravery in speaking up. It was inspiring. So, I want to say thanks for that. It was one of about a bazillion little things that all contributed to helping me through a pretty spiritually/emotionally grueling time. I don’t think she even knew. But, thank you just the same.

I can’t remember how I eventually made the connection between madhousewife and bythelbs, but somewhere along the lines, I figured out (or someone told me–my memory stinks) that they’re sisters. I think they’re super, super lucky to be sisters. And, having no sisters of my own, I try not to envy them. 😉

Happy Birthday, Mad. I hope it’s grand!

~From Evita~

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO MADHOUSEWIFE:
 
The
Ennui
Safe Sex
Narcissism
Sex Education
Political Cartoon
Dating and Lameness
Free Childcare that is Not Necessarily Childcare
Breast Cancer Awareness
Common Sense
Traffic Control
Backtalk
Bowing
ASS-KICKING
Czar of the Obama Administration.
 
Happy birthday Mad!  Hope your day is full of AWESOME!

Madhousewife is a spectacular lady. There are many reasons why. I shall make you a list, because that is what I do! I make lists:

 
1. She has mastered the written word. I honestly cannot read her blog posts without sympathizing with her emotions, laughing out loud at her intelligent sarcasm, or thinking deeper about issues I didn’t even realize were issues. She is the master of prose! The Master. 
 
2. Madhousewife, in person, is one of the funniest people I’ve ever met. It’s her deadpan delivery that leaves me in stitches. 
 
3. She faces her crap head-on. Sometimes, she claims she doesn’t, but she takes care of her family and the house while facing mental demons I cannot claim to understand. Although I do a little bit. This, I have decided, is strength. She has loads of it. Which might be why she has such strong legs! Or maybe that’s just the tap dancing…
 
4. Her knowledge of 80’s and 90’s pop cultures is full of awesomeness. 
 
5. She looks suh-weet in a kimono! And fishnet gloves. 
 
6. She quite often makes my whole day just from her witty quips on Facebook. That’s it! She’s the queen of quips. 🙂
 
Happy Birthday, madhousewife! Here’s to at least 40 more years and 40,000 more blog posts. Knowing you and reading your words has improved my life in ways that even YOU don’t know. *snort 
 
Love to you,
Cheryl

~From Foo4luv~

OK, so I’m not any kind of creative but I do want to contribute. I think Madhousewife is real, funny and insightful and my life is better because of her. Happy birthday!

Flip Flop Mama

Dear Mad, for your 40th Birthday I have put together a list of bumper stickers I thought you would enjoy:

Keep the dream alive: Hit the snooze button.

Vote Republican – it’s easier than thinking!

Vote Democrat – it’s easier than working!

Without ME, it’s just AWESO.

Sarcasm is just one more service I offer.

Procrastinate now.

Rock is dead. Long live paper and scissors.

Happy, happy birthday Mad. I hope your cleaning lady isn’t coming today.

Love,
Janelle

~From Julie~

Happy Birthday to Madhousewife!

I love her blog — one of my favorite lines from recent memory was her inscription on her gravestone: At least she was self-aware. It resonates with me in many ways and also just cracks me up.

That actually sums up how I feel about Mad in general.

Happy Birthday!

There once was a housewife named Mad
Who thought that John Edwards was Bad
Sugar Daddy’s her man
She is not a Fun fan
Timely housekeepers make her glad.

Happy Birthday, Mad Housewife. From the advanced age of 42, I can tell you that being 40 is pretty cool.
~Patience Crabstick

~From E~

I’m not sure how many years I’ve been reading Mad’s blog. I could probably figure it out though because I remember the first post of hers that I read. My sister Alison Wonderland had recommended that one of my other sisters read it because it was about Mad’s potty training woes. There was something about how even when the police called to say they had PZ in custody as long as she wasn’t wearing diapers Mad wouldn’t be longing for the “good old days.” Melanie’s children have serious bladder issues and we all know misery loves company, so Alison thought she would enjoy it. It’s funny that Alison never said anything about Mad’s autistic children. Probably because everyone knows that I like to pretend I don’t have an autistic child. So I had been reading for quite a while before I even knew how much we had in common. I just knew that I loved her voice. And when I finally read a post about Elvis not being willing to go to the bathroom at McDonald’s without an audience, I knew that there was someone in the world who could relate to my life. (Cause those annoying people from the autism websites are NOT my people.) Mad has the unique ability to be completely open and honest and yet totally hilarious at the same time. No one does it better. I laugh and I cry. And that’s why I have been reading her blog for so many years. Happy 40th Madhousewife!
 
