It was a dark and stormy afternoon

16 Nov

Man, I feel like crap. Yes, crap. Pardon my French.  Sore throat, pounding head, achy neck and back.  General all-over throbbingness.  Poor me.

DynaGirl’s also been home sick the past couple of days.  Boo.

A heads up to my local readers: stay off the roads for the next 30 minutes or so.  Mr. T is out driving—his first behind the wheel since starting driver’s ed last week.  He’s only had about an hour and a half of practice time since he just got his permit two weeks ago and ten days of that we were driving a rental car.

We are no longer driving a rental car.  We have a new car.  Well, new to us anyway.  Five days after we dropped our car off at the body shop, the insurance company called to say they were totalling our car.  Double boo.  We had about a week to find a new one before our free rental ran out.  That was a little bit of an adventure that might deserve its own post.  We will see.

One thing I learned driving the rental car is that I am old.  You know you’re old when you start cursing the new-fangled-technology-ness of a car and need to read the owner’s manual to figure out how to turn on the headlights.  And don’t even get me started on those automatic doors.

I’m sure there are some other things worth noting, but I just can’t think straight at the moment.  I’m only posting now to keep myself from falling asleep before it’s time to pick up Mr. T from his drive.  Plus I wanted to say hello and that I miss you and that I hope all is well.

Stay tuned.  Perhaps in the near future I’ll tell you about Halloween or my battle with DynaGirl’s principal or my car-shopping adventures in which I may or may not have been mistaken for someone’s “life partner”.

Until then.

10 Responses to “It was a dark and stormy afternoon”

  1. Cheryl November 16, 2011 at 5:00 pm #

    Boo! to your sickness.
    Huzzah! to the new vehicle.
    Description of masked fear coupled with vocal reassurance and optimism! to Mr. T driving.

    Glad to see you blog. 🙂

  2. tawnya November 16, 2011 at 5:59 pm #

    All stories I want to hear. I love it when my lbs is back!

  3. shaz November 16, 2011 at 6:48 pm #

    Dying to hear ALL of those stories.

    Wishing you a speedy recovery; here’s some cybernoodle soup.

  4. Julie November 16, 2011 at 8:26 pm #

    Yes, those stories NEED to be told. NEED, I say.

    Sending you hot cocoa and soup via the internets….

  5. Lora November 17, 2011 at 9:46 am #

    Have so very much missed your blog! Here’s to hoping for a speedy recovery, no one getting hit on the sidewalk or the road, and time to share all those stories. As far as new cars and their fancy computerized ways… I totally hear you. I am currently laboring under the dillusion… delusion? that our 2002 Honda is still “new”. Things that come with digital panels, automatic everything, and entertainment packages kind of throw me for a loop…. and yes, make me feel really really old. sigh. the end.

  6. Lora November 17, 2011 at 9:46 am #

    I’m special and typed my own email address in wrong and I so want the comments. 🙂

  7. Mother of the Wild Boys November 17, 2011 at 10:22 am #

    I was here.

  8. Flip flop mama November 17, 2011 at 4:24 pm #

    Hope you feel better soon! I second (third….) all of the sentiments that we NEED to hear all those stories!

  9. madhousewife November 18, 2011 at 10:12 pm #

    Oooh, battle with the principal. That one especially needs to be heard.

    I can’t believe Mr. T is driving. That’s crazy. You know what that makes you, right? *cough*old!*cough*

    I’m sorry you are sick. Crap is never a good feeling. Actually, I see that I am rather late to this party. Hopefully you are already on the mend! Hopefully you are already mended! If not, may you be mended immediately, henceforth and forthwith! Now! Ta da! (Did it work? If not…sorry. I’m still practicing.)

  10. Boquinha November 29, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

    Oh, so want to hear all those stories. But I hear you. I have about a year and a half of posts I’ve TOTALLY typed in my head . . . just haven’t made it to the actual blog yet. 😛

Leave a Reply

