Back to School: Day 2

7 Sep

On the way to school.

BigHugs:  What happens if I get sick at school?

Me: Well, you would tell your teacher and then she’d probably send you to the nurse’s office, and then I’d come pick you up if you needed to come home.

BH: What if I was going to throw up at school?

Me: Well, pretty much the same thing–tell your teacher and she’ll send you to the nurse and then I’ll come get you.

Goose: If you have to throw up right away, you can do it in a trash can.

Me: Do you feel like throwing up now?

BH: Sort of.

Me: Have a tic tac.

They’re my go to cure-all.

~

I spent my first day of solitude running errands.  I even stopped at the grocery store to pick up a couple of ingredients to make the kids’ favorite casserole (yes, my kids have a favorite casserole), with grand designs of prepping it early so I could take Goose to dance class and still have time to provide an exciting meal (yes, casseroles can be exciting) for my children to celebrate the first day back to school.  I got as far as broiling the chicken before I realized that just wasn’t going to happen.  You see, I thought with all of the kids in school full day, I would have all this extra time on my hands, but I’m quickly discovering that just isn’t the case.

With the kids’ staggered school schedules, I have about 4 hours from the time I drop off the youngest two at elementary school until it’s time to pick up the oldest at high school.  About an hour after that, the second one comes home, and about 45 minutes after that the last two come home.  So having all of my kids in school full day is not turning out to be the luxury I was led to believe.  I feel sort of gypped. 

“But you have four solid hours, Bythelbs!” you say.  Well, by the time you factor in the time spent avoiding the housework and avoiding the showering and getting ready and making the obligatory Facebook Scrabble moves and then doing the showering and getting ready and then more of the avoiding the housework, there really isn’t enough time left to do much of anything!  Except write a tiresome blog post.

Goose asked if I would be doing more unpacking while they were at school.  We’re still trying to recover from last week’s new paint and carpet adventure, and our entire upstairs now looks as if we’ve just moved in.  I have boxes upon boxes of stuff that I know came out of these rooms, but there’s just no place to put them back.  It’s like someone fed the contents of these boxes after midnight and then doused them with water.  Mr. T made the point that with the new layer of paint, we’ve actually made the rooms smaller.  I obviously didn’t give this home improvement project enough thought.

The painting itself was quite the, uh, experience.  I’ll have to save that story for another day.  The memories are too raw.  Suffice it to say, I will have a difficult time enjoying mint chocolate chip ice cream or Miami Vice reruns any time in the near future.

I am now down to my last hour and 20 minutes and I’m still sitting here with a wet head of hair and a sink full of dishes and piles of laundry and all other manner of crap to be done.

TTFN.

8 Responses to “Back to School: Day 2”

  1. shaz September 7, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

    “Mr. T made the point that with the new layer of paint, we’ve actually made the rooms smaller.” Ha ha! I better rethink how often I repaint my house. Pretty soon we will have painted ourselves into a tiny little space that we can’t get out of. Yikes.

    My work schedule this year bites the big…something. I drop Sage off at 8, then have to be back (at the same school) for work at 9. Then I get off at 1 and have to be back to pick her up at 2:30. The remaining awkward hours are pretty much spent on FB, as I’ve convinced myself it’s not enough time to actually accomplish anything more substantial.

  2. Evita September 7, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

    My youngest started PreK this year and I get exactly 3 hours of kid-free time. I get more done in the 4.5 hours between the older kids leaving and dropping off the youngest than I do in the 3 hours alone. This math makes no sense. I didn’t even manage to shower today – though I did finish the hymn schedule for RS for the rest of the whole year. Three hours and I was already half done when I started today. There might have been some facebook/blogs/tv in that time too. Hopefully once the newness of free time wears off I’ll get more productive. Or once I break through the mental block on my history assignment.

  3. Mother of the Wild Boys September 7, 2011 at 6:00 pm #

    There aren’t enough tic tacs in the world to solve my stomach issues. 😉

    And yeah, I don’t know who these people are that actually get “free time”, but they must have a monopoly on it ’cause I’ve never seen any.

  4. Julie September 7, 2011 at 6:04 pm #

    I actually forewent the shower today in hopes that I would actually have some “free time” when the youngest went to preschool. It didn’t turn out too badly, although I still feel totally crazy and like I accomplished very little. I’m glad I’ll have a few years where the kids are all in the same school so I can have a few uninterrupted hours….

  5. Evita September 7, 2011 at 7:46 pm #

    Oh yeah, I forgot to tell you, that tic tac thing is brilliant. Distraction is good medicine sometimes.

  6. madhousewife September 8, 2011 at 10:46 pm #

    When I feel like throwing up, I always try the tic-tac first.

  7. Flip flop mama September 10, 2011 at 8:47 am #

    Tic tacs do have magical properties.

  8. Boquinha September 14, 2011 at 10:54 am #

    I’m glad I’m not the only one who doesn’t understand why I don’t get more done in any amount of time. It mystifies me, really.

Leave a Reply