 
~From Susan~
 
 
 
~From SD (Mad’s better other half)
 
Happy 40th birthday to my favorite cradle-robbing cougar.
 
 
Happy birthday, Mad!  May all of your wildest dreams come true (as if they haven’t already!)
11 Responses to “Madhousewife: 40 and fabulous!”

  1. Patience May 17, 2011 at 7:49 am #

    What a great tribute! I love your scrabble picture. 🙂

  2. Janelle May 17, 2011 at 8:14 am #

    Mad, I would say your friends “rock” but since rock is dead I guess they must be paper and scissors.

    This was fabulous, thanks to bythelbs for the tribute!

  3. Boquinha May 17, 2011 at 8:38 am #

    Okay, NOW I’m jealous. I want a sister that does a Scrabble tribute for me!! 😛

    Happy birthday, Mad!

    Oh, and I totally love this:
    Without ME, it’s just AWESO.

  4. Julie May 17, 2011 at 8:49 am #

    Loving the Scrabble tribute. Wow!

    And those bumper stickers are rad, Janelle. Without ME, it’s just AWESO. LOVE.

  5. Flip flop mama May 17, 2011 at 9:07 am #

    Those bumper stickers are awesome. You should go into business. Happy Birthday Mad! You and your sister are both two of the coolest people I know!

  6. madhousewife May 17, 2011 at 9:52 am #

    Wow. I am so glad I went on the internet this morning instead of doing housework like I’m supposed to be.

    This is the best birthday present ever.

    Boquinha – Thank YOU for letting me know that. And yes, I am very lucky to have bythelbs as my sister.

    Evita – Just when I was feeling tempted to call myself a failure, you remind me of everything I’ve been able to accomplish under this administration. Thank you!

    Cheryl – Thank you for your kind words. You totally GET me, you know? 😉 Actually, you are probably too kind–which is what I appreciate most (ha). Thank you, my friend.

    foo4luv – That picture made me LOL. For real. Not just in here (::taps chest::). But sincerely. I love it.

    flipflop – Thank you. My life is better because I get to count you as my friend.

    Janelle – You know I love the bumper stickers. Without YOU it’s just…uh, maybe you could just read the “Without ME” bumper sticker to yourself? Because you’re awesome.

    Julie – Thank you, and I will think of you as I’m ordering my gravestone. 🙂

    Patience – Poetry! Of all the limericks that have been written about me, that is probably the most astute. (Not to mention one of the nicer ones.) Thanks!

    E – I’m glad you found me and that through Allison I was able to meet you! (You made me laugh because those autism web site people are not my people, either.) Thank you.

    Susan – You always have the perfect song for every occasion. Thanks!

    SD – After these braces come off, you’re paying to have that mole on my face removed. Thanks in advance, honey!

    And FINALLY – THANK YOU, BYTHELBS, SISTER OF AWESOMENESS. When it comes to friendship, you have a gift. You always have creative ways of making people (e.g. ME) feel special and brightening their (e.g. MY) day. And I am totally impressed with that Scrabble board. No wonder you’re always kicking my can at Lexulous. (I also love how it appears to say “AWESOME FIEND.”) You are the best!

    I am so lucky to have you all as friends.

  7. Boquinha May 17, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

    “Without ME, it’s just AWESO.”

    This has been my gmail chat status all day and I’ve gotten lots of comments on it. This would make a GREAT t-shirt, too. You should totally market it.

    • Janelle May 17, 2011 at 9:24 pm #

      Oh Boquinha,

      I totally just typed “best bumper stickers of all time” into the google search bar and picked a few out that made me laugh and reminded me of Mad.

      So as much as I would have loved to create the AWESO bumper sticker mine would more likely read:

      Without ME it’s just the EPITO of laziness.

      • bythelbs May 17, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

        Janelle, that bumper sticker has my name written all over it.

      • Boquinha May 23, 2011 at 5:00 pm #

        Oooh, I’d like that one, too.

Leave a Reply

